We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Much to See... Not Enough Time to See It All”
Review of Royal BC Museum

Royal BC Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$16.18*
and up
Royal BC Museum Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 182 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step inside and experience British Columbia. Since 1886 the Royal BC Museum has preserved and shared the human and natural histories of this province. Discover the famous First Peoples, Natural History and Modern History Galleries – a feast of sights, smells and sounds of British Columbia. The Royal BC Museum is also home to a cultural precinct including the BC Archives, Helmcken House, St. Ann's Schoolhouse, the Netherlands Centennial Carillon, Thunderbird Park and Mungo Martin House/Wawadit’la.
Waterton Lakes National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
607 reviews
312 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 394 helpful votes
“So Much to See... Not Enough Time to See It All”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Royal BC Museum is an excellent museum displaying vast amounts of information on both the human, and natural history of British Columbia and Vancouver Island.

All in all, the displays, pictures, and information are all relatively new and appear to be in good shape. The natural history exhibits funnel visitors through a well defined 1-way route, which I believe is a good thing. For the human history exhibits, there is a little more leeway to pick-and-choose where to go and what to see, which unfortunately, can result in you missing out on some displays if you're not paying attention.

The main, ever-changing feature exhibit when we visited was the Photographer of the Year winners. Sadly, we saved this for the second half of the day and ended up running out of time (unable to read the details and captions to each photograph)! Nonetheless, it was incredible!

After the museum proper closed, we hit up the IMAX theater for a 1-hour show, which I would also highly recommend!

This is one of the must-see things in the greater Victoria area! Check it out!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith-B-Robinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,860
    1,170
    237
    29
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Everything is so well done here. From the regular exhibits to the special, we always have a great time. The IMAX is in the same building and worth going to also.

Helpful?
Thank Popoki_Iti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelowna, bc
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great to look around and take in some BC culture”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I always enjoy stopping by and seeing all the exhibits. This time they had photography displayed as their main exhibit. Great to look at, but seemed more like an art gallery. My only complaint was that the lighting was quite dim in the natural history part of the museum, so it was difficult to actually see some of the exhibits.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank emess480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“go here whenever i can!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

always bringing in new exhibits! the natural history portion is excellent as well!

Helpful?
Thank splintercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is a great place for kids to visit and learn. Unfortunatley it is so expensive I know many families who cannot afford to go because it is too much for them to pay out. I feel the museum should be free for all children so they learn first hand about their country. Adults do not mind paying. We used to take our kids regularly when it was free. and they had fun. The thing with museums children get bored after and hour so hard to pay out for this. re think entrance fees for more people to enjoy this museum

Helpful?
Thank AllyLorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyalBCMuseum, Manager at Royal BC Museum, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Thank you for being a long time supporter and for asking about free entrance for children. We would love to offer free museum admission for all youth (6 – 18) all the time, but we do offer what we can, while still generating the revenue that helps keep the museum operating. All children aged 5 and under, and children visiting as part of a therapeutic program, come to the museum free of charge. All youth in pre-booked School Groups from all over BC enjoy the museum’s permanent exhibitions free of charge as well (there is sometimes a small group fee for feature international exhibitions or for special docent-led school programs). We offer youth group discounts for pre-booked Kids Clubs, Brownies, Cubs, etc. We also have an Admission by Donation week in January each year, and hope to continue that “pay what you can” opportunity for visitors of all ages. And, if you know a family that belongs to the Greater Victoria Public Libraries, – and they are willing to wait a while – we have provided family passes that can be signed out for a week, via the library, at no charge. The hold list is very long, but for some families it’s still worth signing up.
Sue Stackhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal BC Museum also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Royal BC Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing