We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid food, nice space”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jam Cafe

Jam Cafe
Ranked #1 of 89 Coffee & Tea in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Newly opened breakfast and lunch restaurant in Victoria, B.C.
Victoria, B.C.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Solid food, nice space”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We've been to Jam about 5 times now. The whole family likes it but since I don't eat meat there are limited options on the menu so I tend to order "sides". Jam has some great attributes (good food, pleasant service, nice decor) so I will no doubt return but one or two more menu choices that wouldn't require a special request to "leave off the meat" would be appreciated...please and thank you.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NativeVictorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    121
    31
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

Our son took us to this Cafe this September. The Food is utterly delicious. Would definitely go back there again. We had the delicious Angry Chicken meal (boiled egg in the center of a meatloaf) - excellent flavour. The waitress was wonderful and the atmosphere laid back and friendly. Wonderful Cafe. I can't comment on reservations, etc. as we were only visiting for a short time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing pancakes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We went there to have pancakes for breakfast and we couldn't have asked for anything better: the pancakes were so tasty and the coffee was so good, it made an ideal start to our day. The place itself is very nice and the girls are cool and friendly. Definitely recommended if you're looking for genuine pancakes!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Goona14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Food Five Stars Service Two”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

The food was wonderful. Another restaurant to put on our "return whenever possible" list, at least in terms of the food. Unfortunately, the service wasn't equal to the food, I think because most of the clientele was half our age. Our waitress was quite willing to smile at and chat up those her own age, particularly males, but I think she was trying to discourage those over 30 from returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2HappyKampers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Amazing! I had pork in my drink and my pancakes.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

I just tried Jam for the first time after hearing good things, and it completely delivered. Started off with a caesar, which was solid and garnished with pickled asparagus and a maple bacon strip, super delicious, wife and I ended up having three of those each. Love a place that enables socially acceptable morning drinking.

Then I ordered pulled pork pancakes, because I love savoury breakfast dishes. Was initially disappointed with the amount of pulled pork (one solid scoop on top), until I realized that between the two pancakes there was ANOTHER FAT LAYER OF PULLED PORK. The jalapeno sour cream served with it was insanely good as well, cool yet bursting with spicy flavour, really inspired. Wife ordered the Charlie bowl, which is basically a massive bowl of potato cheese hash with southern style gravy and other good stuff. She couldn't finish it, recommended if you like big portions. Friend ordered the huevos, which also looked really good. I'm not sure there is a bad dish on the menu.

We went on a Thursday, didn't have to wait for a table, I'm sure there are waits on weekends because there are lines everywhere in Vic for weekend brunch, but totally worth it. Probably fairly affordable too if you don't order 6 cocktails with breakfast. Enjoy!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moray66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jam Cafe also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Jam Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing