We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the convenient location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel
Ranked #18 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Great location and the room was clean. Not fancy but the price was right for the convenience. A bit noisy in the early morning because of traffic. Valet parking is 10 dollars extra for each night stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank grandma12004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsa M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Thank you grandma12004 for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! Our central location offers easy walking access to all the major attractions of Victoria, and for those guests that arrive with vehicles, we offer valet parking for $10 per night. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,198)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

58 - 64 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017

Hotel location is convenient, close to inner harbour and in downtown. We don't need to use our car to get around most of the time. Service provided by Front Desk was pleasant and very good. Our room was good value for we had to pay and house keeping staff did a good job. We will certainly consider staying here again next summer when we come to Victoria.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank X1650FRmichaell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsa M, Front Office - Guest Relations at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you X1650FRmichaell for this lovely review of our property. We are happy to hear that you found our central, downtown location convenient to your needs and that you had a comfortable experience. I would like to thank you on behalf of our Front Desk and Housekeeping staff members for your kind words. We would love to have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Having never been to Canada before, we didn't know what to expect with our hotel stay. I was very impressed with the size of the room, the sparkling cleanliness of the washroom, and location of this hotel. The hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful and I would totally recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Victoria B.C.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R7029DTbethb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsa M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you, R7029DTbethb, for this wonderful review of our hotel! We're delighted that we were able to help make your first visit to Canada a pleasant one. Our central downtown location makes it easy to explore the city. Thank you for your very kind words about our hardworking housekeeping and front desk staff members - we strive for only the highest standards of service and cleanliness. If you return to Victoria, we would love to have you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

I just returned from a four night stay with this Best Western, and the whole experience was fantastic!
The hotel has recently been renovated, and was very clean and modernized. Staff checked in every day to ensure all was well. I mentioned at one point that we had been awoken by the nightclub below in the middle of the night, and they immediately offered to switch rooms for us. The next night was a Sunday night, so we weren't too concerned, and stayed put. They gave us two vouchers for a free breakfast or lunch instead, which really wasn't even necessary. If you choose to stay downtown, you can't avoid some street noise, we got that. But the bent over backwards to make "amends".
Staff was always friendly, with a very "above and beyond" mentality.
And location can't be beat obviously! So much, so close by.

Thanks so much staff of the BW Carlton Plaza! We'll be back for sure!

Jen B.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JennyBee555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsa M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thank you, Jen, for this fantastic review of our hotel! Our attentive and friendly staff members strive for the highest standard of excellence in service, and I'm delighted to hear that this was your experience. Although we unfortunately cannot control external noise at our location, we understand it may cause disturbances for some guests and will always take measures to ensure that no one leaves unhappy or dissatisfied. Our central downtown location is an excellent feature of our property, and I'm happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of this. We're already looking forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza is not in the best part of town, but away from the waterfront. It is close to China Town which is good for Chinese restaurants and a short walk from the tourist shops towards the quay. The bedrooms were clean and beds comfortable and bathrooms with adequate toiletries. Coffee was always available in the rooms. The bedroom cleaning lady was very pleasant as were the reception staff.

We used the Ruby breakfast restaurant on our first morning but two eggs, three small strips of bacon, a plate full of potatoes with four thick pieces of toast, in my opinion was not value for money. I asked could I substitute one egg for a piece of tomato but was told it was not possible and would cost another three dollars. Tomato was on the menu. We didn't go back the following morning. Unfortunately our memory of Victoria on Vancouver Island, instead of being the pretty quayside and water taxis, is of the numerous beggars sleeping on the pavement and acosting visitors.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank snowdrop67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsa M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you, snowdrop67, for taking the time to review our hotel. Aside from our property being very close by to Chinatown and the Government Street shops, we are located in the heart of Victoria's boutique shopping district and the independent shops along Johnson street are quite popular with locals and tourists alike. I am sorry to hear about your experience at the attached restaurant - The Ruby is independently owned and operated and I know that they value this feedback as much as we do. We have recently outfitted our beds with brand new mattresses for optimal comfort. Thank you for your kind words about our front desk and housekeeping staff.
The homelessness situation in downtown Victoria is very unfortunate and not unique to our property - it poses a challenge for nearly all of the businesses in the downtown area. Sadly, these are complex social problems lacking easy solutions and we as citizens are continually working to help alleviate these issues in a compassionate manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

We went to Victoria on the Clipper, walked to our hotel witch was a mile from the dock, beautiful city, we went to the Butterfly garden and the Buchart gardens, the Buchart gardens where VERY beautiful, we will be back for another vist

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank jameslV2828XZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsa M, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you, jameslV2828XZ, for this lovely review of our hotel. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back when you return to Victoria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

We stayed in room 703 during our stay. I will also point out we have stayed her about 2 to 3 times a year and the staff know us by name. House keeping missed cleaning our room twice during our visit and sadly the general manager Chris said “we are hard to please” I don’t think this is the case when all we asked for is our room to be made up and clean towels! Front desk staff was great and friendly but this hotel needs help! Unfortunately the general manager will take this hotel down with his non caring non guest oriented manner. I can over look the noise of the elevator and such but not the rude argent general Manager Chris Watson!!

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 876hoteltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisWatson27, General Manager at Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2017

Hello,

Sadly, the above comments are written by a former guest who solicited a Gift Certificate for a charity event and then used the certificate themselves. It has been confirmed that the certificate was purchased by the reviewer at the event.

The Gift Certificate was honored.

However, upon trying to book for a return visit the determination was made that this level of self dealing was not acceptable and the guests were asked not to return.

This decision was not easy. These were guests that had been staying with us for years.

I have no reason to not believe the comments in regards to missed housekeeping. I must admit that the location of the room referenced above has lead to this error in the past and I certainly need to do a better job training to ensure isolated rooms are not missed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
0.6 km away
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
0.9 km away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,190 reviews
1 km away
Best Western Plus Inner Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,617 reviews
0.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel & Suites Victoria
0.5 km away
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel

Address: 642 Johnson St, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1M6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
#12 Business Hotel in Victoria
#15 Family Hotel in Victoria
#22 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $113 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Best Western, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carlton Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Victoria
Victoria Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing