We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“affordable luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2011

This is a beautiful hotel just minutes walk from the harbour and all the main sites. The service was excellent, the beds were the most comfortable ever and the breakfast was incredible - such choice, my daughter even got to make her own waffles!

Room Tip: check their website for specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mumdadandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,865)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,625 - 2,631 of 2,865 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Magnolia Hotel and Spa. It was very conveniently located (walking distance) to the Inner Harbor and lots of great restaurants. The hotel room was very nicely appointed and clean. We asked the front desk for help choosing a place for dinner and help with a whale watching cruise, they had great recommendations and were very helpful. Breakfast was included and offered a nice selection. We booked through priceline and our rate couldn't be beat! If we return to Victoria we will certainly return to Magnolia.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrlandoFLRevier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

.............and that's only because I cannot sleep with noisy air conditioning in the room (which I could turn off) or (unfortunately on this occasion) in the hallway right next to our door which I couldn't! Other than that the hotel/room was fine with beautiful view across the harbour from the corner window.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LonelyBlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

After reading the rave reviews about this 4-star hotel, we decided to book it for a romantic weekend. The website gave us the impression of a much "grander" appearance than what we experienced. I do have to say the staff were very accomodating and helpful--BUT the room was not 4 stars at all... There were spots and stains on the carpet, floor to ceiling windows with a view of a metal roof, the ceiling had cracks in it, we could not only hear everything going on in the hallway, but all the nightclub noise from the Strathcona over a block away--the hooting and hollering went on until after 2 a.m.!! There were notes on the nightstands explaining that you would have to request your sheets and towels replaced...really?? We've never had to ask that before at a 4-star hotel??!!?? The room's temperature fluctuated through the night--too hot, too cold.... Overall we would definitely not stay here again...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonymary7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2011

Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Magnolia Hotel & Spa.

I would like to sincerely apologize that your experience with us did not meet up to your expectations. We pride ourselves in offering an exceptional 4-Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel experience, and clearly we did not meet this expectation. The feedback we typically receive on this hotel lives up to this expectation and we strive to correct and improve from any negative feedback to maintain this. We also take great pride in our housekeeping and maintenance programs and the mention of stains and cracks in your review are of great concern, as all deficiencies such as these are rectified as soon as we are aware.

With respect to our “Greening Together” towel & sheet program. The Magnolia Hotel & Spa is proud to be a 4 Green Key rated hotel. As part of our efforts to help us care for the environment we offer the option of changing sheets and towels daily. The instructions on whether or not you wish these changed are placed on this “Greening Together” card. Our sincere apologies if you felt this was requiring you to ask to have your towels and sheets replaced as this is by no means the intent of this program. Rather, it is the hotel’s conscious effort to provide simple options to our guests who wish to assist in our Green business efforts.

I have forwarded my direct contact and would welcome any further information you can share about your stay.

Thank you again for your business with us, and again my sincere apology that we did not live up to your expectations of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

Booked our two-night stay at The Magnolia after seeing the fabulous reviews on TripAdvisor. Very pleased to report that it completely met all our expectations & beyond. Arrived mid-morning & stopped by the hotel just to see if they could store our luggage while we killed time before check-in at 4 pm. We were fortunate enough that our gorgeous 7th floor corner room (w/ a view of the Parliament Bldg.) was ready & we were able to check-in early. The rooms are impeccable & amenities are great. Probably one of the most comfortable beds I've ever had in a hotel & great shower pressure. Not sure why certain folks found fault with the continental breakfast as we found it more than adequate & the staff were so welcoming. The one thing that definitely stands out are the personal touches that The Magnolia has such as appreciative & informative letters by the General Manager left in your room, as well as thoughtfulness - we came up as a way to celebrate my birthday & they left a lovely box of Roger's chocolates! We also very much enjoyed our dinner we had at their Prime Steakhouse & recommend saving a meal for this place. We felt the rates are very reasonable for the service & quality one experiences staying at The Magnolia. The location is perfect - so close to all the main sights so you can walk back to rest your weary feet if need be. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank p00pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2011

Dear p00pa,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed and kind review of your recent vist.
On behalf of our entire team thank you for such great comments; they were truly a pleasure to read.

We are all thrilled you had such a nice visit with us, and hope to see you back again with us soon at The Magnolia!

Best wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

This hotel is in the perfect spot in Victoria. We were so close to Beacon Hill Park plus tons of great shopping. Be sure to go down to lower Johnson and see Chloe at Bliss, this store has fantastic clothes at great prices. I loved Prime Steakhouse, the service and food were exquisite. The continental Breakfast was terrific. I LOVE the fact that you are allowed to bring your pet there too. This hotel is worth spending the money on, the people working there made it even more special, so friendly and accomadating. I loved staying there and look forward to going back. Fantastic Aveda toiletries as well!

Room Tip: floor two is the only floor that allows pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parker1234-9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Had a great time at the Magnolia.
The place is clean, quiet and very nice.
The service is top-notch and the size of the hotel is perfect........not too big, or too small.
The morning breakfast was a surprise and couldnt have been any better.
Thank you Magnolia!

Room Tip: Take the Valet Parking for only 20/night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AaronAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 46 in Victoria
1,093 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 46 in Victoria
3,969 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 46 in Victoria
2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 46 in Victoria
1,375 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 46 in Victoria
1,600 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 46 in Victoria
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $193 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel. Elegant rooms with floor-to-ceiling windows, two poster beds and deep soaker tubs. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Restaurant closed for renovation, exciting new dining experience to be unveiled in Spring of 2018. Tranquil Spa Magnolia with 7 treatment rooms and organic products. Boutique luxury. Personalized service. Authentic experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing