We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“getting to know important artist”
Review of Emily Carr House

Emily Carr House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$170.95*
and up
2-Hour Luxury City Tour of Victoria
Ranked #34 of 139 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: House belonging to famous Canadian painter Emily Carr.
Reviewed June 16, 2015

Emily Carr, frida Gallo, and Georgia o'keefe have been said to be three in g influential artists, but outside Canada, not so true of Carr. The novel about her by Susan Vreeland led me to this house museum, where her own writings are impressive. The house it's ed kcal is important context. Disappointing not to see the famous blogging cats. Nice gift shop items.

Thank mule54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan R, General Manager at Emily Carr House, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2015

We love that you came to see Emily Carr's wellspring of creativity-her family home and sorry you missed our blogging kitties. Sadly, we have lost one of our guys, Whiskers passed away last year at the age of 18 and his brother,our darling Misty(almost 20) is happily enjoying life here at Emily's house but being elderly and a cat his routine now includes sleeping in his favourite sunny spot most afternoons upstairs. Next time you come for a visit we hope he is still here to greet you and please, let us know you'd like to meet him and we'll do our best to introduce you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"georgia o'keefe"
in 8 reviews
"childhood home"
in 7 reviews
"gift shop"
in 12 reviews
"frida kahlo"
in 4 reviews
"art gallery of greater victoria"
in 4 reviews
"french impressionists"
in 2 reviews
"charming house"
in 2 reviews
"family life"
in 2 reviews
"early life"
in 2 reviews
"small museum"
in 4 reviews
"scavenger hunt"
in 2 reviews
"on display"
in 5 reviews
"james bay"
in 4 reviews
"year olds"
in 2 reviews
"few blocks"
in 2 reviews
"self guided tour"
in 4 reviews
"british columbia"
in 4 reviews
Filter

96 - 100 of 147 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2015

For Joe or Jane Average, not so much. Emily Carr was one of a kind, and an artist whose work was ahead of her time. As one of the great Canadian artists, and a seminal figure in the post-impressionist style, she saw little or no recognition in her time. There are few places where one can see the home of such a famous person, in reasonably original condition. But it's not a grand house, or remarkable in itself, so if you don't have a thing for art or history, there are better ways to spend an hour.

1  Thank ianjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan R, General Manager at Emily Carr House, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2015

We couldn't agree more that Emily Carr was exceptional. Thank you for posting about her birthplace home. We do indeed welcome those who have an interest in history and art but also anyone who would like to find out more about Carr's spiritual journey or who is interested in the environment or just likes to sit and have a cup of coffee on a sunny verandah. Welcome All!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2015

On a recent trip to Victoria wit my mom we popped into this tea house/museum. We both enjoyed our time here. The paintings are beautiful and the cup of tea in the sunroom was lovely.

Thank AprilSirois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2015

When I visited, an Art Show of a sculptor was combined; which made it all worthwhile. I enjoy visiting "actual" buildings/homes where interesting and "now famous" people once lived. I believe admission was by donation; and I do always make a donation in such situations. I do appreciate "by donation" venues; which allows folks (local and visitors) to take part, even if their resources are limited.

1  Thank KAREN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan R, General Manager at Emily Carr House, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2015

Hope that you can back and see the changing contemporary art shows and special events we'll be putting on this year inn the spirit of Emily Carr's legacy of inspiration! Thank you for her interest in her home and her life.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2014

It is great to see such an iconic landmark here in downtown Victoria. Short walk just outside the city center or if come from Ogden Point (cruise dock), it is a brief walk away!

1  Thank sashakeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jan R, General Manager at Emily Carr House, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2015

Thank you for coming by,even though we are not open at this time of year for general admissions you can always email us at ecarr@shaw.ca and if possible we will arrange a private viewing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emily Carr House also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Emily Carr House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing