We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nothing changes”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal BC Museum

Royal BC Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$15.88*
and up
Royal BC Museum Entrance Ticket
Ranked #1 of 178 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step inside and experience British Columbia. Since 1886 the Royal BC Museum has preserved and shared the human and natural histories of this province. Discover the famous First Peoples, Natural History and Modern History Galleries – a feast of sights, smells and sounds of British Columbia. The Royal BC Museum is also home to a cultural precinct including the BC Archives, Helmcken House, St. Ann's Schoolhouse, the Netherlands Centennial Carillon, Thunderbird Park and Mungo Martin House/Wawadit’la.
Powell River, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“nothing changes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I had not gone to the museum for at least 20 years, I sort of thought that there would be some changes! But alas, nothing had changed at all, really maybe changing some of the exhibits once in a while would make people want to go more often

Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,733
    1,129
    231
    29
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
“Museum Photography Exhibit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Very interesting and worth the visit. A series of world-class photographs of wildlife and nature studies.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
170 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great for tourists and locals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We took our young grand-daughter to the Royal BC Museum. We hadn't been there for many years, and it was a delight to rediscover this great depository of our province's heritage. The third-floor history section is wonderful - a town, a mine, a sawmill, a cannery, with great walk-through effects. The native section is fascinating as well. Our only caveat: young children may be frightened by the real-size wooly mammoth! With the accompanying eerie music, it is pretty intimidating.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SophiagoestoItaly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Courtenay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Most See While in Victoria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

A great location to other attractions in Victoria. I've been going to the Museum for over 40 years and every time I go I see something new.
Very affordable for a family....

Helpful?
Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
265 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Photographer of the Year exhibit was on while I was there. I really enjoyed that as well as the native art exhibit. My only wish was that there was better lighting in the native art exhibit. You are allowed to take photos, but without a flash. None of the photos turned out unfortunately, because there wasn't enough light. I understand why they do that though, in order to preserve the artwork. Worth visiting.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Santorini Dreamin'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal BC Museum also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Royal BC Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing