We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
D.O. Gibson

Great stay in Victoria!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 27, 2024
Outstanding stay at the Sandman Victoria!

Thank you to an amazing staff especially Anjali and Ore who were very friendly and helpful during check in and when I had any questions.

Rooms are beautiful. Pool is great. Location is top notch. Highly recommend.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$544
  • Expedia.com
    C$541
  • Agoda.com
    C$498
  • Hotels.com
    C$571
1.4 km from Sandman Hotel Victoria
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$389
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • travelup.com
    C$295
  • Priceline
    C$276
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$278
1.9 km from Sandman Hotel Victoria
Free Wifi
Pool
C$479
Fully refundable
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$479
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
2.1 km from Sandman Hotel Victoria
Free Wifi
Pool
C$427
  • Expedia.com
    C$427
  • Agoda.com
    C$346
  • Hotels.com
    C$427
1.3 km from Sandman Hotel Victoria
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$358
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$379
  • Agoda.com
    C$325
  • Expedia.com
    C$379
2.2 km from Sandman Hotel Victoria
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$459
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$410
  • Booking.com
    C$459
  • Priceline
    C$459
1.9 km from Sandman Hotel Victoria
Free Wifi
Pool
C$537
C$398
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$470
  • Hotels.com
    C$469
  • Priceline
    C$469
2.2 km from Sandman Hotel Victoria
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$388
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$388
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$360
  • Hotels.com
    C$388
3.6 km from Sandman Hotel Victoria
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Official Site
    C$511
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$415
  • Booking.com
    C$439
1.8 km from Sandman Hotel Victoria
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$556
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$527
  • Hotels.com
    C$584
5.5 km from Sandman Hotel Victoria
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Victoria
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
63
85
86
36
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
63
85
86
36
34
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 304 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2023

Accommodating our needs in so many ways:
-reinstating our reservation after my husband was hospitalized for an extended period
- a delightful basket of goodies waiting for us in room
- sparkling clean rooms
- bountiful breakfast included
-considerate and helpful staff

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank phyllismS1222GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amy Leonard, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2024

Thank you so much, Phyllis! We appreciate your feedback and absolutely love having you and your husband here! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thanks again, Amy Leonard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 1, 2023 via mobile

Do NOT stay here right now. Arrived to find out there is no restaurant/bar open right now even though they told me they would be open by now. TV didn’t work the entire time and internet didn’t work about 60% of the time. Front desk said they didn’t know why but that it happens quite regularly. I’ve stayed here in the past and it was fine but things seem to have fallen off a cliff…

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank BC_Cowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amy Leonard, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2023

Thank you so much for your review! I am so sorry your stay was not up to standards. Sadly there were delays on the restaurant opening that were beyond our control. However, I am happy to inform you that our restaurant and Lounge is now open. As for the TV, this has never happened before and our Cable provider came to fix the issue and TVs were up and running the next morning. I am so sorry for the inconvenience, if you are coming back to Victoria, I hope you do give us another try. Kind regards, Amy Leonard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2023

Extremely rude front desk staff over a tiny problem. Wife had a small medical problem, away from me, in the lobby, and they refused assistance. Have stayed at Sandman before at other locations and was good.

Room tip: 5 - 10 minutes from downtown, bus service 1/4 block away
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jdcookson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amy Leonard, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2023

Thank you for your review, I am so sorry to hear there was an issue at the front desk. I would love the opportunity to hear for about this. Kind regards, Amy Leonard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2023

We expected more from this hotel. It seems to be located in a really rough area of Victoria, walking back to the hotel past 9pm was really quite scary. I would suggest that this would not be a good place to stay for any lone traveller. We didn’t think that the room was particularly clean, especially when we found underwear that didn’t belong to any member of our party on the sideboard. When we called reception about this we got a particularly unhelpful response. The hotel seemed to come alive post 10pm when all that could be heard was screaming children and adults. As seasoned travellers none of us felt particularly safe staying here.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 753edithp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amy Leonard, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2023

I am so sorry to hear about your stay. We do have extra security working around the clock and happy to announce our restaurant and lounge is now open! I am extremely sorry your room was not up to standards and would love the opportunity to hear more. Kind regards, Amy Leonard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2023 via mobile

We stayed at Sandman Victoria for 3 nights as part of a touring holiday of Western Canada. It’s located handily for the City Centre although the immediate vicinity is somewhat run down. Previously on our tour, we had stayed at very poor accommodation at this same company’s hotel in Revelstoke. However, we were advised that a major refurbishment had been more or less completed of the Victoria Sandman after raising concerns regarding our previous hotel stay. The quality of the room was indeed a major improvement with new furnishings and quality decor. However we discovered that sandwiched between the two bed sheets a soiled/stained duvet had been used on our bed. Some of this appeared to be dried blood. After complaint the duvet was replaced with apologies. It is worth noting this hotel appears to be being used in part as temporary accommodation for homeless persons. Nothing wrong with trying to help the desperate and needy of Victoria, but this needs careful management to respect the comfort of all guests - particularly when rooms cost over 200 dollars a night. The room was booked through an agency and so little by way of compensation was offered or forthcoming.

Room tip: There are better located hotels to consider
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dave_Croft
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amy Leonard, General Manager at Sandman Hotel Victoria, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2023

Thank you Dave for your review, I am so sorry you stay was definitely not up to standards and we did take serious measures to make sure the Sandman Victoria was up to higher standards including having a new housekeeping manager that has made sure things like this will not happen again! If you do make it back to the Victoria we would love the opportunity to have you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews