We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beaconsfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaconsfield Inn
Ranked #9 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
“Charming elegance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

The house is beautiful inside and out, with stunning details and antique pieces. The staff was warm and friendly. Couldn't improve upon it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    51
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
61
268
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here for ten days. The room, service, location and staff were all great. We especially enjoyed the library and fireplaces. The public rooms as well as our room were delightful. In off season, we were given a cheaper rate which was more reasonable than in high season. In fact, we would not be able to afford to go in high season. The owners were absent but the inn was well staffed and run without any problems. We very much enjoyed the timely and delicious varied breakfasts. A minor drawback - a comfortable chair should be provided in the room we stayed in. It looked as though they were in other rooms.

All in all, this was a sublime stay. We would highly recommend staying here to others who are interested in a lovely historic building with excellent amenities and service. We loved it!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chefathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sturgeon County, Alberta
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

we travelled with four females and were treated like queens. Very personable service. The one gentleman actually came running out to us on the street after we forgot something in the room. About four minutes later my cell phone rang and it was my husband asking me if we forgot anything at the bed and breakfast. That was service up and beyond. Great service, food and atmosphere. Thanks

Room Tip: the gate keepers room is where we stayed. It has one king bed in the main area and down one step it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy3266, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. It was a pleasure hosting all of you and we hope to provide the same quality service on your next trip to Victoria and Beaconsfield Inn :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumner, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Our third stay at this fabulous B&B - each time seems like perfection, yet it just keeps getting better. My husband proposed here, a year later we rented the entire mansion for our wedding and guests filled the rooms.... we returned to celebrate the 25th anniversary of the proposal.........and new staff treated us like honored guests. The rooms are beautiful, the attention to detail amazing, the breakfasts exquisitely prepared and yet the friendly, sweet hospitality of all the staff makes it cozy and inviting. Winter at the Beaconsfield is the warmest of experiences. My dream is to spend a month there on the top floor, writing by the fire, drinking tea and nibbling warm cookies in the study. Ahhhhhh!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely but the Beaconsfield Suite on the top floor is supreme!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy3266, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
It was such a treat for us at the Beaconsfield to host the two of you for such a special occasion and return visit. Creating memories is what life is all about and we hope this "recreation" of your wedding and honeymoon at the Inn 25 years ago helped to add another happy memory to your memory book. Thank you so much !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Based on the fantastic reviews, we booked this for a romantic get away. Although they asked about food preferences, they acually ignored them when it came time for breakfast. I can't have eggs or seafood and was served a shrimp quiche.When I declined and asked for toast, I was informed there was no bread in the kitchen. The room was quite lovely and the tub was fantastic. The bed was VERY soft so if you have back problems this will be an issue. No individual room control for heat (except in the bathroom). The room was fairly cold. Visually, it's a lovely place to stay, but the amenities are lacking considering the price per night. We wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy3266, Manager at Beaconsfield Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comments about your recent stay at our Inn. We agree that the architecture is visually amazing and the guest suite you chose is quite elegant with the romantic jacuzzi tub for relaxing. We ask each guest if we need to be aware of any food allergies, three times in fact, and certainly based on information provided we tailor our breakfast menu accodingly. Seldom do we offer regular toast for breakfast, but we do offer toasted english muffins, organic breakast pita's, or fresh baked croissants. Our Inn is primarliy heated by the original hot water radiator heat, each radiator has a valve to adjust room temperature. We will certainly add this information to our individual guest room binders for future guests information, Our down duvets and mattress toppers are easily removed, if requested, for those who prefer a firm mattress. At check in we always encourage guests to let us know if they have any questions or need anything to be sure to let us know, this way we can do whatever we can to make each guests stay as comfortable as possible. Again, thank you for your comments, we take feedback very seriously so that we can only work harder at providing our guests with an experience they will enjoy. Sincerely !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

From the moment your eyes catch this marvelous mansion on the corner of Humboldt and Vancouver street it becomes " Love at first sight. " And as you enter the front door you immediately feel right at home. Well that is if home includes: 8+ uniquely decorative suites, a full library with a delicious bottle of help-yourself sherry, fine china set dining room and light classical music creating the most relaxing experience this inn has to offer. And to bring this whole experience together we had the most Amazing hostess with the Mostess, Mr. Arland. He really cares about your wants and needs and is absolutely the Best! We stayed in : The Parlor Room with a fireplace, jacuzzi tub and the most comfortable bed in the world!! We did not want to leave, it was Fantastic.. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Use the virtual trip to visit all the rooms or ask about them when you are booking your reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

This was my second time back at the Beaconsfield Inn in Victoria and it was just as lovely as I remember it being! I love the atmosphere and the Staff is very friendly.
The breakfast in the morning was lovely and the variety was excellent, it was nice to have a gourmet meal first thing in the morning. The fresh baked goods served with coffee and tea in the library in the afternoon is always a treat.
The decor and charm of the Inn provieds a quaint and cozy feel that would make anyone feel welcome.
Great location and close to downtown.
I can't wait to visit again the next time we are in Victoria!!

Room Tip: The Beaconsfield suite is roomy and the bed is extremely comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat123Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,518 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,455 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaconsfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaconsfield Inn

Property: Beaconsfield Inn
Address: 998 Humboldt St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2Z8, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Beaconsfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Beaconsfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing