We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent Botique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
BC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Botique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

I have not heard of this hotel before even though I went to Victoria so many times. I have stayed in several other hotels close to Parliament Hill but decided I'll try Hotwire for once and go with the adventure of discovering a new hotel. I thought a 4 star hotel with almost 100% recommendation won't be too far off. I was so happy to get booked into Magnolia, and everything is beyond my expectation. It is close to float plane terminal and everything else, and the room was immaculate. My only regret is my stay is too short, and I didn't get the chance to have breakfast there due to my medical need. But everything is very welcoming. I would definitely go back again. I didn't get any view in my room as it is looking out to the roof top and wall of another building, but it doesn't matter as I'm on a business trip and hardly get a chance to look out of the window.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,425 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,968
    369
    64
    18
    6
See reviews for
402
1,258
108
381
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Great service, rooms and location, bonus is vallet parking, and breakfast. Have stayed here many times over the last 3 years and am always pleased. Staff are consistantly fabulous, rooms are lovely.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large, some with fireplace, some with view of Parliment Buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Booked this through Priceline.com,didn't know which hotel our bid would aquire. We have stayed in Victoria numerous times,usually at the Marriott inner harbour,but thought we would try priceline,where you don't know what property you have purchased until they tell you and save a significant mount of money. What a great choice! Perfectly appointed room,very comfortable beds..first class. Included a well thought out continental breakfast at their Prime restaurant. Staff were very friendly,no pool,but offers everything else including a full service spa.Turn down service never happened as it was supposed to @ about 5pm..or this hotel would get a perfect rating from me.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view..if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Apollocanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 27 January 2012
Thanks for your kind review ApolloCanada!

We're thrilled that you had a wonderful stay, and appreciate your sharing your feedback.
I would like to express my sincere apologies for the issue with turndown. Evening turndown is included with all rooms between 5:30 and 7:00pm daily. This is one of the little elements that many guests enjoy about our Luxury Boutique hotel, and I am sincerely sorry that you did not get your room turned down.

I will email my contact information to you, and welcome you to contact me personally to make this up to you on a future visit.

Thank you again for your business and feedback!

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa,
Victoria's Luxury Spa Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Well worth a stay here. The team at the front desk were just the friendliest and extremely helpful. The rooms are comfortable with the bathrooms full of goodies. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zipzip1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

This hotel has a great central location, close to the waterfront and bus station and close to all amenities. Really decent sized rooms, and a welcome plate of fruit, chocolate and water awaited us on arrival. The hotel offered hot apple cider, tea and coffee in the reception, free of charge. Breakfast was also included in the price, which was a welcome surprise and offered a great selection to set you up for the day.
The hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming.

Absolutely recommend this hotel for a stay in Victoria.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilbury321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

The Magnolia hotel is just outside the inner harbor which is the prime location in Victoria. It is within a mile radius of some of the best restaurants in Victoria. The hotel is small but offers many of the services that you would find at a bigger hotel. The hotel advertises the views from the rooms in their corner rooms but unless you are willing to stick you head out the window and crane you neck the views aren't anything special. The rooms are large and well appointed, with a beautiful bathroom. One nice thing to keep in mind when comparing the Magnolia to other hotels in Victoria is to note that the magnolia offers free wifi and complementary breakfast. The lobby of the hotel is small and doesn't offer a great deal of seating. Also if you are coming from seattle on the Victoria Clipper the hotel is a good distance from the port and for my 75 year old grandpa it was too much of a hike. Overall the hotel is good because of its location and amenities but the views are not anything to write home about.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a room with a view the views aren't that great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Thank you for review dandrew,

We appreciate your business, and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am thrilled that you enjoyed all the included amenties with your room (breakfast, wifi) as well as the central location downtown, and our guest rooms were to your satisfaction.

I was sorry to hear that you didn't find the view as appealing as hoped, and that this didn't live up to the expectations you had. We generally receive wonderful feedback about our views from our Signature Corner and Diamond Level view room in particular, thus is was truly disappointing to hear about your experience and I would welcome the opportunity to make this up to you.

I would welcome you to contact me directly on a future visit, and I can ensure that your room is assigned one of these signature rooms to enjoy.

Thank you again for your business,

Sincerely,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa,
Victoria's Luxury Spa Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Spent a couple of nights here at the end of December 2011. Was wonderful! Very friendly staff. Great location! Had a very spacious corner room. Comfy bed. Fine breakfast. Loved the extras... Free afternoon drinks, free coffee and tea, free hot apple cider and hot chocolate with cookies in the lobby with lovely live piano music. Would love to stay there again

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MsOnHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Dear Ms "On Holiday",

Thank you so much for sharing your experience online for your stay over the Holiday season.

We truly enjoyed celebrating the holidays at The Magnolia Hotel & Spa, and had a wonderful time with our guests. We're thrilled you enjoyed the events including the hot lobby cider, piano music and the complimentary wine and cheese events.

I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back again with us,

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa
Victoria's Luxury Spa Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#16 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing