We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Victoria”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

My wife & I were looking for a simple hotel to stay for the nite in downtown Victotia. We were extremely impressed with the service, quality & price point for this amazing hotel. We are members of the Terminal City Club in Vancouver & this boutique hotel would be comparable in regards to the service & quality. We are excited about our next visit to Victoria & will be bringing our children. Super clean, comfortable rooms & a bonus is the liquor store next door to the hotel which as a guest you reciece 10% off your purchase. You will not regret this stay! N & W.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,531)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Rialto
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

Great downtown location, very friendly staff from reception to the cafe, up-to-date and modern facility. Walking distance to everything from lake front, restaurants, bars. Next door is a semi-skeezy looking dollar store, but the hotel itself is updated and very clean. Free beverages and pastries in the morning!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Madster02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Stayed before when it was the Douglas, a very basic inexpensive place with a noisy pub on the ground floor. The nicely renovated rooms and public areas are a great improvement. The price we paid from the hotel reservation desk matched a quote from an online booking site and was very reasonable for off season. The ground floor pub is gone and is now a retail liquor outlet. Our room on the 4th floor with queen bed, inner courtyard facing was tastefully decorated with a deceunt size bathroom. The in-room mini kitchen containing a fridge, microwave and coffee maker is a nice compliment. The room also had a 40 inch flat screen TV plus free Wi-Fi. The Wi-Fi was fast but its availability was very intermittant during our stay. We heard no outside room noise at any time so other posts about requesting an inner room for a peaceful rest are valid from our experience. We did not utilize the free cheese plate offer for the lobby tapas bar so can 't comment on it but passing by it appeared to be a very popular venue. Our stay included coffee and muffin in the lobby cafe. The cafe is a good location to start your day with floor to ceiling windows to enjoy the street scene from. The cafe also offers a full breakfast for an additional $3.00. The hotel is very centrally located with easy access to many of Victoria center attractions. It you are arriving by BC Ferry at Swartz Bay, catch the #70 exprees outside the terminal ($2.50 adult, $1.65 senior) and get off at the intersection of Douglass and Pandora - the hotel is steps away. We will consider staying at the Rialto again on our next visit to Victoria.

Room Tip: Ask for an inner facing room for a quieter stay.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Stayed one night at the Hotel Rialto and found it to be very comfortable and in a great central location. The front desk staff were friendly, efficient and knowledgable . The property has been renovated and has a chic modern vibe. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with clean modern furnishings. I stayed in a corner unit on the 2nd floor and was initially concerned that the area may be noisy, but the traffic and street noise dies down after 11pm and i had a great sleep. For those who are lighter sleepers, they do provide ear plugs in the room.
The parking is across the street, so a little inconvenient, but not a big deal. We had a glass of wine in the wine bar as well - great service, nice atmosphere.
Overall a great property and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for an inside room instead of a room overlooking the street.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oceanlover872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

I love the rooms in this hotel. The dining room is amazing. Make sure to sit at the bar and chat with the bartender...wonderful cocktails. Great pastries and coffee in the morning. Parking is across the street and secure. Fantastic room renovations! Well Done! Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eisus I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

Great Location, close to entertainment, restaurants, shopping. Service was excellent. Rooms very nice, clean and bright. The Veneto Lounge Tapas Bar downstairs was fabulous, service top notch and the food was very nicely done and different. They really do have the best bartenders who make very tasty custom drinks! Had breakfast in the Cafe downstairs which was very good as well. Overall great experience, will stay there again without any hesitation. We normally stay at some of the pricer hotels in Victoria but I would highly recommend the Rialto, they have more to offer overall.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JNT12_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Conveniently located with large, modern rooms.. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The lounge bar had a lovely ambience. The only downside was for my husband, he runs his own business and needs to be able to have internet access, and the wifi was so slow, that he couldn't use it. We phoned reception who brought us a cable to wire into the network, but they couldn't find a port and said our room didn't have one. I found the port behind the curtain the next morning.
Apart from that it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Supes29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,098 reviews
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,053 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range: $149 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing