We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location/Exceptional hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
John Lewis House B&B
Ranked #13 of 91 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We arrived in Victoria on the ferry from Port Angeles and it only took a couple of minutes to drive to the John Lewis House. We could walk everywhere since the location was so close to the Inner Harbor of Victoria. The hosts had great suggestions for sightseeing and restaurants. Beautiful woodwork in the comfortable home. The bedroom was a bit small but nicely decorated and clean. Huge, delicious breakfast with homemade granola, jams, and berry muffins that we had for lunch on our trip to the central part of Vancouver Island. The house is just a few minutes walk from ocean views and Beacon Hill Park; many people out with children and dogs. The weather was better than we expected for November. Becky and Bob were very friendly and helpful hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan5619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2011

The John Lewis house is a nice little B&B located in a conveniant location close to downtown/inner harbor as well as other sights and restaurants in the area. More importantly, it is the place where my wife and I were married on 11/11/11. Our hosts, Becky and Bob were helpful and accomadating and even acted as our witnesses for the ceremony. We felt honored to be the first couple to be married in their home and they made every effort to assist us throughout the entire affair. Their son Ben, who lives nearby even stopped by and took pictures for us. Needless to say, this was all unexpected and made my wife and I feel honored and special. I cannot say enough good things about the graciousness and hospitality of Becky and Bob. They made a very special day all the more so through their thoughtfulness and impeccable service.
In addition, Becky is an excellent cook and all the food was excellent. Bob's knowledge of the local eateries and accurate directions were a big help also. All in all a very wonderful B&B with lovely hosts.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The best thing about The John Lewis House are the hosts, Becky and Bob. They will do their best to help you. The breakfast is great. We felt at home. The room and bathroom is exceedingly clean. We stayed in the pink room and were the only guests at the time. The bathrooms are private but out in the hall so if there would have been more guests it would have been less comfortable, even though each room has its own bathroom. The ceiling over the bathtub is very low so that's not very comfortable. For us, the distance from downtown was a small drawback. we had good weather but if it's raining, the 10-15 minute walk to town might be a problem. But overall it was a good place to stay in.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yael2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We are normally able to stay with friends in Victoria, but this time found ourselves without accommodation. The John Lewis House filled that gap admirably. It is in a very convenient location, walking distance from Beacon Hill Park, in the interesting and historical James Bay Area. Becky and Bob were very welcoming. The bedrooms and bathrooms are small but very clean and adequate, and the rates were very economical in comparison to other Victoria lodgings. We did not need any lunches after Becky's breakfasts! We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jumbo-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We are two couples travelling together, so by booking both rooms it felt like we had a private inn to ourselves. The bedrooms are at the top of fairly steep stairs, which was not a problem for us, but might be for someone with mobility issues. The bedrooms, bathrooms and private parlour for guests are all well appointed and comfortable, but it is the friendliness of the hosts, the convenient location, and the absolutely wonderful breakfasts that make this B&B so outstanding. We stayed two nights in late May, and in retrospect I would have liked to have planned to stay there longer. The John Lewis House is excellent value, and was a highlight of our vacation.

Room Tip: Both bedrooms equally excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OttawaBaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed at the John Lewis House and I cant recommend this b&b enough. Our hosts were fabulous!! Me, my sister and dad went for a long weekend. There are only 2 rooms so we had the place to ourself! Beds were comfortable, breakfast was good and can't say enough about our hosts!!! Walk to town was a bit far but not bad - we did it several times a day.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topfuel_lvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Stayed for the first 3 nights of a tour, fresh (at least as fresh as you can be after 18 hours travelling) off the plane from the UK. This is a lovely old family home, within walking distance if downtown Victoria and we felt welcome from the moment our taxi (from the Pacific Coaches bus depot - the best way to get here from YVR) dropped us at the door. Becky and Bob were both there to greet us and help with the luggage, show us to our comfortable room (with a lovely bowl of complimentary fruit) and offer refreshments and advice about all aspects if this beautiful city. Breakfast was plentiful, with cereals, fresh fruit salad and Becky's home-cooked specials of the day. This B&B is everything you would hope for in a base to explore a new city. A big thank you to Becky and Bob - we hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smoggypete_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,065 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,121 reviews
James Bay
Embassy Inn
Embassy Inn
#14 of 49 in Victoria
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John Lewis House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John Lewis House B&B

Address: 58 Government St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 2K3, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: $109 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage registered B&B close to downtown, inner harbour, coastal path and Beacon Hill Park ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing