We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,270)
Filter reviews
1,270 results
Traveller rating
637
457
128
33
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
637
457
128
33
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkinglondon tubegreat locationdowntown victoriajohnson streetvalet servicewithin walking distancebest westernsfront desk staffupgraded to a suiteattached restaurantper dayfew blockssofa bedgovernment streetfull kitchendefinitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 1,270 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2017

Hotel location is convenient, close to inner harbour and in downtown. We don't need to use our car to get around most of the time. Service provided by Front Desk was pleasant and very good. Our room was good value for we had to pay and house keeping staff did a good job. We will certainly consider staying here again next summer when we come to Victoria.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank X1650FRmichaell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsa M, Front Office - Guest Relations at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Thank you X1650FRmichaell for this lovely review of our property. We are happy to hear that you found our central, downtown location convenient to your needs and that you had a comfortable experience. I would like to thank you on behalf of our Front Desk and Housekeeping staff members for your kind words. We would love to have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2017

Having never been to Canada before, we didn't know what to expect with our hotel stay. I was very impressed with the size of the room, the sparkling cleanliness of the washroom, and location of this hotel. The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful and I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Victoria B.C.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R7029DTbethb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsa M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Thank you, R7029DTbethb, for this wonderful review of our hotel! We're delighted that we were able to help make your first visit to Canada a pleasant one. Our central downtown location makes it easy to explore the city. Thank you for your very kind words about our hardworking housekeeping and front desk staff members - we strive for only the highest standards of service and cleanliness. If you return to Victoria, we would love to have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 4, 2017

I just returned from a four night stay with this Best Western, and the whole experience was fantastic!
The hotel has recently been renovated, and was very clean and modernized. Staff checked in every day to ensure all was well. I mentioned at one point that we had been awoken by the nightclub below in the middle of the night, and they immediately offered to switch rooms for us. The next night was a Sunday night, so we weren't too concerned, and stayed put. They gave us two vouchers for a free breakfast or lunch instead, which really wasn't even necessary. If you choose to stay downtown, you can't avoid some street noise, we got that. But the bent over backwards to make "amends".
Staff was always friendly, with a very "above and beyond" mentality.
And location can't be beat obviously! So much, so close by.

Thanks so much staff of the BW Carlton Plaza! We'll be back for sure!

Jen B.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JennyBee555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsa M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2017

Thank you, Jen, for this fantastic review of our hotel! Our attentive and friendly staff members strive for the highest standard of excellence in service, and I'm delighted to hear that this was your experience. Although we unfortunately cannot control external noise at our location, we understand it may cause disturbances for some guests and will always take measures to ensure that no one leaves unhappy or dissatisfied. Our central downtown location is an excellent feature of our property, and I'm happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of this. We're already looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2017

Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza is not in the best part of town, but away from the waterfront. It is close to China Town which is good for Chinese restaurants and a short walk from the tourist shops towards the quay. The bedrooms were clean and beds comfortable and bathrooms with adequate toiletries. Coffee was always available in the rooms. The bedroom cleaning lady was very pleasant as were the reception staff.

We used the Ruby breakfast restaurant on our first morning but two eggs, three small strips of bacon, a plate full of potatoes with four thick pieces of toast, in my opinion was not value for money. I asked could I substitute one egg for a piece of tomato but was told it was not possible and would cost another three dollars. Tomato was on the menu. We didn't go back the following morning. Unfortunately our memory of Victoria on Vancouver Island, instead of being the pretty quayside and water taxis, is of the numerous beggars sleeping on the pavement and acosting visitors.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank snowdrop67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsa M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Thank you, snowdrop67, for taking the time to review our hotel. Aside from our property being very close by to Chinatown and the Government Street shops, we are located in the heart of Victoria's boutique shopping district and the independent shops along Johnson street are quite popular with locals and tourists alike. I am sorry to hear about your experience at the attached restaurant - The Ruby is independently owned and operated and I know that they value this feedback as much as we do. We have recently outfitted our beds with brand new mattresses for optimal comfort. Thank you for your kind words about our front desk and housekeeping staff.
The homelessness situation in downtown Victoria is very unfortunate and not unique to our property - it poses a challenge for nearly all of the businesses in the downtown area. Sadly, these are complex social problems lacking easy solutions and we as citizens are continually working to help alleviate these issues in a compassionate manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2017

We went to Victoria on the Clipper, walked to our hotel witch was a mile from the dock, beautiful city, we went to the Butterfly garden and the Buchart gardens, the Buchart gardens where VERY beautiful, we will be back for another vist

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jameslV2828XZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsa M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Thank you, jameslV2828XZ, for this lovely review of our hotel. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back when you return to Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews