We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Spectacular Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters

SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters
Book In Advance
More Info
US$84.66*
and up
Marine Wildlife Tour by Zodiac
Ranked #4 of 97 Tours in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: WHALE WATCH with SpringTide on the 84 passenger, 61-foot Marauder. Experience the joy, excitement and wonderful memories of our mammals, whales, porpoise, seals and marine birds! Enjoy complimentary beverages while listening to professional biologists provide informative narrations. Or, join an exhilarating excursion onboard one of our high-speed, open Zodiacs.SPORTFISH year round for Salmon & Halibut on SpringTide’s 42’ Sporfisher.
Branson, Missouri
1 review
“Spectacular Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A small group of three went to the Strait of Juan de Fuca in a zodiac. We followed two pairs of Mom and calf humpbacks, went to the shoreline and watched a family of minks and circled a number of islands that were populated with sea lions and seals. The captain (Mark) was quite knowledgable and kept us entertained for the entire 4 hour trip with his understanding of the local habitat and his boat. A must do!!!!!

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank Patrick_Dooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Patrick_Dooley,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Seeing Whales in the winter is never guaranteed but it sounds like you had an absolute treat. Seeing one pair of Humpback Whales is special but to see two sets is just awesome!

We also very much agree with you, we think Mark is fantastic too. We are very lucky to have him as part of our knowledgeable crew here at SpringTide.

Thanks so much for joining us and we hope you will join us again someday.

Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    592
    58
    15
    5
    11
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
777 reviews
459 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Awesome whale watching experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had done whale watching on the raft in Hawaii and really liked it so we decided to try while in Victoria. It's too bad that there is the border nearby because you could get closer to the Killer Whales if it wasn't. You get bundled up in real heavy red suits before boarding the raft. The raft is closer to the wildlife than a boat. However, there is no bathroom on the raft. Every rapid on the ocean when you have to go is not pleasant. We saw seals resting on rocks beside the pod of orcas. Also, those suits take a while to take off. The staff were very friendly when we checked in. We took this tour in July 2015 and it was a beautiful sunny day on the ocean.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
Thank mariedesjardins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear mariedesjardins,

Thanks so much for your review. By the sounds of it you joined us on our high speed, open Zodiac. They are a lot of fun and as you found out, quite bumpy!

July is a fantastic month for watching Killer Whales and with the sun shining it makes it extra special.

We really appreciate you sharing your experience of SpringTide on Trip Advisor and we are positive that future guests will really appreciate all of the details you added.

Thanks so much for joining us.

Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Experience Whale watching in late November”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2016

Me and my friend went Whale watching with Captain Ian Roberts during the last week of November, and despite being typically out of season we were lucky to see plenty of orcas, humpback whales and the playful porpoises. Ian's knowledge was fantastic and his genuine enthusiasm for his work was noticable from the very start. The whole booking process from dealing with reception was also brilliant.

I'd highly recommend this experience.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank woolr3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this review, 1 December 2016
Dear woolr3103,

Thank you so much for your review of SpringTide on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your Marine Wildlife Tour with us. November has been a fantastic month for wildlife and it sounds like your trip was no exception. Seeing Humpback Whales alone is very exciting but to also see Killer Whales and Porpoise is just fantastic.

Thanks so much for joining us and for sharing your experience with future travellers. We really appreciate the feedback and I know they will too!

Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Awesome tour !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

We visited Victoria in November.

We saw orcas, seals and a humpback whale. We had a great day with a funny and awesome team.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank quill95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this review, 17 November 2016
Dear quill95,
Thanks for joining us and thanks for the review. Sounds like you were super lucky this month to see Humpback Whales, Killer Whales AND more!
We're delighted you had such a blast.
Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Amazing Experience !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2016

This is one of the best experiences I've ever had while travelling! A big reason that I loved going whale watching was our guide. Greg's enthusiasm, sense of humor and knowledge made our day on the ocean so enjoyable I didn't want it to end. I know that spotting wildlife is in part due to luck, but Greg definitely knew what to look for and treated us to sightings of orca whales, humpback whales, seals, sea lions and a bald eagle. This company was slightly cheaper than most and we definitely got our money's worth. Our outing definitely surpassed my expectations! Pam H.

Visited October 2016
Helpful?
Thank pamh201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this review, 8 November 2016
Dear pamh201,

Thank you for your enthusiastic review of Greg and SpringTide! We are so glad we surpassed your expectations of the tour. By the sounds of it you experienced the best of what this coast has to offer. Killer Whales, Humpback Whales, Seals, Sea Lions and Eagles... WOW

Thank you so much for joining us and for sharing your kind comments. I know Greg really appreciates the feedback.

We hope you can join us again someday.

Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing