We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good Value for Money”
Review of Arbutus Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arbutus Inn
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at the Arbutus Inn on short notice after we decided to stay a couple extra days while on holidays in Victoria. At the height of the tourist season we were happy to find a reasonably priced hotel that was clean and decently located. This hotel I believe was previously a Travellers Inn and happens to be the first hotel owned by the National Car rental chain. I believe that they have made some positive improvements at the hotel with some effort to modernize the rooms.

The room was a bit small, but clean. The one bad experience we had was one morning the cleaning staff walked into our room without knocked or making his presence known. I made mention to the front desk staff and they half-heartedly apologized and made some excuse that it was a "mix-up". I would suggest putting up the "do not disturb" sign to anyone staying there.

Despite the cleaning staff faux-pas, I would definitely stay again faced with budgetary constraints.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cootfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

205 - 211 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2011

Rooms in the upper floors have new beds and have good space.
Those in the lower floor are not the case.

There is no restaurant bit several arround the motel.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enrique W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We were worried at first when we found that this place we had booked online with one of the lowest prices in town was over 20 blocks from the city. It was a moderate hike on a Saturday evening into a lower end of town but it seemed safe enough. We arrived to find an older property but with new signs and name. The agent at checkin was helpful and friendly and we were happy to find we were put on the top floor since the night before at a different hotel we spent a sleepless night due to thin ceilings above us.
We found our room to be very quiet all night long. We didn't hear a thing. The mattresses and TV were new. The bathroom and AC need to be updated as well. The AC functioned but was weak, probably low on coolant. It served our purpose but would be willing to pay a little more to be closer into the city at a slightly nicer place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmodemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I stayed for 12 days and found it to be excellent value. It is very quiet, very clean and very inexpensive. I will definately stay here again when in Victoria.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cory235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My experiance was made very comforting and enjoyable by the staff at the Arbutus Inn
They were very attentive and made sure i was most comfortable and satified with my room .
i had a realy good rest , the beds were super comfy
thanks again
Tony Johnson

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RohanJohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I had a great sleep - it was clean, quiet and had wonderful bedding (comfortable bed and duvets). The staff was extremely helpful and the advice I got was helpful in finding an apartment for my son while he is at university. I will definitely stay again when I come back!

Room Tip: I asked for a newly painted room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhohner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Our stay here was FABULOUS! The staff was excellent and very nice. We had stayed here once before, but when the hotel was known as Traveler's Inn. I have to tell you that the hotel is 100% cleaner and has a 'fresh' look to it. New beds are so comfortable, there is new carpets and paint. The manager was very, very friendly and gave us an awesome walk-in rate! We will definitely return to the Arbutus Inn when we come back to Victoria. :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knutson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#25 of 46 in Victoria
980 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#44 of 46 in Victoria
825 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 46 in Victoria
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capital City Center Hotel
#29 of 46 in Victoria
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Inn

Address: 2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn Central)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $83 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arbutus Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arbutus Inn is located in Victoria, British Columbia and offers 52 guest rooms. All guest rooms are non smoking and have private bath, air conditioning and in room coffee/tea. Free parking and free hotel WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Arbutus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing