We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Rialto!”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2012

The Rialto was the hotel of choice for our bike ride from Schwartz Bay Ferry Terminal to downtown Victoria and back. The Railto was recommended by one fo the three couples in our group as they had experienced great service a couple of weeks ago. At their recommendation, we booked all three rooms for our group at this newly renovated GEM!

The hotel is fantastic! Centrally located, most awesome martini bar where we had our complimentary cheese plates. I loved the linens - I've never said that before but really had to comment - they felt new and crisp. Quite a smallish room but we were only in it for the sleeping so it fit our requirements nicely. Oh yeah, that martini bar - well we spent a small inheritance that evening consuming any and all martinis. Way too much fun, great music, great waitress - thanks MEL!!
Even when the martinis made us goofy and we felt compelled to demonstrate yoga poses (yeah, I know - and we're all 45+) - they all just laughed and said "was that the Downward Dog and the Happy Baby"). All great fun and we literally crawled our way up to our rooms to crash.

Breakfast came with complimentary muffin and coffee but we opted for the eggs, bacon and hashbrowns. So, so, so delicious and the most fitting antidote for our hungover heads. And yes, we had to make the 2 hour ride back up the Lochside Trail to Sydney to catch the ferry.

Michael at the front desk was extremely congenial and even helped us with storing our bikes down the stairs in the storage room. The price for all of this was such a great bargain.

The only complaint came from my wife who didn't like the large, plush pillows. Pillows are a very personal thing so I don't deduct any points from our stay. My wife also loved the shampoo - I commented how great she smelled after her shower.

So we will most definitely stay at The Rialto again as soon as we have an opportunity. You should too!

Room Tip: No pool or fitness center. Get your fitness by walking through this beautiful city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cuthanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,433 - 1,439 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

I'm staying at the Hotel Rialto now and am in love. I travel all over the world, and this place has truly amazed me. There's no question it's beautiful, but on top of that it's so affordable and so well located -- only a few blocks to the harbor, and surrounded by great shops and cafes.
The room I checked into is stunning and spotless. King size bed that is heavenly, microwave, fridge, gorgeous clean and comfy carpet, pristine drapes, and the most beautiful bathroom. Lots of toiletries, yummy robes. The huge room has a desk and chair as well as another side table with two additional chairs. Lots of lamps and light. And there is STILL room enough to dance! Gorgeous crown moldings too. It's clear that attention to detail is important here.
The front desk was efficient and friendly. There is free wi-fi, some vouchers for coffee and pastries in the trendy, gorgeous cafe next to the lobby, and a free cheese plate in the hotel's dining room.
Honestly, I can't say enough about this place, it still smells new, I'm really in love.

Room Tip: I got a corner room and it is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TeresaEBethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Stayed here for five days in June in the section they had just finished renovating. They were well updated, everything new and modern. Considering the building has been here for many many years, the rooms were surprisingly large. Stayed here in the 1970's when it operated under a different name an ownership. Would not have recognized it now except for the location. Cafe was great for breakfast otherwise the lunch menu for there and the evening menu in the bar were a bit trendy for us. The staff and management were very pleasant and helpful. All in all a good inexpensive stay right in the heart of downtown Victoria.

Only two complaints were: They have a luxury duvet/comforters which we found were too hot and heavy and at our end of the building the hot water took forever to come. They are still getting the kinks out so am sure these things will be rectified

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kelownakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Clean, simple, downtown location, friendly staff, newly renovated.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
7  Thank Cpa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Recently renovated hotel made our trip to Victoria a treat. I loved the linens, the beds and especially the heated bathroom floors.
Dinner at the tapas bar was excellent and the lattes the next morning were terrific.
The staff is top notch, they were friendly and attentive and seemed to enjoy their jobs.
This beautiful hotel has such a European feel to it with all the attention to detail.
I will definitely be back and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LAAH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Beautiful and newly renovated hotel in the heart of Victoria. Room was bright and clean with all the amenities one could desire. (even heated bathroom floors). Excellent and efficient service in all areas of the hotel, with a cozy cafe and upscale restaurant reminiscent of something you would see in New York.
Would definitely go back, great value!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Diane708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Beautiful and recently renovated hotel in a modern style, without sacrificing comfort for class. Bright rooms with all the amenities you could ask for (even heated floors in the washrooms!). I travel a lot for work, and am shocked at the value for the price.
And the rooms aren't all. The service in every area of the hotel is phenomenal. From the front desk, to the cafe, to the restaurant/lounge.
And above all this, the main reason to stay here is the fact that you have the best cocktail lounge in Victoria on the ground floor!
Why stay anywhere else in Victoria?! This establishment has it all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank a f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,171 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 46 in Victoria
2,866 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
3,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: $126 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. Complimentary, enhanced continental breakfast served in the lower lobby of the hotel, 7am-10:30am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing