We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in victoria”
Review of Hotel Rialto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rialto
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
San Anselmo, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A week in victoria”
Reviewed 22 January 2017

We recently stayed at Hotel Rialto in victoria, BC. From booking the room to our last day we had nothing but positive experiences. The entire staff are very personable and professional. The front desk staff are very friendly and make great recommendations about what to do in victoria. Cafe veneto is a great place to begin your day, wether you get coffee and a danish or visit for breakfast, you won't be disappointed. The hotel is kept up and very clean due to an excellent housekeeping staff. The restaurant, Veneto, is managed by and staffed with a team oriented environment that is very noticeable from the drinks that are awesome to food that is prepared to perfection. There is a liquor store attached for convenience. We highly recommend this hotel and the location could not be better situated.

Room Tip: request back of building for quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenhobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    410
    68
    17
    7
See reviews for
259
772
89
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights with my son during a getaway to Victoria. Excellent value for the money. Hotel is centrally located downtown and easy walking distance to the major attractions/sights. Hotel has been wonderfully restored, and has vintage feel, with modern amenities (like heated bathroom floors; yay!). Room was a good size, very clean, quiet, with Very comfortable beds.

The service from the staff was fantastic. For example, our TV wasn't working initially, but staff arrived right away to troubleshoot the problem and fix things. Every staff we interacted with was similarly attentive, helpful, and polite. The hotel offered complimentary coffee/pastry for breakfast, and evening cheese platter.

Would definitely stay here again, and have no hesitation recommending it to others!

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Redpoint511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We had a good stay. Rooms are large and beds are are comfortable. The staff is exceptional. We ate breakfast and received a good discount with the room. One bother is that we had to use a parkade for parking as the hotel does not have its own parking. That being said dues to its location we did not need our car as everything downtown was within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Potter477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I have stayed the Rialto twice now, and highly recommend it. Great rooms with heated bathroom floors, wonderful staff including the cleaning staff, the room was spotless each day. The front desk could not do enough to help me with any questions I had. The restaurant and Bar were terrific, amazing cocktails created by their staff, and wonderful Tapas, which were large sized and delicious. Close to everything in downtown Victoria, this hotel can expect return business from me.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2017

My husband and I stayed here in December to celebrate our anniversary. We were upgraded to a lovely, huge king suite. The check in staff were superb. Our suite was impeccably clean. All hotel guests are treated to a complimentary cheese plate in the lounge and a delicious coffee and muffin in the morning. These little touches are why we prefer to stay in smaller boutique hotels. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in January. First off the location is fantastic right downtown where all the action is. Everything is within walking distance. The room was a little on the smaller size but served its purpose. The bed was great and our room was relatively quiet. The staff was friendly and answered all of our questions. We took advantage of the valet parking which was great. Overall we loved our visit and will definitely be back the next time we are in Victoria!

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2017

The absolute best service and staff that I have encountered in Victoria! Rooms very comfortable... heated tile bathroom floors. Great tapas lounge with coupons and discounts. Park for virtually free at City Hall just one block away. Vintage wine store right next to hotel. A really great spot for a weekend or excursion visit to Victoria.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbarker2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,057 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 49 in Victoria
2,738 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 49 in Victoria
1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rialto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rialto

Property: Hotel Rialto
Address: 653 Pandora Ave, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1N8, Canada (Formerly Hotel Douglas)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Rialto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming heritage building located right downtown Victoria. Close to shopping, restaurants and attractions. Minutes walk from Inner Harbour, Market Square and right beside China Town. Rooms are quaint and nicely appointed with flat screen TVs with movie system, in-room fridge, microwave and I-home alarm clocks. On the main level is Cafe Veneto serving all day breakfast and fast fresh lunch. Veneto Tapa Lounge is also on the main level of the hotel which is a stylish urban "restro-lounge" serving delectable small plates and a wine and cocktail menu that is among the finest in the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Rialto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing