We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep exploring”
Review of Chinatown

Chinatown
Ranked #38 of 137 things to do in Victoria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canada's oldest Chinatown is characterized by narrow, winding streets and lots of little shops and restaurants.
Reviewed June 30, 2015

Walking through Chinatown is always a treat. Stop at the gate on the hour and hear music from the roof of the gate. Be sure to walk into the shops. For a non-Chinese you will find all of the items, food, natural remedies etc. fascinating. Try to discover the hidden temple. You will have to ask.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank raggedcoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (969)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"fan tan alley"
in 165 reviews
"dim sum"
in 38 reviews
"chinese food"
in 30 reviews
"bubble tea"
in 24 reviews
"dragon alley"
in 14 reviews
"fisgard street"
in 14 reviews
"alley ways"
in 11 reviews
"china towns"
in 10 reviews
"narrowest street"
in 14 reviews
"small alley"
in 9 reviews
"interesting shops"
in 20 reviews
"silk road"
in 9 reviews
"great shopping"
in 9 reviews
"north america"
in 9 reviews
"government street"
in 26 reviews
"few blocks"
in 9 reviews
"walk around"
in 12 reviews
Filter

644 - 648 of 969 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2015

I don't know what all of the fuss is about. If you're interested in the 'history' of various cities' Chinatowns, it's worth learning about and exploring. If you are the typical tourist just looking for a fun day of window shopping, exploring the chinatown's restaurants etc...sure it might be worth walking through for an afternoon. I've had much better food in other cities, and after one visit it's enough.

At least with Victoria's small downtown, you don't have to go out of your way.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank dallasguy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2015

We decided to take an alternative route to the town centre and walk through Chinatown, as we'd seen the impressive entrance. One street with restaurants and a few shops. Been to Chinatowns in other places and haven't been so underwhelmed before.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank bryan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2015

From the Chinese Gate of Harmonious Interest that we walked through to Chinatown to the restaurants and the wonderful people who make up Chinatown in Victoria this place is more than the usual Chinatown. It is the only Canadian Chinatown that has a complete history, dating from the first Chinese arrival in Canada to the present and is worth the visit.

Date of experience: May 2015
1  Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2015 via mobile

I am from the central valley California and have been to Los Angeles Chinatown before. To compare this one is smaller and less crowded. In a stand alone review without comparison, there are a lot of cute shops to look into, many of the same things sold at the stores but overall fun experience. If you are in the area I'd recommend walking around, but definitely not worth the trip if that is the only thing you have in mind. We walked around looking for a bead store and enjoyed seeing the vendors and smelling the food. We were staying at the Fairmont Empress and decided to have a look around the town.

Date of experience: June 2015
Thank Cheese_Taco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chinatown also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing