We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
C$375
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Hotels.com
C$375
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
C$375
Breakfast included
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
303
12
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
303
12
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews government house craigdarroch castle gracious hosts second bedroom every morning b bs oak bay downtown victoria ross suite canada
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 319 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2019

My husband and I have been staying at Fairholme Manor for 18 years (or so) on our almost annual trips to Victoria - and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else. Even though the inn has been hosting guests for 20 years, it is as fresh as the day we first visited - thanks to the fastidious attention of its owners, Sylvia and Ross Main. The suites in the main house are grand - spacious with high ceilings, moldings, fireplaces, original wood flooring, luscious beds and bedding - everything you could want. The grounds are lovely too - with roses, fruit trees, expansive lawn - and it is just a stone's throw from the gardens of the Lieutenant Governor's House which are perfect for an after breakfast stroll. We actually prefer them over the Butchart Gardens.

Oh - and the breakfasts. They are amazing! Served in the inn's warm and elegant dining room, they always include fresh fruit, granola, pastry, and yogurt for starters and then you receive a plated entree of something really delicious - like a cheese souffle, eggs Benedict, salmon scramble - and the list goes on.

The inn is in the Rockland neighborhood - a bit distant from downtown attractions, but an easy 1 mile walk through a lovely neighborhood of old historic houses. Try it - I think you'll love it!

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WanderingP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 20, 2019

We stayed in room 2 with a Jacuzzi and king size bed. It is truly a place you want to stay and experience the gourmet breakfasts. Sylvia and Ross are amazing hosts. We will most certainly be back. Thanks for your hospitality

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Happy2019w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 11, 2019 via mobile

We have visited Victoria from our home in the US for many years. For about the last 20, we have stayed with Sylvia and Ross at the Fairholme Manor. It’s just the same now as it was the first time. Simply perfect. Sylvia’s breakfasts put local restaurants to shame. The house is beautiful, comfortable and impeccably clean. Who could want for more.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank fergiedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 8, 2019

The day before we were to travel to Victoria to stay, the weather became snowy and
dangerous and I phoned Sylvia to tell her we were not probably going to make the journey. She was wonderful about the cancellation and basically just gave us a credit for a couple of months until we could travel at another time to Victoria. How awesome.
We hated the idea of travelling through a snowstorm but we also didn't like the idea of losing our paid reservation and Sylvia was very understanding and accommodating. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Victoria, when the weather is calmer and the conditions less dangerous. Thank you, Sylvia!!

Room tip: We haven't stayed there yet, but because the owner was so forgiving because of the weather, I know we will enjoy our stay.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 27, 2018

This Victorian Manor is next door to government house in Victoria. The gardens at government house were beautiful to walk in. We stayed in the king suite with a garden view. The room was bright and very large. The inn is hidden away and there is lots of parking. Sylvia and Ross were great hosts. The location is very quiet and safe. We walked in the evening to the strip mall and it’s all residential so with the various kinds of houses it made the walk interesting. To downtown from there is an easy drive. If you are catching the ferry to the USA it’s a five minute drive. Breakfasts were delicious and I would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jengled
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews