We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learned a lot, beautiful artwork”

Robert Bateman Centre
Ranked #16 of 188 things to do in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Legendary Canadian artist and naturalist Robert Bateman has spent a lifetime painting the natural world and animals from all over the world. Come explore seven decades of his inspiring work in our gallery, and experience nature's beautiful animals up close. Our new temporary gallery space shows an ever-changing variety of exhibits, so there is always something new to explore! At the Robert Bateman Gallery Shop you will find a selection of Robert Bateman's books, prints and gifts, along with art by local artists.
Reviewed 28 June 2015

Honestly, as someone who isn't much into art and as an ignorant American, I hadn't heard of Mr Bateman until the previous night. This gallery starts you off with a video of Mr Bateman himself explaining some of the method behind his art. I found that informative and not dry or pompous. It was very well done. Throughout the gallery there are numerous paints, spanning from the 1950s until nowadays. Most are nature, but some are people and the visitor can observe how Mr Bateman's craft and subject matter have evolved through the years. There's a special exhibit now about Mr Bateman and Bristol Foster's Land Rover trip all around the world. Many photographs, film footage, summaries and paintings illustrate this impressive feat. From the Orang Asli of Malaysia to glaciers in Uganda, it looks like an incredible journey. I had the pleasure of seeing the Land Rover itself and coincidentally, Mr Bateman's friend Bristol Foster was there. I recommend this for anyone into art, be it art history, theory or practice. You're bound to learn something.

Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
There are newer reviews for Robert Bateman Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 280 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2015

Absolutely loved it! Beautifully displayed history of Bateman's life and art. Great use of modern technology. I loved the Rover Boys exhibition.

Thank 381rosemary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2015

I knew I wanted to see this gallery as soon as I heard it was open about 2 years ago. I wasn't disappointed! Loved seeing original pieces as well as prints and different media Robert has used over the years. It was a bonus to be there for the special exhibit of his 'round the world' trip he did when he was a very young man.

Thank Lorna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

I already liked his artwork, but he had quite an interesting early life traveling the world. If you aren't into art, you may consider it a waste of money. If you like art and Bateman, you'll really enjoy.

Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bateman F, Manager at Robert Bateman Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2015

Hello Sandra
Glad you got to see the Rover Boys exhibit - it certainly gives a good look at an incredible adventure that has influenced Robert Bateman's life work.
Thank you for visiting from Arizona and for taking the time to write us a review.
Aimee Ippersiel - Managing Director, The Robert Bateman Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

A great gallery to show off a lot of Robert Bateman's work. It was interesting seeing some different styles of his work captured over a period of time.

Thank Jdabroad56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bateman F, General Manager at Robert Bateman Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2015

Hello John
Many people know Robert Bateman for the style that made him famous, and not for the impressionist work that came before. We are fortunate to be able to show 7 decades of work in one place.
Thank you for the visit and for taking the time to give us a review.
Aimee Ippersiel
Managing Director - The Robert Bateman Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robert Bateman Centre also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Robert Bateman Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing