We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will be well taken care of at the Magnolia!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Ranked #2 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You will be well taken care of at the Magnolia!”
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Last weekend we stayed at the Magnolia for one night. Our overall impression of the hotel was that it was very good, with service and breakfast being excellent.

The location is excellent-- steps away from Government St., a couple of blocks from the Empress and the waterfront. You can easily walk to most of the Victoria attractions.
The building itself is tasteful inside-- it is a boutique hotel, so it does not have a grand entrance or lobby, but it is comfortable and elegant. There are always fresh apples, coffee and tea available.

Our room on the second floor-- we got a great deal, so I wasn't expecting the nicest room-- was fairly standard. There was some extra space for a small sitting area and separate bar area with a sink. The bathroom had a separate shower (nice, but drainage issues) and tub (soaker tub). The amenities were Aveda. The room we felt, was nothing spectacular, but clean and comfortable. There were some apples, bottled water, and chocolates when we arrived, Tazo tea, and Torrefazione coffee.

One note-- we could hear some street noise. The lively Stickey Wicket pub/club a couple of blocks away means that on weekends you will probably have some noisy partiers walking down the street outside late at night. Not too much of a bother, but worth noting if you are particular about that sort of thing. If you let the front desk know, they would probably make sure you are in a quieter room!

What made our experience more of a 4.5 star experience (the hotel's rating), was the service. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful- calling us taxis and offering us tips about getting around, and extending our checkout by an hour. There was also turn-down service in the evening with a couple more chocolates and fresh ice for the bar. Free WiFi, was also convenient.

Our favourite part of this hotel experience- and why we would come back-- was the deluxe continental breakfast in the morning (included with your stay). Amazing! This would be easily $20-30 pp at a restaurant. Buffet-style waffles, granola, oatmeal (with topping bars!), hard-boiled eggs, breads and croissants, cereals-- but all of excellent quality, and delicious. Tazo tea, coffee, fresh juice, and our favourite- fresh fruit and yogurt smoothies.

The Magnolia grew on us over the 24 hours that we stayed... we liked it more and more, and we'll likely be back when we are next in Victoria.

Room Tip: If you are worried about street noise, let the front desk staff know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikaJVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,200
    393
    69
    19
    7
See reviews for
448
1,384
120
432
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Magnolia while I was in Victoria on business in late February, and we found the atmosphere to be very cozy and comfortable, the staff extremely helpful and polite.

I'm a top level member of one of Western Canada's premiere hotel chain reward programs, and usually stay in their Victoria property, but that has now changed. From this point on when I'm in Victoria I'll only be staying at the Magnolia. Everything about it is perfection, no question.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This was a relatively unplanned trip, that came about as a result of a very attractive room rate. The location of the hotel is perfect, the service is good, every single staff person in the hotel that we had contact with, spoke to us. Will stay again, and recommend it unconditionally.

Room Tip: Not really an issue. No street noise of consequence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

My husband & I received a Gift Certificate for a 1 night stay in a Diamond King Suite and a Couples Massage. Made reservations for both by phone. Check -In is not until 4pm but we were downtown anyways so we decided to take advantage of the Valet Parking and were told our room was ready & we could check in even though it was only 11am. Very nice touch as we had our Grandaughter with us for the day and we didn't have to leave our stuff in the car. Put our bags in the room and headed out to be Tourists in our Home Town for a few hours. Got back to our room to find bottles of water,fresh fruit and a couple of chocolates waiting for us. Another nice touch!! We headed down to the Spa for our Massage which was fantastic. On our way back to our room we stopped at the front desk to ask for some ice(no machine on the 7th floor) and within 2 minutes it was at our door. After a night on the town we truly appreciated the late Check-Out and the Conntinental Breakfast was the best we've ever had. Beautiful view of the Inner Harbour from our room(705) fully stocked mini-bar(expensive of course) the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was amazing. Great Service from anyone we encountered(including the Valet) and we will visit them again soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danabananaVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Magnolia hotel and spa! My sister and I had a long-weekend away from the kiddies to enjoy some wonderful meals and spa treatments in Victoria. The staff were very friendly and helpful; the rooms were well furnished with a large flat screen TV and good channels; and there was a lovely gas fireplace in the room which helped warm us up in February! The room was very clean and beds were very comfortable. I appreciated the bottled water in the room when we arrived and only wish that could have been provided daily as it was so nice. The spa was amazing and the staff there were very friendly and skilled! we also received a discount for staying at the hotel which was a nice surprise. The only drawbacks were the bathrooms could be modernized (though they were impeccably clean with Aveda amenities) and the wi-fi did not work for our apple devices anywhere in the hotel (room or lobby) for safari and some games (though we could get email and Facebook updates). Also the insulation between the rooms seemed very minimal when we could hear the guests in the room next to us and the noise from their shower was quite startling (thank goodness they slept in!) This would put me off staying at Magnolia again when sleep is of paramount importance. The hotel does not seem to have rooms with much of a view where it is located - but the distance to shops and restaurants is excellent! The complimentary breakfast was quite decent - they had a good selection of Tazo teas which I appreciated as well as toast and waffles which was unexpected. It was a buffet style and often had to wait for items to be re-filled but again the staff were super friendly and smoothies were available which was another treat!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Stayed at the Magnolia many times, and enjoyed each stay. Location is great. Easy walk to numerous restaurants and inner harbour. Service is exceptional. Have tried other hotels, but nothing compares.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neverhomechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I love staying at the Magnolia! This stay was much too short because I had to catch a pre-dawn flight. As usual, the staff and many comforts made every minute count. With no time for breakfast, the thoughtful and clever staff put together a lovely little take-out box, which I enjoyed on the way to the airport. My only complaint about the Magnolia is that there is only one! I wish they would open others that are managed and staffed like this one. Vancouver would be a good place to start. My last Vancouver stay, at a place that was hugely hyped and wildly overpriced, featured cold and sleepless nights, remote and unwelcoming staff, and a manager who actually bawled me out for reporting the problems. I have never had any problems to report, at the Magnolia. I just keep telling everyone how wonderful it is. A friend sent me there. I kept coming back, and have had the pleasure of recommending it to others. They always come home smiling.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitingprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,026 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 49 in Victoria
3,594 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,194 reviews
The Oswego Hotel
#6 of 49 in Victoria
1,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Hotel And Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Hotel And Spa

Property: Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Address: 623 Courtney Street, Victoria, British Columbia V8W 1B8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#1 Business Hotel in Victoria
#2 Family Hotel in Victoria
#2 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#2 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Magnolia Hotel And Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown Victoria’s Favourite Boutique Hotel.Beautifully refreshed new guest rooms with plush textures, elegant patterns and raw-silk inspired walls. Outstanding location, just 2 blocks from Victoria’s picturesque Inner Harbour and in the heart of the city’s best shopping, dining and entertainment. Tranquil Spa Magnolia and the exciting new Catalano Restaurant & Cicchetti Bar. The kind of undistracted attention you can only receive in a boutique hotel with just 64 rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Magnolia Hotel And Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Hotel And Victoria
Magnolia Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing