We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel at Reasonable Rates”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
Ranked #26 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel at Reasonable Rates”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We spent one night here for a ball tournament and had a good experience. The staff were very friendly, pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean except for a few areas along the bottom of the bed frame and the beds were very comfortable. The pool was great along with the exercise room, laundry facilities and free parking. The only complaint is that the pub located at the hotel is fairly noisy at night especially with a live band playing. Kids were running around the hotel first thing in the morning but that is not the hotels fault - that is parents. Great location and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gunter2242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are indeed very popular with sports teams and athletes because of our hotel amenities, value and convenient location. I apologize if our housekeepers overlooked a few areas along the bottom of the bed frame. This is certainly not our routine standard and I will ensure that more careful attention is paid to these areas. In regards to our pub, it is an independent operation of the hotel and we do our best to work with the owners to minimize the noise disturbance to guests. However, that does not always prevent disruption. I sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Requesting a room away from the pub will ensure that regardless of the activities in the pub, you will not be disturbed and there are definitely areas of the hotel that are extremely quiet. We do our best to keep guests away from the pub area but that is a challenge when hotel occupancy is high. But rest assured that we treat all noise complaints seriously and the front desk are trained to notify the pub immediately when noise becomes an issue. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    339
    194
    61
    25
See reviews for
328
251
73
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodburn, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Margaret, @ the front desk was the BEST! Underpaid and overworked I imagine. We stayed there for 5 day 4 nights and our 4th night we added after our 1st day. The service was excellent she MADE our stay @ the hotel one to remember. We will be coming back. She hooked us up with Captain Harold and BC Whale tours, all we have to say is WOW!!! Excellent company and a tremendous boat. I have read reviews complaining about the pub on the 2nd floor being a nuisance we were about 10 doors down on the same floor with children and never had a problem, even on karaoke night! The view from our room on the 3rd floor on the east of the building is superb for what you pay. The water and lights of downtown, outstanding. I will say this is not a luxury hotel, the building is older and in need of some upgrades but for what you pay it is a steal. The pool was a little chilly, but the rooms clean and quite frankly were just like the pictures on the website. The bed coverings and sheets were very nice and the beds were very comfy. The wifi is superfast and any issues we had Magaret made it right ASAP. We will be staying here again, but only if our pal Margaret is there too!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jumpsuitelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. Your kind comments and feedback are much appreciated and I have ensured that we have shared this wonderful review with Margaret. We have sinced adjusted our pool temperature so that it is not chilly for future guests on future stays. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I am also pleased to see that you had a quiet stay. While there are occassions when our pub can disturb hotel guests, it is a rare occurence and only certain rooms adjacent to the pub are affected. The majority of the hotel as you have experienced is very quiet and peaceful. Margaret and the rest of our staff look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Our family spent a couple of days here in late March 2012 in what was a wonderful experience. We had asked for a room with a view of the water and were reminded that we would get that room upon arrival. The staff was very friendly and courteous and the gentlemen working the front desk answered all of our questions and accommodated our needs. The housekeepers were also incredibly helpful. The pool was well maintained and a great deal for the overall price of the room. The air conditioner was a bit noisy but not a deal breaker. Our only real complaint concerning the hotel was the bar located on the third floor. There was a group of drunk gentlemen standing outside of the laundry room that kept walking in and out of the bar. This ruined what was otherwise a great family environment in the hotel. We will be giving the hotel another try because of the great staff and service but the bar guests definitely need to be handled better and not be hanging around the rooms where families are staying.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srzos45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeVictoria, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thanks for taking time to write a review about our hotel. I am really happy that you had an enjoyable stay besides the noisy patrons from the bar. I will be talking with the owner of the bar about this incident. We pride ourselves on providing a great product for a reasonable price, and we are looking forward to the next time you stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
229 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012 via mobile

Whilst this is a perfectly fine budget motel about 25 mins walk from downtown Victoria our stay was ruined by the noise coming from the onsite pub until the early hours of the morning. Shouting, screaming and swearing from around 11pm until after 1am and then further noise from the car park before the culprits appeared to all drive home!

I was informed by the guy on the front desk the next morning that this is very rare. Fair enough, but it ruined our stay.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank blindlemonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeVictoria, Front Office Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this review, 28 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that the patrons of the Sports Lounge were creating noise the evening you were staying here. I will be having a discussion with the owner of the pub about this incident. I am glad that the rest of your stay was enjoyable, and I hope that you will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2012

My Girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel in May 2011 and it was a wonderful experience. The hotel is in a great location, and the room was bright and cheery. The staff was excellent, the room was cleaned daily, we had a kitchenette room it was very spacious. The bed was comfortable, we had free parking and since our room was on a side street it was quiet and the parking was right in front of our room. The wIfi worked perfectly and the location is just a short drive from down town and the waterfront. Also if you have a dog they have a beautiful dog park right across the street. I will be definitely be staying at this hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eipw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We pride ourselves on our nice rooms, and great people. It's the Travelodge brand promise and we take it seriously! That's why we are designated a Travelodge Quality Excellence property ranking us in the top 10% of all Travelodge properties in North America. Our dog park overlooks the Upper Harbour and is the perfect place for your best friend to run off leash! Thanks for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

I would not stay at this hotel again. The service was sub par and the staff was not even aware we were guests despite several times to the front desk to ask for towels, instructions to various venues etc...
I did like the location because it was close to where I needed to be but it was tough nights sleep. Bed quality was average and I am used to a higher standard.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nitem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and that your expectations were not met. We strive to ensure that each and every guest stay with us is satisfying and enjoyable. We find that most of our guests enjoy the quality and value they receive at our hotel and we are very proud of the standards that we maintain. All of our beds in the hotel are gradually being replaced with brand new mattresses to ensure a comfortable night's sleep for all of our guests. If you wish, I would be happy to address any specific issues you had and hopefully rectify them. Kindly please e-mail me at darryl@travelodgevictoria.com and it would be my pleasure to assist you. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and I'm sorry again that we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I have stayed here twice now and felt very safe and secure both times. The rooms were clean, the bar and restaurant staff very friendly, good food and good value for money.
Margaret that works the front desk is a gem. Very friendly, very helpful.
I had two pets with me and there is a dog park right across from the hotel which made it very convenient.
Lots of access to the Galloping Goose trail and easy access to town.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lchatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeVictoria, General Manager at Days Inn Victoria Uptown, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel a second time! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoy staying with us. Our hotel is indeed convenient for pet lovers with our dog park and convenient access to the Galloping Goose trail. Be sure to try our pet beds on your next visit! Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#46 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
James Bay
Days Inn - Victoria on the Harbour
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Victoria Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Victoria Uptown

Property: Days Inn Victoria Uptown
Address: 229 Gorge Rd E, Victoria, British Columbia V9A 1L1, Canada (Formerly Travelodge Victoria)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
#20 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Victoria Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden City is yours to explore at our Victoria, BC hotel Enjoy a beautiful seaside getaway and warm energy when you choose our Days Inn Victoria Uptown hotel. Located in the heart of scenic historic uptown Victoria, and minutes from the Inner Harbour area, our pet-friendly Victoria, BC hotel offers easy access to Victoria International Airport (YYJ), as well as our fair city's many delights. Add thoughtful amenities that include two on-site restaurants, free WiFi, well-appointed guest rooms, and warm hospitality, and your stay at our hotel in Victoria is assured of ultimate comfort. Enjoy free WiFi, an indoor pool, and two on-site dining options Among Victoria, BC hotels , ours is well-equipped with amenities that ensure satisfaction. Break a sweat in our fitness centre, swim a few laps in our indoor pool, and relax in our sauna. Our spacious guest rooms feature free WiFi, mini-refrigerator, 43-inch flat-screen TV, and coffee maker, and kitchenette suites are also available. We also offer a business center and airport transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Victoria Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Victoria Hotel Victoria
Travel Lodge Victoria
Victoria Travel Lodge
Victoria Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing