We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Juan de Fuca Marine Trail
from US$90.86
More Info
from US$89.19
More Info
from US$87.38
More Info
from US$84.18
More Info
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
44
13
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
13
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bear beach mystic beach china beach port renfrew suspension bridge parking lot nice hike beautiful scenery avatar grove hikers creek forest achievement trees backpackers tents
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 59 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2017 via mobile

I hiked the entire trail as my first multi day hike. Started at the north end (botanical beach) and ended in mystic beach. It was awesome.
Ne careful with the tide. Some campgrounds are only accessible at low tide. Bring a rain jacket and warm clothes, no matter which Time of year. And bear spray!

Date of experience: August 2016
4  Thank Antonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 26, 2017

Not as difficult as people are saying! Hiked this in 2 and a half days but we were fairly rushing, I'd rank this in difficulty as 4/10 but It all depends on what you're used to (I'm used to doing mountains/harder trails).
Extremely muddy (in late spring when we went) but as long as you bring spare pants/socks, it isn't bad. You can avoid about 80% of the mud as there are alternate ways to walk on the trail. But there are some parts where getting muddy is basically unavoidable.There are plenty of creeks and water sources nearby the camping areas where you can clean your boots/clothing and just dry them around a campfire!
The driftwood/wood source were fairly wet when I went but it was just because it mostly rained the entire time. If the forecast is wet, bring some driftwood if you have room.
There are food caches at all the camping areas, so hanging your food from bears/critters is not necessary.

Date of experience: May 2017
3  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 17, 2017

My wife and I just finished hiking a portion of the JDF trail this Easter week end, We're in our late 40's/early 50's and are kinda new to multi-day hiking, but are keen to get out there and give it a go. We chose this particular trail not only for it's incredible scenery but also it's relatively small elevation gain and lack of snow at this time of year..
Our route was China Beach to Bear Beach (9km) for day 1, back to Mystic Beach (7km) for day 2, returning to the car (2km) for day 3.

We caught the 7am ferry from Tsawwassen and got to CB at about 10:30am. The parking lot was almost full when we arrived and a shuttle bus (guy in a pickup) was just leaving. If you want to to hike the trail one-way, the shuttle might be worth considering.

Of course once we started hiking it didn't take long for a heavy rainfall to hit in spite of the "Sunny" forecast but c'est la vie. . .that's the west coast for ya. As for the trail itself, yes it was as muddy as advertised but we didn't mind. It was actually fun sticking to the mucky trail centre rather than trying to avoid the inevitable. And although I'm not a big fan of hiking through previously logged areas as in portions of this hike, I realize that can be difficult to avoid in much of BC.
I was also surprised how poorly marked the trail was in some sections (5-6km) and how overgrown it was in others. It was manageable, however, and even enhanced a wonderful feeling of "being away from it all" which is a big draw of this trail.

For us, one particular section of the trail was noteworthy. We found part of the steep descent to Bear Beach (8km) to be quite difficult--not Moderate as shown on the map. I suppose it didn't help that there was a sudden downpour of rain just as we started negotiating that crazy-steep-slippery-worn-out-log-stairwell with its slimy- over-sized-leaning-handrail. What the heck was that? .

Anyway, our overall experience on the Juan de Fuca Trail was very positive. It was probably a bit tougher for us than most mainly due to our level of fitness and experience, but don't take it lightly and make sure you are well prepared. Good equipment and the right clothing and footwear make a real difference.

So if this trail can be this popular while being so rugged, imagine how popular it would be with some trail improvements. . . and therein lies the dilemma of the JFD Trail, right?

Date of experience: April 2017
9  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2016

Having travelled this trail a number of times it can be enjoyed a number of ways. Short day hike challenges to tackling the entire trail as an adventure. Every bit as good as the West Coast Trail this complement of easy access and fun tidal route finding is a great warm-up for its longer cousin to the north.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank jimmyrc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 22, 2016

Have hiked the West Coast Trail 2X so wanted to try something a little different. We just did day hikes but seemed to be less of a steeplechase than WCT. Fewer mud bogs, giant trees to scramble over, no ladders, and no trolleys. Also more points of egress if one got into a bind. That being said I'd feel more comfortable taking smaller kids on this one. The one down side: lots of public campers carrying coolers etc. to camp at the easy entrance beaches. Still worth doing.

Date of experience: August 2016
2  Thank MtnFlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews