We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, and close to Downtown”
Review of Arbutus Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Arbutus Inn
Ranked #35 of 46 Hotels in Victoria
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Arbutus Inn is close enough to walk downtown every day, but conveniently offers free parking anyway. It's also near several restaurants. Friendly staff. Rooms are clean, and include a mini-fridge and microwave. The new beds are very comfortable and the newly renovated 4-piece bathrooms are terrific.

Room Tip: Ask about the newly renovated 4-piece bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2017

Dear Brandon W.
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you had a comfortable stay in our newly renovated room. We hope you had a great visit to Victoria and look forward to having you as a guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 31 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017

The Arbutus Inn has many makings of a great place to stay inspite of its location, but the general maintenance is lacking in consistency. It made a great first impression. The bed was very comfortable with nice sheets.
But there was hair left behind and dust on unused coat hangers. The pillows smelled of body odour. I asked the mature lady in charge to see to it, and she graciously complied. The young staff sat around too often while the hallway always needed some loving care.
In all we think there is a management problem.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank vlastovka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2017

Dear Vlastovka,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvior. I am glad to know that you had a wonderful time in Victoria and the staff was accommodating to your request.
Many of our housekeeping staff have worked at the Arbutus Inn for many years and take a lot of pride in the work they do for each of our guests and visitors. We will use your review to improve. We thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2016

This is a clean , friendly , well run hotel., It is a short walk to downtown and all amenity's are close by. I found the staff both thoughtful and helpful. i had just moved from Ontario and the transition was smooth and easy, Excellent value and a great stay!!!...William Morkin

Room Tip: Monthly rate is excellent value. Great place to stay if your planning a move to '' VIC'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank williammorkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Hello William,
Thank you for the review and kind words on Tripadvisor. It was great to have you as a guest in the hotel. The staff and I really enjoyed taking to you getting to know you and to talk to you. All the best in your new place here in Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016

We booked two rooms on the phone and it was more or less what we expected.We were at the far end on the lower level and the one room was quite large with a comfortable king size bed and the other was a fair bit smaller with all the same furniture so it was kind of cramped. The bathrooms were huge with a nice sized bath and separate large shower. I think they had been recently renovated. Our room was quiet but had a view of a large rental truck as they are also a rental place. The second room was noisier as it was on the parking lot side. No elavator but it is only a two storey. No on site restaurant but several close by. Overall a solid three and well priced. We would stay there again. Check out Spoons across the street for a retro diner experience.

Stayed: October 2016
Thank gord r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

Hello Gord R,
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read that you and your group enjoyed your stay at the Arbutus Inn. Also great you mention the tip of Spoons across the street. The feedback of guest going there usually always very positive and the value is also great. We look forward to seeing you as a guest again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

I booked a room for a few nights. At the time of booking went smoothly accept I left my credit card behind. But the lady express VISA DEBIT was acceptable it would take about five business days to return the deposit to the account. I was okay with this and used it. after 5 business days and no money returned, I called to follow up. A gentleman answered and said there was a sign and it will take 5-6 weeks for the money to be returned. I explained, I never did see this sign and would be good to go over those rules properly before taking the card. He assured me at that money always gets returned. I asked him well what happens if it doesn't? He said he is "just employee and cannot help" then he hung up without curiosity to say goodbye.
5 Weeks later I called back, get the same gentleman. Told him I still have not received the money. This time he looked me up on the system and told me on the phone. Yes the money was returned and it is my banks issue. I go to my bank and they said no, there is nothing they can do expect for an investigation. I called a 3 time, and spoke to a lady who actually reviewed my account and she said, "oh yes we do owe you money. please come in for the refund."
I go to the counter and there was the gentleman I didn't want to assume it was the same person I was speaking to but when I started to explain the situation, he said, I am just an employee, nothing I can do.

I rarely write reviews and when I do it is usually positive but this "employee" left a sour taste in my mouth. I will never stay there again. And this "Sign" he said there was, was on the very end of the counter covered by other general reading material. not easily seeable for anyone booking their stay.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jackie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Hello Jackie E.
Thank you for your feedback. We am so sorry to ready the troubles you had in getting back your deposit. Usually there is never a problem with the return of any deposit. The Visa Debit card refunds sometime do take a long time once we release the funds and we do mention this at check in and also with the notice posted at the front desk.
When we looked into why the refund was not done for you we eventually figured out that your name was not on the reservation. Your name only came up on a side note in the Expedia reservation that you were going to be paying for the deposit. It would not show up on the actual room folio when staff would try and locate it. That was part of the reason the staff was having issues with trying to find your reservation because your name was not the actual name on the reservation. The details of a reservations from Expedia given to us are limited and these details go right into our reservation system and then we assign a room to the room type you selected. In the end I am very glad to see that you did get back your refund and I hope that your guest still managed to have a great time while in Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Way cheaper than most in Victoria. Pretty close to downtown. Rooms are clean but stuffy. The air conditioner helped. No bugs or pests. Close to a lot of good restaurants. Staff was friendly and helpful but the hotel had few amenities. I gave a three because it's just ok, nothing other than the price made me think good or great.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Warren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Hello Warren K
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor....We appreciate your feedback.
Thank you again and we hope you enjoyed your time in Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

The bed was great king awesome.. the staff was non existent...no place in hotel where to get a coffee just a kettle and an instant coffee yuks! the air conditioner was rambling like a russian plane...I tried to open the window but being ground floor I had to close it -didn't want any over night "guest"

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArbutusInn, Manager at Arbutus Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2016

Hello Alina P,
Thank you for your feedback. We do have staff on the front desk 24 hours a day. Perhaps at the time you came to the desk the staff were helping out another guest at the time with luggage or even assistance to their room. Thank you for staying with us and we do appreciate your feedback. All the best in your travels and we hope you enjoyed your time in Victoria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Days Inn Victoria Uptown
#25 of 46 in Victoria
981 reviews
Burnside
Ramada Victoria
Ramada Victoria
#44 of 46 in Victoria
826 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#37 of 46 in Victoria
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capital City Center Hotel
#29 of 46 in Victoria
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arbutus Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbutus Inn

Address: 2898 Douglas St, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M9, Canada (Formerly Travellers Inn Central)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > Burnside
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range: $83 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arbutus Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arbutus Inn is located in Victoria, British Columbia and offers 52 guest rooms. All guest rooms are non smoking and have private bath, air conditioning and in room coffee/tea. Free parking and free hotel WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Arbutus Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arbutus Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Victoria
Travellers Hotel Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing