We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Ocean River Sports tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Ocean River Sports
from US$152.80
More Info
from US$60.07
More Info
from US$60.09
More Info
from US$60.60
More Info
Reviews (453)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
384
31
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
31
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews discovery island kayak tour oak bay paddle boarding kayaking skills lone wolf full day tour experienced kayakers day trip excellent guide saw seals perfect weather sea birds recommend this trip an amazing trip bald eagles great morning
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just completed the Fall Level 1 two day kayak course with Janette! My second Ocean River course and I'll keep coming back. Janette is a terrific instructor, supportive, encouraging and so informative with information, hints and suggestions. I loved every minute! Thank you Janette and thank you Ocean River Sports :)

Thank Judith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanRiverAdventures, Manager at Ocean River Sports, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Judith,

Our sincerest thanks for taking the time out of your day to leave a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your Paddle Canada Level 1 course with Janette and we certainly echo your praise for her. She is indeed a terrific instructor and we are very lucky to have her on our team. It sounds like you are now hooked on kayaking! Please come back any time - we welcome you to join us again on the water!

All the best,

The Ocean River Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

Sophie and Jannette hosted a small group of us on a kayak tour from their premises to a turn around by Harrison Island. They were helpful and friendly, gave us good advice for getting in and out of the kayaks, which was done dockside. They were always mindful of safety, keeping the group together and close to shore at strategic points and they also showed and promoted respect for the wildlife. The kayaks were good, with rudders and a bonus...rubber pads where the knees brace against the kayak.
Overall a very good tour and I would be happy to visit them again and recommend them to others.

Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanRiverAdventures, Manager at Ocean River Sports, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Dear Jenny,

Thank you for leaving a review and for joining us out on the water! It sounds as if you had an amazing experience with our gear, our guides and what our city has to offer. We believe viewing Victoria from the seat of a kayak is a not-to-be-missed experience! Sophie and Janette are informative, knowledgeable and safety-conscious and we are very lucky to have them on our team. We encourage you to come back and try another one of our adventures in the future!

All the best,

The Ocean River Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2018

An excellent place to get gear specific to kayaking or paddle boarding. Knowledgeable staff for rentals and lessons.

Thank stopfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanRiverAdventures, Manager at Ocean River Sports, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Hello Stopfer,

We sincerely appreciate your review of our gear and staff here - thank you for that. It sounds as if you have experienced both sides to our business: retail and adventure, and we thank you for your kind words. Join us again anytime and see if we can give you another great experience.

Kind regards,

The Ocean River Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had so much fun with our guide Ben! He was a blast and so friendly and helped me figure out how to kayak. It was definitely a fun first experience for us going around Discovery island and seeing all the animals.

Thank starcalleralloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanRiverAdventures, Manager at Ocean River Sports, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Dear Starcalleralloria,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to leave a review! It sounds like you had an amazing experience learning how to kayak with Ben - we are certainly lucky to have him. Please come back anytime and join us on the water again!

All the best,

The Ocean River Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

I had booked a stand up paddle boarding tour through the store only to find out when I got there no one else had booked that day. So I got to enjoy a 2.5 hour 1 on 1 instructional from Wes and then was asked where I wanted to go. I had a blast learning about paddling SUP and enjoyed the view of Victoria from the water. OR sports has been the go to place in Victoria for paddling sports.

Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanRiverAdventures, Manager at Ocean River Sports, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to share your SUP experience with us! We always appreciate reviews like yours. Wes is a fantastic SUP instructor, full of energy, professionalism and knowledge. You are certainly lucky to have a private instructional tour, something that is not very common! We hope you will join us again to experience paddleboarding again.

All the best,

The Ocean River Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018

We enjoyed our Kayak tour of Oak Bay with our guide Janette. It was relaxing and informative and exciting all at the same time.

Thank FitzFamilyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanRiverAdventures, Manager at Ocean River Sports, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2018

Good morning FitzFamilyMom

Thank you for leaving a review for your tour with Janette! We certainly agree that kayaking can be peaceful and relaxing, and we are so glad you enjoyed Janette. She is a great part of our team, and we are lucky to have her. Hope to see you on the water soon!

All the best,

The Ocean River Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews