We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$406
US$287
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$286
US$243
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$291
US$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Accent Inn Victoria(Victoria)(Great Value!)
US$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$215
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,960)
Filter reviews
2,961 results
Traveller rating
2,445
419
69
20
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,445
419
69
20
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscorner roomturn down servicecontinental breakfastgreat boutiquevalet parkinggas fireplacedowntown victoriaperfect locationwithin walking distancelovely hotelsmall hotelvalet servicegovernment streetparliament buildingbeautiful roomwonderful staytop floor
Filter
Updating list...
2,526 - 2,531 of 2,961 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Victoria was our first stop on a 9-day BC trip, and the Magnolia a great place to relax after all the travel to get there. It's a little tricky to find because it's on a small side street, and the hotel sign is very indiscreet. But once we arrived, the valet met us on the curb and whisked our car to their secure parking. We had a large king room, facing the harbor. The free water, apples and chocolates were a great welcome treat, as well. The hotel is one block from the Empress and harbor, and easy walking distance to Chinatown and restaurants. The breakfast is served in their lovely restaurant, and is huge with smoothies, baked goods, oatmeal, fruit, boiled eggs, juices, etc. We were thrilled with the hotel, and the great rate we found on hotels.com.

Room Tip: Nice view of the harbor on upper floors.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank impackedandready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We ended up (fortunately) at Magnolia Hotel after spending 3 weeks touring the Pacific North West, including a 1 week cruise to Alaska thru the Inner Passage. We write 'fortunately' because some months before when checking out the rates at the Empress (directly next door and 'pricey') a previous traveler recommended the Magnolia Hotel. We could not find a thing to complain about (did not use pool or spa) hence all the "5's" ratings (rare for us) considering we were not expecting -- or paying for -- ultra-luxury. While we might have paid a little extra for a good view from our room of the Government House well lighted at night, we still saved at least $100+/nite over next door accomodations. Not only were there a number of good restaurants within walking distance, but the location in harbourside-Victoria is excellent. The included B'fast buffet in am was fine. The Magnolia is particularily convenient IF you plan to take the car ferry back to Port Angeles, Washington State (much more convenient than the ferry to Vancouver), since the Port Angeles ferry boarding dock was less than 5 minutes from hotel parking. But be sure to pay the extra reservation fee (we booked 3 weeks in advance by phone). Reason: In mid-August, when we went to board ferry, not only was the morning trip full, but the afternoon trip was full with a big standby line for those without advance reservations. We would go back. Signed: Well traveled from our Fairhope/Pt. Clear, Alabama home.

Room Tip: Ask for room with windows (opening-type) overlooking Government House and harbor.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick-Pauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We have always stayed at the Magnolia when visiting Victoria. It is a small, very friendly and comfortable place to stay. Excellent service and comfort.

Room Tip: Love the top 2 floors with the fireplace and view.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YL-vanisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2012

I recently spent a couple of nights at the Magnolia; I had booked early on the web using the 30/30 plan....30% off/30 days in advance....quite a decent deal if it works for you. I had a corner room and I found it spacious and very nicely appointed. In general the hotel is beautifully maintained and has an ideal location in old town Victoria. The management and staff were very welcoming and accomodating, making an early arrival possible for an early check-in. The included continental breakfast had a nice variety of options...buffet style. Aveda toiletries were a welcome touch, too.

Room Tip: 30/30 plan
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MagnoliaHotelGM, General Manager at Magnolia Hotel And Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2012

Thanks for the kind review and feedback from your stay Roger!

The 30%/ 30 Day advance rate ("30/30") is indeed a very popular rate for those planning their dates in advance.

I'm glad you were able to take advantage of this value and had a wonderful visit in your corner room!

Thanks again for the great feedback.
If I can be of personal assistance at any time in booking a return visit,
please contact me at gm@magnoliahotel.com

Best Wishes,

Bill Lewis
General Manager
The Magnolia Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We stayed at Magnolia for 3-nights. The front desk personal were very helpful with dinning recommendations, offered us umbrellas when it was raining and genuinely cared about our experience at the hotel and our vacation. Our room was perfect and the hotel location is great. We will stay at the Magnolia again and reccomend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiffHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews