We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”
Review of Swans Brewpub

Swans Brewpub
Ranked #3 of 27 Nightlife in Victoria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience our warm and friendly Brewpub, alive with character, heritage architecture, stunning original artwork and First Nations' carvings. Enjoy the views from our unique sunny, glassed/open air patio, overflowing with our signature flowers in the spring and summer. Whether you are looking for a great place for weekend breakfast, lunch, dinner or drinks, you can't go wrong at Swans. We have something for everyone! We have live music every night and no cover charge.
Reviewed February 19, 2015

have been to Swan's many times on our trips to Victoria and have always had a great time. Food is decent pub food, great atmosphere, good service, lots of seating...Bands playing on the weekend - dance floor. Always a good time when your just with your partner, or with a group of friends.

Date of experience: February 2015
1  Thank NanaimoGirl66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
at_Swans, Manager at Swans Brewpub, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2015

Thank you for great comments about our pub, we will pass along your comments to all of our 60 colleagues. Thanks again, and we hope to have you back with us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

30 - 34 of 57 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2015

We were grateful that some places offered a Christmas brunch and we do love Swan's (having been there several times when we had kids it was our place to stay in Victoria). That being said, I found the brunch was a little underwhelming. There was a platter of sliced fruit, a chafing dish with sausage and bacon, another with scrambled eggs, another with potatoes, some breakfast pastries, a toaster and various kinds of bread, juices, coffee, tea. Nothing wrong with that - but it was presented in a rather cold setting in a back room and felt - ungenerous. At $25/pp I think it would not have been too difficult to create a more welcoming service and a little more imagination to the food (perhaps some cheeses or some cold meats). I've had better breakfast services at many conferences...I will still go to Swan's for their regular breakfast - but they need to step up their game on Christmas Day Brunch and they could easily be a go-to place (half the room was empty the entire time we were there which should tell them something).

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank ASASG_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
at_Swans, Manager at Swans Brewpub, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We certainly appreciate your comments. Just to clarify our offer on Christmas Day in 2014 was not Christmas Brunch but Breakfast, so we apologize if the expectation was for Brunch. There are certainly plans in place for next Christmas to upgrade to the offering.

Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 27, 2014

This is a great little gastropub in the heart of Victoria's old town. Great selection of micro-brewed beers and ales; excellent and reasonably priced menu, efficient friendly service. The pub interior is charming, eclectic and oozes character, though it has to be said the wi-fi sucks! The conservatory is a great place to sit.

Definitely worth a visit.

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank BoneyEyesJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stopped in for a few drinks with friends and were disappointed when we could only order a handful of drinks due to some renovations in the bar. Kinda disappointing. Not sure why they were able to mix/make some drinks and not others? Server was friendly and apologetic, but she also completely forgot to bring the vodka/cranberry that we ordered, and by the time she came back we had already shared a dessert and were ready to leave. (Desserts were very good--- apple crisp and the chocolate brownie). Had heard good things about Swan's but we probably wouldn't return as there are so many other good/nice places to visit that we enjoyed much more.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank maggiemay1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Dont miss a a visit to this little gem. Located within walking distance to everything. Food is great, well priced. Casual, comfortable seats, with some of the best entertainment and dancing.....yes dancing! A great place for just the two of you or a large party. Dont forget to try the fries. Its also a must to sit in the glassed patio area, then afterwards take a walk into the lobby and check out some very interesting art work.

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank Millie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swans Brewpub also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Swans Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing