We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“It's still a joy.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
154 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“It's still a joy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

It’s still a joy.
Our 4th or 5th visit in as many years. Still a pleasure to go and stay there. A friendly, young man picks you up in a shuttle bus from the Victoria Clipper (great way to get there from Seattle) and delivers you to the nicely-furnished, real-welcoming, large lobby. The front desk manager, Marla Hunt, still runs a great front line crew. All handsome, cheerful and professional. One even gave us an extra welcoming smile when he remembered us. Fresh, red apples free for the taking all day.

We always get a high-up one-bedroom suite. What a pleasure, spacious, bright, and airy with lots of big floor-to-ceiling windows and a balcony overlooking the beautiful city. If you want a full kitchen, ask for one. We got a brand-new one. Two big TV’s, big, comfortable bed with more pillows than you may want. Clean bathroom with real hot water—really hot. Free WiFi and a GLOBE and MAIL (probably the best newspaper in all of North America) every morning by your door steps. Friendly and helpful room maid. If you want to splurge, get a two-bedroom penthouse suite. Superb.

The location: great. Within a block to 1) the harbor. A must to walk around there. 2) High Tea at the Empress Hotel, classy but expensive. 3) bus stops to the Butchard Gardens (also a must) and to Oak Bay. 4) the Noodle Box, delicious noodles made to order ($12.) 5) Sam’s Sandwich Shop. The best sandwiches around ($9.) For fine dining walk a few more blocks to The Mark restaurant, or have the shuttle bus take you there and pick you up.
We are planning already our next visit.

Room Tip: Try a high-up 03 or 09 one-bedroom suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GCHHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Welcome back GCHHawaii and thank you for the great review. Your detail about the hotel and the experiences in our city will be well read I'm sure. We look forward to your next visit to our big Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,096
    654
    153
    53
    30
See reviews for
585
696
92
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We had a family gathering for a Special Birthday with guests coming from Vancouver, Chemanius and Nanaimo BC. We had a Baby and a dog. We booked three rooms. They were very quiet and comfortable. The beds were Excellant.The inner harbour location was great with walking distance to many attractions. We really enjoyed the roof-top Dining Room for dinner and breakfast. The service was excellant and the hotel staff very helpful.Free parking was a bonus too.

Room Tip: Great downtown Victoria location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pekelo1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear 1949meatman,
I am so happy your family gathering was a success. Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. It helps us know what is important to our guests and is great information for other travelers to our area.
Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I spent two nights here in March with two children. I found the service excellent, and the rooms were large and clean. It is an ideal location if you are exploring downtown Victoria.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Fourwindsbb,
Thank you for the great review. Short concise and family focused. Perfect for this time of year when families are starting to plan their summer so thank you again for taking the time to share.
Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Cowichan, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed with our two large dogs for two nights at the chateau. Location is great 1.5 blocks from the waterfront for the boat show, enjoying the buskers and walking the waterfront. Close to Dallas rd waterfront and beacon hill park for beautiful walks.

Rooms are clean, large and comfortable. We had a one bedroom suite which had a great baloney. The mini bar area has a microwave, creamers for morning coffee and a coffee tea station as well as a few dishes. We needed a can opener and where instantly supplied one. The bathroom was roomy but needs an updated tub as the one there is uncomfortable to relax in. The living area with large flat screen tv and desk was perfect.

Best of all the staff are amazing. Housekeeping was kind friendly interactive. Greeted us and our dogs with friendliness and professionalism. Everyone was helpful and Went out of their way to make our stay great. When you travel with to large dog not everyone is thrilled to see you but at this hotel everyone was happy to see us and made a fuss over the dogs which they loved. The other hotel patrons where widely variant in age and a pleasant group to meet in the halls.

In summary great hotel, not the newest but clean and comfortable with amazing service, nice pool and good location. A steal for the price. For you dog lovers these people truly understand that the dogs are family and treat them like guests to. Thank you to all the Chateau staff. Vista 18's breakfast was very yummy and great view.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank true9150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Thank you True9150,
Our dogs are a big part of the family and being able to bring them on vacation adds to the total experience. Thank you for sharing your stay. We do have a number of floors designated as Pet floors so it seems to work with both dog lovers and people with allergies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Came to Victoria for the weekend from Montreal to be with our son who lives on the base. We took a 2 bedroom suite and we were assigned 1702.

The suite was perfect, large, clean with everything we needed (we stayed 4 days). The suite was cleaned daily (including dishes) and was found spotless when we returned at the end of our day. We are very impressed by how clean the room were.

Parking is included if you book through the hotel, wireless is fast and free and the location cannot be beat at 2 blocks from the Inner Harbour.

A great place where focus is on the customer.

Room Tip: You will hear the live music from the 18th floor bar if you have a romm on the 17th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenitoMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear BenitoMontreal,
Thank you for the review. We get a number of people from the base (sailors and family) who like the downtown area and easy access to the base. I am sure your notes will come in handy for future people doing their research so thank you again.
Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell River, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

This was a nice hotel in a perfect location. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wisconsinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Thank you for the concise review. I am told that short reviews are read by more people then the long ones. Our location is generally what people are looking for and our people help with the return visit. Regards
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We planned a family weekend getaway with some friends. After reading reviews and researching hotels,, we decided on this hotel. Location is great, walking distance to many tourist attractions. Upon arrival we were welcomed by friendly staff and clean rooms. The front staff let our children pick from a "treasure Chest" filled with little toys. On our way to the pool a staff member gave us some floating devices for the children to play on. Very hospitable and very clean. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: The suited rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfunBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mpaul1202, Director of Sales at Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Travelfunbc,
I am glad your research was successful and we helped make your Victoria getaway memorable. Thank you for the great review. Lots of families are planning their summer vacation now it seems so your review will help their research too.
Regards,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#16 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,432 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites

Property: Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites
Address: Chateau Victoria 740 Burdett Ave | BC, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Victoria
#16 Business Hotel in Victoria
#18 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#19 Family Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Victoria at its finest through an authentic local experience in the heart of downtown, steps from the Inner Harbour. With deeply entrenched roots in the local community and a strong sense of environmental responsibility, we strive to share all that makes Victoria special with each and every guest. Our owner, Mr. Clive Piercy, has a long history on Vancouver Island that began when his grandfather started J. Piercy & Co. back in the mid-1800s. To this day, we remain true to those origins in all that we do - from supporting local farmers to sponsoring local events. Our rooftop grill has been voted in the top ten restaurants with a view in BC, and our cocktail lounge off the lobby has been named one of the top ten hotel bars in the world three times. Experience the best of Victoria through a truly local hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Chateau Victoria Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Victoria Hotel Victoria
Chateau Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing