We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly special place.....”
Review of Abigail's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Abigail's Hotel
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, England
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A truly special place.....”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My first time at Abigail's and it lived up to my expectations in every way. We stayed in The Foxglove Room, which was just stunning. Fireplace, 4-poster bed, large bathroom with jacuzzi... The list goes on. The staff were exceptional, helpful, informative, pay attention to detail & simply want to contribute to making your stay as special as it can be.

Location is very good - just a few blocks walk away from the main shopping streets. Perfect.

Breakfast very special too - chef very pleasant, friendly, welcoming - and food delightful. Classy & tasty.

In this special hotel you are given personal care and attention - you are not just a number as you are in many other larger hotels.

Romantic, charming & special in every way.......

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    78
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
79
770
21
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

As a lot of review previously, our experience is also quite successful staying here. Hotel clerk is very kind and helpful. Every service is sofisicated and excellent. Room is spacious and clean. We had nice snack before going out for dinner and everybody staying this hotel looks so happy. Breakfast is also quite ellegant and really delicious!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomaru84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Over the years, we have stayed in many five-star hotels on all inhabited continents (including the self-anointed seven-star hotel in Dubai and several Aman resorts), and we must rank Abigail's among the very best. The attention to detail to enhance a guest's stay is impeccable: tasteful furnishings, comfortable bedding, well-equiped bathrooms with ecologically-minded shampoo and soap dispensers, in-room flowers, scrumptious oatmeal raisin cookies as welcoming treats, superb breakfasts described on menus printed daily, and a tasty array of hor d'oeuvres nightly. The hotel's location, though not in the hustle and bustle of Victoria Harbour, is within walking distance from all key tourist sights. We offer our heartiest kudos to General Manager Nick and his top-notch service team (Kelly, Ella, Colleen, Chris, Alice, and Sean). We also our special thanks to the two amazing chefs, Matt and Victoria, for their extraordinary breakfast making skills. Tip: Order a batch of the hotel's special cookies to take home . . . they are addictive!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrZeeSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Stayed here for one night last week during a brief stopover in Victoria. Staff are excellent, room extremely comfortable and the breakfast was great too. The DVD/Book library was a nice touch too. We were quite busy that day so it was nice to relax with a bottle of wine and a movie in the evening.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redranamber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, B.C.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Loved our two visits to Abigail's Hotel. My title says it all. The staff is exceptionally courteous and helpful. The hotel is a short walk to the inner harbour and the Empress Hotel for drinks on their veranda. Local gourmet restaurants are walking distance away, as is the Seattle ferry.

There is a special, romantic ambiance to this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: There are two parts to this hotel, the Carriage House and the Lodge. The lodge is older and suitabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MG214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Abigails was located in close proximity of everything and we were able to walk to the empress to have drinks at the bengal lounge, dinner out and lots of shopping. we took the float plain from vancouver and their shuttle popped us over in a jiffy.
the staff are very friendly, the food excellent - you can dine in the restuarant where the friendly chef will diverge from the menu for you, or pay a little bit to have it delivered to your room in a basket that is well organized. the suite was foxglove and we were the second couple to sleep there since the renovation. although the wood buring fireplace is a 'firelog" burning fireplace, we still got the effect - which was a romantic relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank krayon59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

On a recent business trip to Victoria, we stayed two nights at Abigails. The people are what make any property great, and these people are the tops. On the phone, in person, in your absence, they listen, they act according to your wishes, every employee is empowered to make your stay exactly what you want. Examples: we needed extra pillows, so the night front-desk manager went and got them himself, while asking a caller if he could call them right back (I had expected him to say to us "I'll bring them up as soon as I can", but instead he took care of our needs immediately.) The first night, there were some nice cookies on the bed; when we got back to the hotel on the second night, I said "I hope tonight's cookies are as good as last night's" and the front-desk person said "oh dear, we usually do cookies only on arrival", but within 10 minutes, she knocked on our door with cookies. On the second morning, we had to leave before breakfast, but we requested an early breakfast, and there was no problem. The daily muffins were just coming out of the oven as we left, so the chef popped a couple into a bag for us to eat as we were traveling.
Location: within a couple of blocks of the centre of town and the harbour, in a quiet neighbourhood.
But you have to have a sense of humour: the building is old, though well maintained, and the rooms have wonderful unexpected shapes and views. Our bed was too high for us to comfortably get in, but when I mentioned this, we had little step-stools instantly. Our room had no desk, so no place to do any work, but there is a very comfortable lounge on the first floor, with fireplace and music, and I was able to sit at a table there and get my work done.
I would not hesitate to stay here again, and I would heartily recommend it to anyone at all. It's not the Marriott, or any other chain, but in many ways it is much, much nicer.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs be sure to tell them this when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank djsmapping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 km away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,699 reviews
0.7 km away
The Fairmont Empress
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,604 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,197 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
1.1 km away
Victoria Regent Hotel
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abigail's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigail's Hotel

Property: Abigail's Hotel
Address: 906 McClure St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 3E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Fairfield
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#15 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abigail's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abigail's Hotel is a unique accommodation experience that blurs the lines between a small luxury hotel and a heritage bed-and-breakfast Inn. Abigail's is an adult-only, intimate 23-room property that is housed in a 1930's Tudor mansion. Its special atmosphere blends the romance and charm of the past with the comfort and convenience of modern accommodation. Located in romantic Victoria, British Columbia, Abigail's is quietly situated on the edge of the bustling downtown core and is three short blocks from Victoria's Inner Harbour, within walking distance of all the major downtown attractions and restaurants. Life is too short to be conventional, discover a splendour and charm that has been lost to the ages and uniquely exists at Abigail's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abigail's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing