We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters
Book In Advance
More Info
US$88.36*
and up
Marine Wildlife Tour by Zodiac
More Info
US$124.55*
and up
Best of Victoria Wildlife Tour and High Tea
More Info
US$91.73*
and up
Victoria Whale Watch Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: WHALE WATCH with SpringTide on the 84 passenger, 61-foot Marauder. Experience the joy, excitement and wonderful memories of our mammals, whales, porpoise, seals and marine birds! Enjoy complimentary beverages while listening to professional biologists provide informative narrations. Or, join an exhilarating excursion onboard one of our high-speed, open Zodiacs.SPORTFISH year round for Salmon & Halibut on SpringTide’s 42’ Sporfisher.
Reviewed 29 December 2016

At noon we decided we needed to do something as we walked by the office of Springtide.
We walked in thinking, that it would not be a good time off the season to see whales.
But at least it would be fun to go onto the zodiac.
We got dressed up in some nice suits and of we went.
Captain Ian had news that Whales were spotted about an hour away. We went full speed a head to the location. Just getting there was amazing.
When we got to the spot we saw the Whales what a great experience!
It was worth every penny. We also saw Sea Lions.
I would recommend this to anybody.

Thank MarcellaLeeper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear MarcellaLeeper,

We just love your spontaneity! Deciding one hour before that you would join us on a trip is just awesome. We are so glad you loved it so much.

Ian is a great Captain and a wonderful guide. We are not surprised you had such a blast with him.

Thanks so much for joining us and for sharing your experience of SpringTide on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

158 - 162 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2016

At the time of our visit there were a number of storms about and the previous couple of trips had been cancelled. We sailed on time; the crew were very helpful and more than willing to answer questions. As mentioned the weather wasn’t great but the boat did have a limited amount of coats and trousers for those who wanted to sit at the front of the boat. On our trip we saw a humpback, a lot of sea lions, various sea birds. If you want to see wildlife this was a good trip.

Thank Davetheaddick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear Davetheaddick,

Thanks so much for your review. It sounds like you had a wildlife packed tour! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us.

Thanks so much for joining us and for sharing your experience with the world on Trip Advisor.

Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

A small group of three went to the Strait of Juan de Fuca in a zodiac. We followed two pairs of Mom and calf humpbacks, went to the shoreline and watched a family of minks and circled a number of islands that were populated with sea lions and seals. The captain (Mark) was quite knowledgable and kept us entertained for the entire 4 hour trip with his understanding of the local habitat and his boat. A must do!!!!!

Thank Patrick_Dooley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear Patrick_Dooley,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Seeing Whales in the winter is never guaranteed but it sounds like you had an absolute treat. Seeing one pair of Humpback Whales is special but to see two sets is just awesome!

We also very much agree with you, we think Mark is fantastic too. We are very lucky to have him as part of our knowledgeable crew here at SpringTide.

Thanks so much for joining us and we hope you will join us again someday.

Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

We had done whale watching on the raft in Hawaii and really liked it so we decided to try while in Victoria. It's too bad that there is the border nearby because you could get closer to the Killer Whales if it wasn't. You get bundled up in real heavy red suits before boarding the raft. The raft is closer to the wildlife than a boat. However, there is no bathroom on the raft. Every rapid on the ocean when you have to go is not pleasant. We saw seals resting on rocks beside the pod of orcas. Also, those suits take a while to take off. The staff were very friendly when we checked in. We took this tour in July 2015 and it was a beautiful sunny day on the ocean.

Thank mariedesjardins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2017

Dear mariedesjardins,

Thanks so much for your review. By the sounds of it you joined us on our high speed, open Zodiac. They are a lot of fun and as you found out, quite bumpy!

July is a fantastic month for watching Killer Whales and with the sun shining it makes it extra special.

We really appreciate you sharing your experience of SpringTide on Trip Advisor and we are positive that future guests will really appreciate all of the details you added.

Thanks so much for joining us.

Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Me and my friend went Whale watching with Captain Ian Roberts during the last week of November, and despite being typically out of season we were lucky to see plenty of orcas, humpback whales and the playful porpoises. Ian's knowledge was fantastic and his genuine enthusiasm for his work was noticable from the very start. The whole booking process from dealing with reception was also brilliant.

I'd highly recommend this experience.

Thank woolr3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringTideWhaleTours, Manager at SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2016

Dear woolr3103,

Thank you so much for your review of SpringTide on Trip Advisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your Marine Wildlife Tour with us. November has been a fantastic month for wildlife and it sounds like your trip was no exception. Seeing Humpback Whales alone is very exciting but to also see Killer Whales and Porpoise is just fantastic.

Thanks so much for joining us and for sharing your experience with future travellers. We really appreciate the feedback and I know they will too!

Sincerely,
Fiona Fogarty
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Vancouver Island, British Columbia
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to SpringTide Whale Watching & Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing