We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glad we returned for the 4th year in a row”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Glad we returned for the 4th year in a row”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My wife and I spent 2 wonderful weeks, beginning July 20, 2011, at the Days Inn Victoria, BC, for the 4th year in a row. The views from our room were ever changing and fascinating. The Inn staff, from Manager, to Front Desk, to Housekeeper, were friendly and efficient. The Inn is in a great location, within an easy walk of the sights of the charming Inner Harbour and the shops and restaurants of downtown, although the Inn itself has a great restaurant. A bit further but still a very doable walk is beautiful Beacon Hill park, with a hill overlooking the Juan de Fuca Strait and the majestic Olympic Mtns. of Washington State. The Days Inn in Victoria is still very much a value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johneriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDaysInnVic, General Manager at Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour, responded to this review, 20 September 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful review on your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate all of our guests feedback and the positive comments will be forwarded to all of our staff. We llok forward to seeing you on your next visit to our beautiful garden city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    515
    381
    146
    55
See reviews for
384
517
108
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The location was great, but the rooms were less than stellar: a bit dusty. The promised fridge was non existent. No airconditioning and the fan provided was dusty and dirty. We booked two rooms but they were not next to each other.

The on-site restaurant was a disappointment. The pot pie was tasteless and we had to return the children's menu hamburger because the pattie was burned.

The swimming pool was nice.

The parking spaces were exceedingly small.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathyfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDaysInnVic, General Manager at Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you very much for your comments. Please know that I have looked into the matter and must apologize. We pride ourselves in maintaining the highest level of standards for cleanliness, however, unfortunately this standard was not met for you. We always try to at least keep accompanying rooms together at least on the same floor, and near each other, if at all possible but sometimes it doesn’t work out. Thank you again for your comments, they will all be addressed and I hope you will choose to give us an opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victoria hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

I think I've been robbed! Oh wait, nevermind - I just stayed at the Days Inn Victoria on the Harbour and it just feels that way!

Stayed at this hotel for two nights with a friend. We were in a room with one queen bed on the second floor of the hotel. First of all, the room was TINY. By far, the smallest room I have ever stayed in, this includes all of Europe, my rooms were even bigger in Paris!

Second of all, there is no a/c. Unbelievable. Sure it is not usually too warm in BC, but it has been warmer lately. Surely the hotel can retrofit the rooms. It was so hot in the rooms. Our room was on the end of the hotel, right above the staff entrance to the kitchen. All day and night, all we heard were kitchen staff complaining about their jobs, smoking, swearing and we even overheard a staff meeting. We had to have the window open because it was so warm.

The room was run down, with mountains of bird poo on the window ledge, dead bugs on the sill. It was my worst nightmare. I had a very difficult time sleeping with the temperature, the noise, cigarette smoke wafting in and the fact I felt like I was in a broom closet.

For the price, it was terrible. I urge you to stay somewhere else, I actually couldn't wait for our trip to end because I hated the room so much. Our room was never cleaned and we had to call down to the front desk and then he came up and did it. He was nice but the room should have been cleaned earlier.

This hotel has no personality, does not have clean or quality accommodation and the only good thing about it is the location.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xsenia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDaysInnVic, General Manager at Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is unfortunate that our facilities didn’t meet your needs for your two night stay. We have several room types available for our guests, had we known of your discomfort we would have happily moved you with options of other queen, king and two double bedded rooms – with the rooms themselves different in size as well. While the new Hotels being built are equipped with a/c, the majority of us aren’t, as there are few days that really require it, but we do have fans in the rooms for those few days a year to help. Once again, we are sorry you were unhappy with your accommodations and we thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
Level Contributor
96 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The great thing about this hotel is its location which is directly on the harbour and is only a short walk from the main attractions in Victoria. It has its own restaurant and bar with a terrace overlooking the harbour. The food was good and reasonably priced and the staff where very friendly. Parking is free of charge which is very positive..
The rooms however are very basic and need refurbishing. The furniture is old but everything was kept clean. We did have a problem with the bathroom ventilation but the staff were very helpful and moved us to a larger room where everything was working properly at no extra cost. The price of this accommodation is certainly not expensive, especially considering its location, so would definately return.

Room Tip: Ask for a harbour view on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller1Vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDaysInnVic, General Manager at Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel. We are quite lucky that our ideal location allows our guests to be in the heart of downtown; close to shopping, and sightseeing. We will pass on your comments to the staff as well, it's always nice to hear positive comments and they will certainly appreciate it. Thank you again for taking the time to post this review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

The appeal to booking this hotel is the fabulous location right across from the harbor. However, the actual experience is not worth it. This hotel is old and rundown. It has one small elevator and even smaller rooms. The decor is outdated and simply too old to clean. The rings in the tub are not the fault of the cleaning staff, but merely the result of cheaping out and not replacing the fixtures.

Short and sweet: splurge in Victoria and stay somewhere else, anywhere else. Read on if you want the details of our lousy stay.

As a coastal city, Victoria was chilly. About 14 degrees C outside in July, so why was it an unbelievable 27 degrees in our room?? There is no air conditioning, which forces you keep the window open just to breathe. However, the downstairs patio is party central with patrons whooping it up until early morning. We didn't sleep a wink.

There is no continental breakfast, however they do offer breakfast at the filthy hotel restaurant. We didn't dare try it. The pool is an outdoor pool. It was way too cold to go swimming outside. If you are traveling with children, they will be miserable.

Any suspected pest activity was confirmed by the presence of two exterminator trucks parked in the parking lot the next day.

Calls to the front desk were useless. The lady had no idea how to resolve our problems and could care less about the little kids we had with us who were also enduring sleepless nights and insufferable conditions. Our requests to have a manager call us went unanswered.
As we were checking out the next day, the man at the front desk was confrontational and challenged us. We were told that we should have tried harder to reach an actual manager and didn't believe that we had called to complain. He said that the poor conditions are the result of the hotel being old. They weren't going to install air conditioning since the place is going to be torn down!! He refused to compensate any of our stay. He even went as far as saying that he wasn't afraid of a lousy review on Trip Advisor. A lady at the computer was looking to book another hotel as we were complaining to the front desk. She had similar troubles and wanted to get out.
We called and called on our way home to reach a manager, and the phone just rang and rang.

Spend the extra money and stay at the Empress Hotel next door. This hotel is falling apart and the staff and service are committed to going down with the ship.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesViews92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDaysInnVic, General Manager at Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
Thank you very much for your comments and we’re glad you liked the downtown location – it is something we are known for- but of course is a busier area because of it. For our noise sensitive guests we usually recommend our city view rooms rather than the harbourview. I would like to address a couple of your comments - With regards to our pest control – they are here on a routine basis for preventative maintenance to alleviate any activity. Our restaurant is extremely popular with both our guests and locals alike, with great food, and it’s unfortunate you didn’t have the opportunity to try it out. Our outdoor seasonal pool is actually heated and is a treat on even a cool day in the summer. Thank you again for your comments, and I am sorry that our facility didn’t fit your accommodation needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Who would of thought, located right on the Harbour, within walking distance to everythiing. There is a restaurant and bar on property. The bar featured a jazz band that was great and the service was outstanding! Typical furnishings you would expect for a Days Inn, but the value for the money was good. Food was o.k., good breakfast, great patio to sit outdoors and enjoy the summer!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pandltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDaysInnVic, General Manager at Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on your recent stay with us. Not often enough do we hear from our guests letting us know of their enjoyable stay, and it is greatly appreciated when they do. As you mentioned, we're really lucky and our location is perfect for walking to almost everything in downtown Victoria. I will pass on your comments to the staff as well so as they can continue helping our guests in a positive way. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Small room and paper thin walls. Very noisy both nights we stayed. Room was too warm despite an outside temp. of 18 degrees. The wireless is extremely slow. The hotel feels old and dated.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spectrum07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMDaysInnVic, General Manager at Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments. We are sorry that you didn’t find our guests rooms adequate for your stay in our beautiful city. While we strive to have all the comforts of home in our guest rooms, like complimentary wireless internet service, large LCD televisions, fans for warmer days, we are sorry that the amenities didn’t meet your needs . Thank you again for your comments and we hope you will choose to give us an opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
James Bay
Embassy Inn
Embassy Inn
#13 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour

Property: Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Address: 427 Belleville St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly located on Victoria's downtown Inner Harbour, walking distance to Convention Centre, Parliament Buildings, Beacon Hill Park, restaurants, shopping, attractions and more. Clean, comfortable guest rooms and an onsite restaurant/lounge, seasonal outdoor heated pool, year-round whirlpool, parking, complimentary high-speed Internet access, local calls, coffee/tea/kettle. Harbourview, Pet-friendly, and Kitchenette rooms available. Come and visit our beautiful Garden City, and we'll take care of the rest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Victoria On The Harbour Hotel Victoria
Victoria Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing