We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad, service was a bit slow” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Subeez Cafe - CLOSED

Subeez Cafe
Price range: US$7 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Yaletown & False Creek North
Description: Think of us as your neighbourhood cafe.restaurant.bar in the downtown. At Subeez we make room for everyone. We do not discriminate against age, race, gender, sexuality, politics or musical taste. However, you’d better still be a Canucks/Lions fan.We take reservations for all sizes -- up to 225 people.There is a beauty here.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not bad, service was a bit slow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

We went to Subeez for a beer after a movie on a Thursday night. What was quite nice was there was a Jazz band playing which gave some great atmosphere. We all had a round of beers which were good, but the service wasn't great. My wife's beer arrived without a glass and she asked for one, it took so long to arrive that someone in our group got up and took one from behind the bar. When we asked for the bill, that also seemed to take a while to get to us. These are small things really, overall the atmosphere and the beer was good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwidelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SubeezCRB, Public Relations Manager at Subeez Cafe, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thanks for taking time out of your day to review us. We definitely strive for better service standards than what your experience was, and will continue to make sure even the "small things" are looked after. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the Jazz band! It's a relatively new event we have on Thursday's and we hope to keep it going as a regular event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    22
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

My husband and I ate at Subeez purely because of the menu. Plus, who doesn't want to see a place that refers to itself as a cafe/restaurant/bar? The decor is a little weird, but funky in its own way - we really liked the character of the restaurant. The menu is wonderful, with lots of choices (including vegetarian) and top quality ingredients. Service was fine, nothing outstanding, but in Vancouver it seems hard to find exceptional service in restaurants. The food was EXCELLENT, and I haven't stopped thinking about it since we went. I think they pay close attention to keeping their ingredients fresh and flavorful. It was quite a pleasant experience, and I look forward to going back. Seems like the perfect place to go with a group.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bnote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SubeezCRB, Public Relations Manager at Subeez Cafe, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Thanks for the review, bnote. We're glad you enjoyed the food and atmosphere, and are excited you'll be coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“There is a heaven, ...it's called Radiatore”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

On my two most recent outings to Subeez, I discovered possibly one of the most delicious (in my opinion, and my mother's) dishes ever -

Tiger Prawn & Chorizo Radiatore.

Apparently it may not be on the menu much longer, so try it while you can. There is nothing not to love, unless you're highly adverse to mushroom taste. Great value too, and even though it's a pretty small portion, it fills you up, - and makes your taste buds very happy!!

(The steak has also been highly appreciated by my boyfriend as well, who wanted steak for dessert too, after his main course.)

Some great food coming out of the Subeez kitchen lately!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PDove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SubeezCRB, Public Relations Manager at Subeez Cafe, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Pdove! Glad you loved the Prawn & Chorizo Radiatore. The good news is we have no intention of taking it off the menu, so you (and anyone) can come in and enjoy it anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
213 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Great burgers, not so great service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Had lunch here, their burgers are great, tasty. Their service is a bit to laid back.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank LTGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SubeezCRB, Public Relations Manager at Subeez Cafe, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Thank you for the feedback on the burger, and the service. We're sorry the service was not up to your expectations. Would you like to share what we could have improved upon?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Neat restaurant in Vancouver”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

I've been to Subeez a few times and it's always good. Prefer their dinner to their lunch though. Their elderflower cocktail is particularly delicious, something which I've yet to find anywhere else. All the food I've had there is good, the steak salad being the best. They have a wide variety of types of food so there's something for everyone's tastes. The service is always good too. They have live music on weekends, which is very very loud. If you want a quieter dining experience then I'd avoid these nights as it's difficult to talk over the music, but if you like it loud, then it's perfect! Their decor is very interesting with unique sculptures and paintings. A nice place to go for dinner with friends, family, partner or colleagues.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PDove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SubeezCRB, General Manager at Subeez Cafe, responded to this review, 8 December 2011
Thank you for your review of us! We hope to see you here again soon. We’ve launched a revised menu and would be interested in your feedback.

Sincerely,
Subeez Café/Restaurant/Bar
www.subeez.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Subeez Cafe also viewed

Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
Vancouver, British Columbia
 
Vancouver, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing