We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent weekend.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
John Lewis House B&B
Ranked #12 of 91 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We are normally able to stay with friends in Victoria, but this time found ourselves without accommodation. The John Lewis House filled that gap admirably. It is in a very convenient location, walking distance from Beacon Hill Park, in the interesting and historical James Bay Area. Becky and Bob were very welcoming. The bedrooms and bathrooms are small but very clean and adequate, and the rates were very economical in comparison to other Victoria lodgings. We did not need any lunches after Becky's breakfasts! We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jumbo-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2011

We are two couples travelling together, so by booking both rooms it felt like we had a private inn to ourselves. The bedrooms are at the top of fairly steep stairs, which was not a problem for us, but might be for someone with mobility issues. The bedrooms, bathrooms and private parlour for guests are all well appointed and comfortable, but it is the friendliness of the hosts, the convenient location, and the absolutely wonderful breakfasts that make this B&B so outstanding. We stayed two nights in late May, and in retrospect I would have liked to have planned to stay there longer. The John Lewis House is excellent value, and was a highlight of our vacation.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms equally excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OttawaBaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at the John Lewis House and I cant recommend this b&b enough. Our hosts were fabulous!! Me, my sister and dad went for a long weekend. There are only 2 rooms so we had the place to ourself! Beds were comfortable, breakfast was good and can't say enough about our hosts!!! Walk to town was a bit far but not bad - we did it several times a day.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topfuel_lvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed for the first 3 nights of a tour, fresh (at least as fresh as you can be after 18 hours travelling) off the plane from the UK. This is a lovely old family home, within walking distance if downtown Victoria and we felt welcome from the moment our taxi (from the Pacific Coaches bus depot - the best way to get here from YVR) dropped us at the door. Becky and Bob were both there to greet us and help with the luggage, show us to our comfortable room (with a lovely bowl of complimentary fruit) and offer refreshments and advice about all aspects if this beautiful city. Breakfast was plentiful, with cereals, fresh fruit salad and Becky's home-cooked specials of the day. This B&B is everything you would hope for in a base to explore a new city. A big thank you to Becky and Bob - we hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoggypete_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We thorougly enjoyed our stay at the John Lewis B & B. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the current owners, Becky & Bob, who helped us with planning our time in Victoria.

The bedroom was nice and comfortable. All of the ammenities that one could need were accessible. If you couldn't find something, all we had to do was ask Becky.

The one complaint we had was with the guest bathroom. The John Lewis B & B is an older style home built in 1900. Due to it's construction, the guest bath shower was not designed for someone taller than 5'6". This makes taking a shower a bit tricky. We had to be flexible and take only baths.

Breakfasts were amazing. Becky is a great cook, and Bob definitely has mastered the art of making toast! They provided more than enough to eat. Everything was delicious.

Bob & Becky were very hospitable, and we enjoyed the conversations we had with them, as well as their other guests. They have done a great job of making this B & B feel like a home.

Room Tip: Make reservations early, as this B & B only has two guest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indy_Colts_Fan_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This B&B has two wonderful owners Bob and Becky. We had a warm welcome when we arrived in Victoria. We where with 4 people and booked both rooms. The rooms where nice, clean and cosy. The mattresses where very comfortable, so we had a good night rest. Becky makes nice breakfast with plenty of food for everyone. Bob had some good ideas about the lunch and diner restaurants and about things to do in Victoria. It’s a 10/15 minutes walk to the harbour of Victoria and about 5 minutes walk to the waterside. Overall this is a very nice place where we felt at home right away. I would certainly recommend this place! The owners will make sure you’ll have a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivian_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Very clean and great B & B. Location is short 15 minute walk from the Inner Harbor. Owners, Becky & Bob, are great hosts and provide a GREAT breakfast! Overall wonderful experience.
Thanks again.

Rick & Gayle

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gfcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,065 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,124 reviews
James Bay
Embassy Inn
Embassy Inn
#14 of 49 in Victoria
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Lewis House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Lewis House B&B

Address: 58 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2K3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: $110 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage registered B&B close to downtown, inner harbour, coastal path and Beacon Hill Park ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing