We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the Building was Impressive”

The Maritime Museum of British Columbia
Ranked #43 of 188 things to do in Victoria
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Maritime Museum of BC engages people with the maritime culture and history of the Pacific Northwest through rotating exhibits, educational and community-based programs, research services, and more. We look forward to your visit!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Unfortunately we could not gain entry while we were there but the building was an architectural delight. I understand that the building was one of the first in Victoria and was used for the police barracks and jail. Still disappointing we could not see the maritime museum.

Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeMuseumofBC, Communications Assistant at The Maritime Museum of British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2015

Thanks for your review, Bruse! We're sorry that you were unable to visit the Museum. We look forward to potentially welcoming you to our new location in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for The Maritime Museum of British Columbia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2015 via mobile

Very impressive the guides in the museum are well prepaired and are very proud of what they do. For visitors with little knowlede about the maritme lifeforms they explain very well. And you can even touch some of the sea habitants in special aquarium. That was a new experience for me!

Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeMuseumofBC, Communications Assistant at The Maritime Museum of British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2015

Hi Phil, we're glad you've enjoyed your time here in Victoria! Is it possible that you visited the Shaw Ocean Discovery Centre in Sidney? Unfortunately, we here in bastion Square are closed at the moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2015

Many aspects within an old historical building and located on a pedestrian only street where local artists and authors sell their art. The museum has many interest for both parents and children under 10. A small shop with souvenirs there also. Have to seek staff if you have any questions. The old architecture of the building inside is beautiful. Check out the history of the building before it was a museum...

Thank Travellerx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeMuseumofBC, Communications Assistant at The Maritime Museum of British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2015

Hi there, we're glad the Museum made a positive impression on you, and thanks for your review! We're in the process of moving from our current space, but we really do appreciate the immense historical value and beauty of the building itself. It'll definitely be missed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

The Maritime Museum of Victoria is on the move. It is looking for a new location, but once it is found it should be well worth visiting. The government needs a prod. Victoria is such an interesting city and museums are an attraction, especially maritime museums that tell such an important part of Canadian History.

Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaritimeMuseumofBC, Communications Assistant at The Maritime Museum of British Columbia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2015

Hi Ben, thanks for your words of support! We're working closely with our membership and partners to determine the best place and plan for the Museum in the future. In the meantime, stay up to date with what's happening in the broader Museum community, with some behind-the-scenes highlights, on our website, Facebook page, and Twitter feed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2015

When I visited the museum, I was informed that they were in a transition since they were changing locations. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the details and the history of maritime museum. I look forward to visiting the new location.

Thank Ava35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Maritime Museum of British Columbia also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Maritime Museum of British Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing