We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
48
22
4
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
48
22
4
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 79 reviews
Reviewed July 12, 2015

As a first time user of B&B style accomodation I was somewhat hesitant. However from the moment I was welcomed by Joanne to the last gooodbye I felt comfortable and 'at home'. The accomodation was beautiful in a safe and leafy neighbourhood. Shared areas were well equipped with a lush garden for relaxing and some great personal touches such as delicious and nutritious breakfasts. Public transport was nearby and readily accessible. Joanne is helpful, knowledgeable about Vancouver and a lovely lady as well. The House on Dunbar has set a high standard for my initiation into the world of the B&B.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 1, 2015

More than a B&B, we felt like we were at a friends home. The common area was spacious and the backyard garden was very comfortable. We relaxed to watch some of the FIFA games on the large TV and couches. Breakfasts were hearty and tasty.

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Joanne R, Owner at House On Dunbar B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2015

It makes me feel that I have accomplished my goal when you comment that you feel like you are visiting a friend in my home.
Thank you for these lovely words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2015

This B&B has outstanding food, a beautiful house, a wonderful garden to sit in, a full kitchen available to guesta and a thoughtful and wonderful hostess who really knows how to make you welcome.

Definitely a stay again!

Donald and Sharon

Room tip: Rm 2010 on the top floor was roomy with A/C, lots of storage and beautifully decorated
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Joanne R, Owner at House On Dunbar B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2015

D&S

You are such considerate guests.
It was so very nice getting to know you for a short period of time.
Hope you visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2015

We could not have been happier with our stay at the House on Dunbar. My husband and I found the transit just terrific, thanks to Joanne's excellent helpful tips. What a hostess! Her breakfasts were fabulous and the HOD is extremely well organized. Thank you for making our trip perfect!

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Joanne R, Owner at House On Dunbar B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2015

It was such a pleasure having you visit my B&B.
You have such chatty, interesting personalities.
Also, thank you for your lovely card and the bottle of sparkly ( so enjoyable one summer evening ).

Hope you visit again.

Best to you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 10, 2015

I visited Vancouver for a conference at UBC, and the House on Dunbar B&B ended up being PERFECT. Joanne is fabulous! She was helpful and attentive, cooks wonderfully, and went above and beyond to make sure that my trip was comfortable and relaxing. I'll absolutely be staying here again next time I have a reason to be in Vancouver!

Thanks Joanne!!

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hailey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Joanne R, Owner at House On Dunbar B&B, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2015

Thanks for being such a fun guest.
It would be wonderful if you visited again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews