We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$243
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Rialto(Victoria)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$143
US$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$225
US$184
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$270
US$214
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$238/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$197
US$185
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Fairmont Empress(Victoria)
US$455
US$307
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$227
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,000)
Filter reviews
3,000 results
Traveller rating
2,473
427
72
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,473
427
72
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscorner roomturn down servicecontinental breakfastgreat boutiquevalet parkinggas fireplacedowntown victoriaperfect locationwithin walking distancelovely hotelsmall hotelvalet serviceparliament buildingbeautiful roomgovernment streetwonderful staytop floor
Filter
Updating list...
2,759 - 2,764 of 3,000 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Magnolia Hotel and Spa. It was very conveniently located (walking distance) to the Inner Harbor and lots of great restaurants. The hotel room was very nicely appointed and clean. We asked the front desk for help choosing a place for dinner and help with a whale watching cruise, they had great recommendations and were very helpful. Breakfast was included and offered a nice selection. We booked through priceline and our rate couldn't be beat! If we return to Victoria we will certainly return to Magnolia.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrlandoFLRevier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2011

.............and that's only because I cannot sleep with noisy air conditioning in the room (which I could turn off) or (unfortunately on this occasion) in the hallway right next to our door which I couldn't! Other than that the hotel/room was fine with beautiful view across the harbour from the corner window.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LonelyBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2011

After reading the rave reviews about this 4-star hotel, we decided to book it for a romantic weekend. The website gave us the impression of a much "grander" appearance than what we experienced. I do have to say the staff were very accomodating and helpful--BUT the room was not 4 stars at all... There were spots and stains on the carpet, floor to ceiling windows with a view of a metal roof, the ceiling had cracks in it, we could not only hear everything going on in the hallway, but all the nightclub noise from the Strathcona over a block away--the hooting and hollering went on until after 2 a.m.!! There were notes on the nightstands explaining that you would have to request your sheets and towels replaced...really?? We've never had to ask that before at a 4-star hotel??!!?? The room's temperature fluctuated through the night--too hot, too cold.... Overall we would definitely not stay here again...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonymary7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2011

Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Magnolia Hotel & Spa.

I would like to sincerely apologize that your experience with us did not meet up to your expectations. We pride ourselves in offering an exceptional 4-Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel experience, and clearly we did not meet this expectation. The feedback we typically receive on this hotel lives up to this expectation and we strive to correct and improve from any negative feedback to maintain this. We also take great pride in our housekeeping and maintenance programs and the mention of stains and cracks in your review are of great concern, as all deficiencies such as these are rectified as soon as we are aware.

With respect to our “Greening Together” towel & sheet program. The Magnolia Hotel & Spa is proud to be a 4 Green Key rated hotel. As part of our efforts to help us care for the environment we offer the option of changing sheets and towels daily. The instructions on whether or not you wish these changed are placed on this “Greening Together” card. Our sincere apologies if you felt this was requiring you to ask to have your towels and sheets replaced as this is by no means the intent of this program. Rather, it is the hotel’s conscious effort to provide simple options to our guests who wish to assist in our Green business efforts.

I have forwarded my direct contact and would welcome any further information you can share about your stay.

Thank you again for your business with us, and again my sincere apology that we did not live up to your expectations of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Booked our two-night stay at The Magnolia after seeing the fabulous reviews on TripAdvisor. Very pleased to report that it completely met all our expectations & beyond. Arrived mid-morning & stopped by the hotel just to see if they could store our luggage while we killed time before check-in at 4 pm. We were fortunate enough that our gorgeous 7th floor corner room (w/ a view of the Parliament Bldg.) was ready & we were able to check-in early. The rooms are impeccable & amenities are great. Probably one of the most comfortable beds I've ever had in a hotel & great shower pressure. Not sure why certain folks found fault with the continental breakfast as we found it more than adequate & the staff were so welcoming. The one thing that definitely stands out are the personal touches that The Magnolia has such as appreciative & informative letters by the General Manager left in your room, as well as thoughtfulness - we came up as a way to celebrate my birthday & they left a lovely box of Roger's chocolates! We also very much enjoyed our dinner we had at their Prime Steakhouse & recommend saving a meal for this place. We felt the rates are very reasonable for the service & quality one experiences staying at The Magnolia. The location is perfect - so close to all the main sights so you can walk back to rest your weary feet if need be. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank p00pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2011

Dear p00pa,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed and kind review of your recent vist.
On behalf of our entire team thank you for such great comments; they were truly a pleasure to read.

We are all thrilled you had such a nice visit with us, and hope to see you back again with us soon at The Magnolia!

Best wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2011

This hotel is in the perfect spot in Victoria. We were so close to Beacon Hill Park plus tons of great shopping. Be sure to go down to lower Johnson and see Chloe at Bliss, this store has fantastic clothes at great prices. I loved Prime Steakhouse, the service and food were exquisite. The continental Breakfast was terrific. I LOVE the fact that you are allowed to bring your pet there too. This hotel is worth spending the money on, the people working there made it even more special, so friendly and accomadating. I loved staying there and look forward to going back. Fantastic Aveda toiletries as well!

Room Tip: floor two is the only floor that allows pets.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parker1234-9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews