We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute and comfy”
Review of Arbutus Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Arbutus Inn
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“cute and comfy”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

I stayed here last week when the Malahat was closed. The room was so cute and really comfy! Super modern with a flat screen TV and the bedding was really high end. The front desk were really helpful and the free parking and free WIFI was a plus! I would stay here again for sure especially when I come back for Christmas shopping in Victoria!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MissBCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    58
    44
    15
    7
See reviews for
58
62
30
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quesnel, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We will always stay at this hotel when we go to Victoria. Great service, comfy beds, FLAT SCREENS!!!!! What more could you ask? Very friendly staff and well-managed there is always someone at the front desk to help you. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Knutson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Hello Vacationers,

We want to share our nice experiece of our stay at this location. We went to Victoria for a recreational trip. We were not sure where to stay as this was our first trip to West. We landed in Victoria and read the nice advertisement about Manager's special and monthly rates.

I called and at the other end nice voice of Anne greated me. I asked about the monthly rate and she offered me a rate that was reasonable and well within our means. The suite offered to us was wonderful with a King size and double bed. The suite was well equipped with all the amenities and clean. Every thing provided was well maintained.

Front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful. Any time you need help for something, it is at your door in a minute.

The house keeping staff is neat and clean and do beautiful clean up job.

All employees at this location are polite, helpful and cheerful

Claudio, Manager, at this location deserves special appreciation. He is a cheerful and helpful. Nice servive compelled us to overstay. The six week period just flew beauifully.

We strongly recommend this place a " Nice home away from home"

Good luck to all employees at this location.

Ram and Nilima Kaushal
London, ON

Room Tip: All rooms at this location are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2011

The rooms are very nice.The beds are very comfortable...The manager was very helpful in our directions..We got a very good deal for the price that we paid...I would really highly recomend it anyone..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatiana602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed at the Arbutus Inn on short notice after we decided to stay a couple extra days while on holidays in Victoria. At the height of the tourist season we were happy to find a reasonably priced hotel that was clean and decently located. This hotel I believe was previously a Travellers Inn and happens to be the first hotel owned by the National Car rental chain. I believe that they have made some positive improvements at the hotel with some effort to modernize the rooms.

The room was a bit small, but clean. The one bad experience we had was one morning the cleaning staff walked into our room without knocked or making his presence known. I made mention to the front desk staff and they half-heartedly apologized and made some excuse that it was a "mix-up". I would suggest putting up the "do not disturb" sign to anyone staying there.

Despite the cleaning staff faux-pas, I would definitely stay again faced with budgetary constraints.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cootfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Rooms in the upper floors have new beds and have good space.
Those in the lower floor are not the case.

There is no restaurant bit several arround the motel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewaizel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

We were worried at first when we found that this place we had booked online with one of the lowest prices in town was over 20 blocks from the city. It was a moderate hike on a Saturday evening into a lower end of town but it seemed safe enough. We arrived to find an older property but with new signs and name. The agent at checkin was helpful and friendly and we were happy to find we were put on the top floor since the night before at a different hotel we spent a sleepless night due to thin ceilings above us.
We found our room to be very quiet all night long. We didn't hear a thing. The mattresses and TV were new. The bathroom and AC need to be updated as well. The AC functioned but was weak, probably low on coolant. It served our purpose but would be willing to pay a little more to be closer into the city at a slightly nicer place.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmodemd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#26 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#46 of 52 in Victoria
3.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capital City Center Hotel
#30 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Inn

Property: Arbutus Inn
Address: 2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn Central)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Victoria
#21 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Arbutus Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arbutus Inn is located in Victoria, British Columbia and offers 52 guest rooms. All guest rooms are non smoking and have private bath, air conditioning and in room coffee/tea. Free parking and free hotel WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Arbutus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing