We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Victorian room with Classic High Tea”
Review of Tea at the Empress

Tea at the Empress
Reserve with OpenTable
Tea at the Empress is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #95 of 1,256 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$59 - US$90
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: A grand tradition for over a century, the world renowned Fairmont Empress has served England's most beloved ritual of afternoon tea to famed royalty, celebrities and dignitaries alike. Reinvigorated in our timeless, sophisticated Lobby Lounge, Tea at the Empress will continue this quintessentially Victoria experience. Home of the Empress cake, which showcases an extra special customized chocolate developed by our Executive Pastry Chef AJ Thalakkat and experts in France, Tea at the Empress is among the world's best unique tea experiences. To complement our house-made signature Empress scones, pastries, clotted creams and strawberry preserves with fresh lavender from our rooftop herb garden, are 21 of the finest loose leafs teas available. Featuring our original blend of The Empress Tea and the exceptionally rare Tong Mu Phoenix Lapsang Souchong blend, the tea list is completely ethically sourced and certified by the Ethical Tea Partnership. Tea at the Empress is an absolute must-do event in Victoria.
Reviewed October 12, 2017

Set in a lovely classical, Victorian dining area with columns throughout and lovely chandeliers, the waiter showed us the various teas from which we could select. We chose Rose Congou tea, Princess Diana’s favorite (which of course, did not influence our decision). Shortly, he delivered 2 tea warmers (a candle inside the base) and a “tea timer” consisting of 3 small hour glasses in a single device, 1 set for 3 minutes, 1 for 4 (this was perfect!) and the last, for 5 minutes. There were 4 kinds of sugar (1 was maple-flavored) to use. Soon after, another waiter arrived with a 3-tiered tea serving dish, noting we should start at the bottom tier--with the warm scones, clotted cream, and lavender-flavored berry jam—then move to the savories on the top level, and finally desserts on the 2nd tier. The tea and food was delicious, enhanced by the kind waiter and lovely ambiance.

1  Thank wwalleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, Director, Food and Beverage at Tea at the Empress, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are proud to offer our guests a unique and elegant experience in our renowned Lobby Lounge, overlooking Victoria's inner harbour. Our wide selection of loose leaf teas allows us to accommodate the preferences of all of our guests, along with the ability to steep each pot to the perfect level using our tea timers. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Jan-Peer Lehfeldt
Director, Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

94 - 98 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the experience, ambience, food, and tea! I was a little skeptic about the reviews and the associated cost, but I am glad I splurged. Each individual item had exceptional flavours! Service was also very professional.

Thank ABTraveler64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, Director, Food and Beverage at Tea at the Empress, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am delighted to hear that you entire experience was highly enjoyable. From the service that you received to our sweet and savoury delicacies, I am glad that we were able to create a very memorable occasion for you during your visit. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Jan-Peer Lehfeldt
Director, Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 9, 2017

If you want to experience a true formal tea I highly recommend the Empress. Yes, undoubtedly expensive but truly well worth it for a one time special occasion. The view looking out on the harbor is wonderful. The high ceilings and calm atmosphere of the room adds to the pleasure. The gentleman who was our server truly belonged in a tea room of this level. He was extremely knowledgeable and his serving style matched the elegance of the room. He took his time to explain each of the teas and then to make recommendations when we described what flavors we enjoy. We left there so relaxed and feeling that we had visited a little flavor of British history. The sandwiches were light and refreshing, the deserts decadent and the scones with jam and clotted cream can only be described as heavenly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julessssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, Director, Food and Beverage at Tea at the Empress, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am delighted to read that your Afternoon Tea experience was made to be very memorable, and that the service you received was attentive, informative and overall enjoyable. We are proud to offer our guests a stunning view of Victoria's inner harbour while enjoying this unique experience, and we hope that you will join us again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Jan-Peer Lehfeldt
Director, Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 8, 2017

If you have never experience a formal tea, this is the place to do it. It was "snack" food, but you leave full and happy.

Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, Director, Food and Beverage at Tea at the Empress, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

David,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your positive comments, and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,
Jan-Peer Lehfeldt
Director, Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2017

This is really "emperors new clothes". We've been to high tea in many places and while the hotel is lovely, $75 for a bag of tea and some dainty sandwiches is really something to miss. Real leaf tea is be expected... and available for an extra $15.00. REALLY. Pass on this one.

4  Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerEmpress, Director, Food and Beverage at Tea at the Empress, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Rick,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. The value of our Afternoon Tea is displayed through the quality of both our service and our offerings. All of our teas selections are loose leaf teas, and each bag is carefully measured out and made to order by our service team. I will share your comments with our teams, and we thank you for your valuable comments.

Sincerely,
Jan-Peer Lehfeldt
Director, Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tea at the Empress also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Tea at the Empress? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing