We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully unique!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amethyst Inn at Regents Park
Ranked #56 of 93 Victoria B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully unique!”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Right from the beginning, Amethyst Inn provided us with a warm welcome and loads of local information to make our trip memorable. Carlson was a genuine host who is always smiling and took interest in our travels and stories. Breakfasts were delicious and the dining room is beautiful, as is the rest of the house, so well taken care of. The neighbourhood is lovely, and a walk, or quick bus into downtown is easy.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIMnGREG13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    17
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
11
119
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2011

My husband and I travel extensively but have never received such wonderful service as we experienced at the Amethyst Inn. The historic house is beautiful , but the staff are exceptional. Every morning we had a gourmet breakfast which was substantial enough to satisfy us until dinnertime. Carlson was the ultimate concierge and host, he made our stay so pleasant we opted for another 2 nights. Secure parking in the beautiful grounds (at no cost, unusual in Victoria) allowed us to leave our rental car, safe and secure while we explored downtown on foot. I look forward to our next visit !

Room Tip: You will be happy with any of the rooms, they are all unique but equally wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sallyemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2011

True to there pictures, it was a beautiful victorian house. Service was above and beyond our expectations. We had our wedding in the parlor with family and friends. Couldn't ask for anything more. It was perfect!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickey1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparta, new jersey
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2011

Fabulous Victorian home located in a lovely,convenient area of the city. Breakfasts are amazing and elegant. The very personable manager offered many great recommendations and worked hard to make our stay an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanaSparta_NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2011

I came to Victoira for an conference meeting for 2 days. I normally dont stay in B&B but my colleague find here online and talk me into staying here.
We emailed and called which took a while to get a final qoute with the date and final pirce we asked.
We was told the inn is under new ownership now and was closed for 3 months for renos. And now they just opened , luckily we are the first customers they had!! We booked a cheaper room but was upgraded the suite because the inn was empty.
The new owner gave me 15% disscount on their reg rate. They are humble nice people I did enjoy their company during the best B&B breakfast served I've seen.
The inn is surrounded by mansions, fireplaces with Minton's tiles, ceiling rosettes, and original ceiling and wallpapers.....different but great experience for us.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrettPeterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2010

Just read another review which says it is now closed, but I'll leave my review anyway.

We stayed here for one night in mid September as part of our honeymoon. We paid for one of the cheaper rooms but on arrival the welcoming hostess offered us a free upgrade as her more expensive room was vacant. So that was a good start. However, that was the high point of our stay. On the surface, the hotel seemed to look in good condition and well presented. However, as you look more closely you start to notice the problems. Just little things really but it is beginning to show its age. One major problem I had was the shower. It was over a bath, but the bath was a free standing one. So as a result there was a shower curtain all the way round it. The problem with this is that where the taps are, they had just cut the shower curtain, which meant water leaked down the back of the bath. Their solution? Throw an old mouldy towel down the back of the bath to collect the spillage and hope nobody notices it. It wasn't nice.

Another issue I had was with the jet baths. Our room didn't have one, which didn't bother me to be honest. But the one above our bed in the room upstairs did. It literally shook our room when it was being used. Very annoying at 1145 at night and at 7am in the morning.

My final moaning - when we came down for breakfast we were sat at a table set out for 4. Shortly after another couple came down and the hostess sat them at the table with us. I was literally rubbing elbows with a stranger. Although this wouldn't be a problem for some, I think all of us felt quite awkward. The hostess knew how many people were in the hotel, and had even asked us to say when we would be coming down for breakfast. There was plenty of empty tables (that weren't set) so I don't see why she couldn't have set tables for each group of people. It just felt lazy to me.

One suggestion for the new owners - wireless internet would be nice.

Overall, this place needs an update if it is to continue to get good reviews like it has in the past. However, this would be limited to superficial changes so I think it could be easily done. Good luck to the new owners.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MWest11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W. Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
313 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

The owners have sold this inn and closed it as of the end of September. The new owners are not sure what they will do with the inn. So for now, you can no longer stay at this inn.
The inn was clean and nicely decorated, and the breakfasts were excellent. We found the bathrooms quite odd and not up to our standards for the price paid. There was no mirror over the sink and the lighting was so poor that it was difficult to apply makeup. There was a tub with a faucet connected shower and while it worked ok, we would have preferred a normal shower.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cayman408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites
#39 of 49 in Victoria
281 reviews
Rockland
Fairholme Manor
Fairholme Manor
#3 of 93 in Victoria
258 reviews
Rockland
The Craigmyle
The Craigmyle
#2 of 93 in Victoria
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gaslight-Inn-Victoria
#27 of 93 in Victoria
28 reviews
Savory Gardens
#67 of 93 in Victoria
2 reviews
Fairfield
Humboldt House Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amethyst Inn at Regents Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amethyst Inn at Regents Park

Property: Amethyst Inn at Regents Park
Address: 1501 Fort St, Victoria, British Columbia V8S 1Z6, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amethyst Inn at Regents Park 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Truly Victorian Heritage InnAmethyst Inn is a fully-restored historic mansion dating from 1885. A few of our many features are 13 foot ceilings, period furniture and antiques. There are cosy fireplaces in most rooms. In the parlour we serve a full breakfast on antique crystal and china. To help you unwind there are jacuzzis in some of our rooms, and dont worry about your car: we have lots of secure, free parking on our property. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing