We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
187
105
35
17
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
105
35
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heritage house brew pub guest house complimentary beer truffle tasting beer flight mushroom pizza great beer craft beer chowder baked goods halibut garden suite water taxi soaker tub breakfast was included downtown victoria
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 351 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

We very much enjoyed our room on the ground floor of a character house. It had a beautiful large bathroom in what must have been part of a conservatory which opened out onto a small enclosed sitting area which caught the sunshine.

The pub over looked the bay and is a busy popular choice but we enjoyed the atmosphere and the food was good and the breakfast menu particularly interesting and tasty. We also enjoyed tasting the many ales which was fun.

Although Spinnakers is a little way out of Victoria it is easy to get to by bus but we caught the water ferry which was a lovely leisurely way of seeing the bay and.watching the many sea planes that take off and land nearby. We also walked from Spinnakers along the coastal path which was beautiful.

I would happily recommend it to anyone who enjoys being out of the city but near enough to enjoy this pretty capital. Victoria itself is full of interest. I only wished we could have had longer!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Pambee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spinnakers G, Front Desk Manager at Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2016

Thanks for the positive feedback! Spinnakers is definitely a unique choice for accommodation and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the pub and the complimentary breakfast - there is something on our menu for everyone! It sounds like you had a great time here in Victoria and took advantage of our unique setting and transportation options. The Harbour Ferry is always a great way to see the city from a different vantage point.
We sincerely hope you do return for another memorable experience - next time hopefully you can stick around a little longer!

Thanks again,
Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 28, 2016

First off, the staff are fabulous, awesome ambience! Craft beer is worth the trip alone. Only letdown was the cheese platter $15. bread was stale and portions were minuscule. I think management needs to rethink a few things. Am a fan overall of the pub and will try a full meal soon. Do NOT recommend the cheese platter-very disappointing!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Casey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spinnakers G, Guest Relations Manager at Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Hello! We are so proud of the staff here at Spinnakers. We are glad that you had a great experience with them, and we hope that you also let your server know about your distaste with the cheese platter and bread. We have definitely made some improvements, we really appreciate your feedback. Hope to see you in the pub again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile

Family had a nice table with a view of the harbour. Had pulled pork, sandwich which was ok but was dry and seemed like it was made yesterday. Wife had Burger which was over cooked. Fries ok but a bit salty for Canada. Service was ok. Place is definitely over rated.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Dgalbrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spinnakers G, Guest Relations Manager at Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2018

Hi there! Thanks for taking the time to review your experience with us. We have definitely taken these things into consideration. We still have the pulled pork sandwich and the beef burger on the menu, and we think it’s improved! We are so sorry you weren’t happy when you were in. We hope that next time you are in town you will give it another try. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Spinnakers for a night when visiting Victoria. It is a fantastic hotel with a great restaurant and bar and lovely views across the bay from the restaurant. We stayed in Heritage House in a cosy room with a balcony you had to climb out onto, a fireplace and a two-person spa bath. Very peaceful place to stay.

On arrival you are given a voucher for a complimentary beer and truffle tasting to use in the restaurant. My husband was in his element with this though sadly I couldn't take advantage of it as I don't drink and none of the chocolates were gluten free. There is a fairly limited number of gluten free items on the dinner menu and breakfast menu but the food I could have was delicious (shitake mushroom appetizer, paneer curry main and apple sorbet dessert at dinner, gluten free granola at breakfast). Only thing I would say is that the restaurant need to be careful to ensure that the sorbet, when given to a gluten free person, does not come with a biscotti on top (mine did and so my husband ate it, but anyone with a severe gluten allergy could have been affected by the cross contamination).

All in all, this was a really lovely little hotel, and I would recommend it if you are staying in Victoria.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Jaffa48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spinnakers G, Front Desk Manager at Spinnakers Brewpub and Guesthouses, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2016

Thanks for the great review! The Heritage House is definitely a very charming and cozy place to relax and we are so happy that you took advantage of all the amenities!
I am sorry to hear that your allergy was not properly noted in the restaurant which was a slip-up on our part. We take allergies very seriously so I will be sure to remind our kitchen of the severity of this issue.
We sincerely hope you come back for another stay here at Spinnakers and we appreciate you spreading the word of our unique accommodations!

Cheers,
Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2016 via mobile

While in Victoria on a port of call from our cruise ship, the Norwegian Pearl, our cab driver recommended this place as a charming on-the-water dinner and craft beer stop.

And this turned out to be an excellent recommendation! Beautiful water views, a vast selection of house-made beers and ciders (oh yeah, and chocolate), and a friendly vibe rounded out the experience.

It is a short can ride from the cruise ship terminal but very worth the time if you can make it work.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank RichT_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews