We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Juan de Fuca Marine Trail
from US$90.25
More Info
from US$88.80
More Info
from US$88.42
More Info
from US$90.25
More Info
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
41
12
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
12
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day hike bear beach mystic beach china beach port renfrew washington state rope swing low tide steep descent suspension bridge nice hike beautiful scenery avatar grove hikers rainforest parts mud
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 55 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

The parking lot can get very full but you can access both Mystic Beach and China Beach. Path to China Beach is quite easy and wide, the trail to Mystic Beach is more rough. Pictures of Mystic Beach were taken on the same day within an hour of each other to show how easily weather can change. Beautiful hike to beautiful beaches!

Thank SRfromLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

We backpacked the south portion and drove up to Port Renfew after to see what it was looking like. Both Mystic and Bear exceeded our expectations. We tented on both beaches and felt like the only people in the world. It was marvellous. We had no trouble finding water to filter. The fire ban was unfortunate. As we were really looking forward to nights around the fire. We wished we had much more than the 3 nights and 2.5 days we spent there.

Thank persephone67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 14, 2018 via mobile

This hike has often been referred to as the "baby west coast trail". It was not nearly as advertised. There was virtually no maintenance done along the trail making for dangerous conditions throughout. Many bridges are broken along the way. Most "stairs" are broken. Railings are nonexistent. Trees are down all over the trail causing multiple sketchy areas to travel through. We were extremely lucky having done the entire length with no rain. Had it rained we probably would have bailed out.
This trail was significantly harder than the west coast trail. Distances were no accurate and the entire trail as it sits now is closer to 61km.
The scenery is absolutely stunning and it made for a pretty significant group achievement to complete the trail successfully. Be prepared for a challenge is you want to attempt the entire trail.

Thank mattmcg09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2018

we hiked 9k & turned around, for an 18k hike many hikers were going 9-13k & then tenting. & then continuing for the total of 34k one way.

Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2017

5 days, 9 Winnipeggers -- 5 backpacking the 47K from China Beach to Botanical Beach, 4 of us doing out-and-back day trips from the various trailheads. The 5 backpackers may have bragging rights to a well-deserved achievement, but us 4 day hikers had a much more enjoyable time. Us 4 day hikers were based from Hiker Huts at Trailhead Resort in Port Renfrew and had a rental car. Day 1: 9 hikers, China Beach to Bear Beach, 4 day hikers return to China Beach. Day 2: 4 day hikers at incredible Botanical Beach and magnificent Avatar Grove. Day 3: 4 day hikers go east from Sombrio Beach to the big suspension bridge, 9 hikers return to Sombrio Beach. Day 4: 9 hikers go west from Sombrio Beach to Little Kuitshe Creek, 4 day hikers return to Sombrio Beach. Day 5: 4 day hikers go east from Botanical Beach, 9 hikers return to Botanical Beach.

Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2017

We walked only the part of the trail to Mystic Beach, not the whole Juan de Fuca Marine Trail. But this piece was very nice. Great path through the forest including a suspension bridge. We didn't find the beach sooo outstandingly beautiful, but that may have been because it was very foggy. The people there had a lot of fun with rope swinging. Overall a nice hike.

Thank Anja H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2017

My wife and I hiked the full trail from China beach to Port Renfrew and had a great time. This is not an easy hike unless you're an experienced hiker. Be prepared for wet weather and lots of up and down hiking. Beautiful scenery.

Thank Tessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2017

It was nice to get out of Victoria and enjoy the outside for a day of our vacation. It did take awhile to arrive at an entry point to Juan de Fuca trail, not as scenic a drive as expected, can't see the water most of the way. The trail was well marked and there were lots of people. We saw no mud so that was a relief, enjoyed the forest with big trees, and a nice suspension bridge between China beach and Mystic beach. There was a rather steep descent to the beach with a one way log with notches to get down. Was much cooler at the beach so take a jacket.

Thank buttondeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 22, 2017

I did a day hike from Botanical Beach to Sombrio Beach, which was about 20 km (12.5 miles). Beforehand I assumed that the sections along the beach would be easy because they'd be flat, but I was wrong. One section of beach was made up of craggy bedrock outcrops, and more than once I'd climb to the top of one of these outcrops to find that there was no way to get down the other side. On another section, I found it difficult to hike over the slippery boulders that littered the beach. Having said all that, I thought the sections along the beach were amazing for their scenery, but I prefer the scenery along the Olympic National Park coast in nearby Washington State. The sections along the beach were all close to trailheads. Sombrio Beach had the most people, probably because it was the only place I saw that had camping with views out over the water. There was a 10km section of trail that was off the beach.

Thank BradHurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2017

Right next to China Beach, There's a 2 kms easy to moderate hike through a rainforest that will take you to an amazing beach with sandstone cliffs, caves to explore, a swinging rope into the ocean, a hanging swing, and many little surprises, a beautiful way to spend the day!

Thank Jo444111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews