We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Cool” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum

IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum
Book In Advance
US$12.30*
and up
Royal BC Museum Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 16 Fun & Games in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: With crystal clear images, wraparound digital surround sound, and advanced IMAX(R) with Laser projection technology, IMAX(R) Victoria lets you feel like you're really there. Six stories high and 81 feet wide, the screen pulls you in! 7 million people locally have been spellbound by the force and beauty of The IMAX(R) Experience. Technically advanced and visually, it is the most powerful and immersive movie experience in the world.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
531 reviews
264 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
“Very Cool”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

The IMAX is a great way to spend an afternoon or evening. Reasonably priced tickets (especially if you buy multiple shows at one); great selection of interesting and entertaining shows; and a nice, clean, well-maintained and well-designed theater are all reasons to go.

The seating is designed so that you don't feel too crowded or squished next to the person beside you, and once the video starts, you forget about everything else and become totally immersed in the action!

Also worth mentioning are the friendly, incredibly hardworking staff. In particular, one younger fellow (I believe I heard him referred to as Jordan? - he was working around 5pm on Mar. 2nd) really stood out. He sold and served at the concession, greeted visitors and took tickets, introduced the show and cleaned the theater between movies. Obviously, he enjoys what he does and makes the whole IMAX experience that much better. Way to go!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith-B-Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.
We're are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and the IMAX Experience.
We will be sure to pass along your complements of Jordon (if he hasn't seen them already :))
Jordan is definately a hardworker. It's staff members like Jordan that make a difference and we're very fortunate to have him our Guest Services Team.
Once again, Thank you, and I hope you have chance to visit again soon.
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

805 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    508
    223
    57
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“long wait and poor seat selection”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

After spending $10.50 each, we waited in line nearly as long as the video laster (about 45 minutes) and the only seats left when we got in were 2nd row from the front on the far right. Didn't really get our $$ worth.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wmjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to report your concerns during your recent visit.
Please accept my apologies for the long lines you experienced and subsequent poor seating options once in the theatre.
We have recently experienced a very busy time with our Film Festival coming to an end and the 40th annual local promotion called Be A Tourist In Your Own Home Town of which the theatre participates in each year.
These two things combined made for a busier than normal week which caused some delays and busy theatre attendance.
That said, we would like to compensate you in a suitable manner for not receiving full value for your money and for not enjoying your IMAX experience to its fullest.
Please feel free to contact Susie Primrose (Ext. #3) or myself (Ext. #6) offline by calling toll free 1 877 480 4887 and we would be happy to make an arrangement with you.
Kindest regards,
Paul Wild
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Value For Great Entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We love to go to the IMAX. We have season passes and we never miss a show. We just saw the Film Festival and all six shows were great. We always made a day of it see all the new shows and have the great tasting popcorn. The staff is so friendly they make you feel welcome from the time you buy your ticket until they say good night when you leave after the last show of the day. The feature movies they have are so great to see on the big screen. It is a great way to spend the day.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadaPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“huge movies.. how can you go wrong”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

batman begins here was unforgettable! regular shows are great as well!

Helpful?
Thank splintercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imaxvictoria, General Manager at IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for your comments.

You may be interested to know (if you didn't already) that we're opening the 70mm film version of Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol on Friday, March 9.

This version will include 30 minutes of (full 60' x 85' screen) sequences shot with IMAX cameras transforming the high energy action into a unique cinema spectacle. See the film in a way that Academy Award ®-winning director, Brad Bird intended it.

Also, as an added bonus and getting back to your Batman Begins comment, this version will also include a breath-taking full screen 6-minute prologue for The Dark Knight Rises opening this summer. This 70mm trailer playing before MI4 has only been released into film-based IMAX theatres and has never publicly been shown on Vancouver Island. Enjoy!
Paul Wild
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Tornado film good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Really enjoyed seeing a movie on giant screen, was worth the $!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank kittiesnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum also viewed

Sidney, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to IMAX Victoria In the Royal BC Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing