We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (333)
Filter reviews
333 results
Traveller rating
312
17
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
17
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silk road alexandria room other guests persia room multi course every morning amazing hosts beautiful neighborhood the penthouse bed and breakfast government house craigdarroch castle b bs jetted tub romantic getaway our honeymoon breakfast was delicious
Filter
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 333 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2016

We stayed at the Villa for only one night but we wish we could have spent many more.
The charming hosts greeted us at the door and showed us all around the beautiful estate, Our stay was fantastic! The decor, furnishings and everything else was just
unbelievable! Five course breakfast was something that I had never tasted before.
My mouth still waters just thinking of it.

Go, Visit the Villa Marco Polo; it is an experience that you will never forget.

Room tip: Take your time, they are all beautiful.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Doug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2016

Our stay at the Villa Marco Polo was truly lovely in every way.

My wife surprised me for my birthday with a weekend getaway to Victoria and the Villa Marco Polo was her choice. It was idyllic.

We stayed in the Silk Road Suite and we absolutely loved it. A big, beautiful, king-sized bed next to the wood-burning fireplace was so warm, soft, and inviting that we never wanted to leave it. The suite had lots of room to spread out to read, write, cozy up by the fire. The bathroom contained a soaker tub with jets and was spacious with great quality toiletries. We could not have been happier with it. And we were there on a particularly rainy weekend, so the fireplace and soaker tub were well-used and greatly appreciated.

The rest of the Villa was GORGEOUS, as well. A very Italianate feel throughout. We made use of the public spaces indoors, such as the library, tea/coffee room. A nice assortment of newspapers, books, and magazines were available to us. We were greeted upon arrival by a very lovely host who served us tea and guided us through the highlights of Victoria and the Villa Marco Polo. The location of the Villa was a very pleasant 15 minute walk from Downtown and Antiques Row, which was ideal. Lots of good food in the area, too.

Our daily breakfasts were scrumptious. Fresh fruit and yogurt, beautiful egg creations, and very surprising mail courses. Every breakfast was unique and delicious.

We highly recommend this location for couples on getaways, as it is quiet and romantic place to connect and relax.

Room tip: We stayed in the suite on the main floor, but the noise was minimal and rarely ever heard anything.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 21, 2015

Victoria is a charming city full of wonderful places to stay and we have tried a few - but nothing could top the Villa Marco Polo Inn, a gorgeous mansion in a central but still quiet part of the city. Each of the unique rooms has many special features and the overall ambiance is warm, elegant and extremely comfortable. Our fabulous hosts, Alex and Diana, cook a 5-course breakfast with everything made from scratch which is served in different areas of the house, depending on the number of guests in residence at the time. Being here during cold, rainy December, we appreciated the fireplaces in most of the rooms and big basket of slippers and umbrellas by the front door. Despite the weather, we enjoyed the 15 minute walk to the oceanfront so watch the waves crashing. It was a perfect weekend in every way!

Room tip: The Silk Road Room is the only room on the main floor and was extremely quiet and spacious.
Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank druryperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2015

The Inn is in a beautifully converted and maintained grand old home in a quiet residential neighborhood of Victoria. It is convenient for downtown, the harbor and local tourist attractions while being far enough away to avoid the crowds and the usual tourist mess. It is also close to Oak Bay Village which has some great restaurants and a pretty water front and marina. The breakfast is amazing - I don't think I've ever stayed in a B&B that presents a home prepared 4-course gourmet breakfast every morning! Our room, "Persia" overlooking the back garden was spacious and comfortable with a massive bathroom. The Villa Marco Polo isn't inexpensive, but it's worth every penny!!

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank bdsaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2015

Diana and Alex are warm and welcoming. The Inn is just beautiful and set in such a lovely neighborhood. The grounds are amazing. Breakfast was a five course event! Our room was perfect in every way! We LOVED everything about this place!

Room tip: Our room was perfect, don't think any of the rooms are less than perfect!
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews