We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty weird!”

Little Jumbo Restaurant and Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Little Jumbo Restaurant and Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 1,289 Restaurants in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$26
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We focus on exceptional customer experience through providing fresh fine food (international), a deep wine and spirits list, and exceptional cocktails. Knowledgeable service staff will impress and guide your experience. Often described as a 'hidden gem', look for the neon purple elephant on lower Fort St. near Wharf St. in Victoria's 'Old Town'. We are 'down the hall'.
Reviewed September 16, 2018

This place is hard to find but I recommend visiting, at least once. A bit pricey though. You will need an extensive palate

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 280 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2018

My wife and I had a nice meal at Little Jumbo during our visit to Victoria in August. The atmosphere is cozy and inviting. The waitress was among the best - ready to discuss oysters or craft gins, knowledgable and quick-witted. The food was good (though the oysters are certainly small), but not exceptional. We did have a gin&tonic each and some wine by the glass. The final bill (including a decent tip) surprised us: $180 US. This is substantially more than we paid for other good meals in Victoria.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank PeterBrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2018

We went here after a movie and found it really hopping, and busy. The staff are very friendly and the bar tender is superb.

Their cocktail list is not long but they have some wonderful unique ones and we both loved what we chose. Along with some Fries and Parmesan with truffle mayo....ahhh the perfect finish to a great day!!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cucina58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018

We came here as a family of 3 with a ten year old with a coupple of friends from out of town and had a fantastic meal here! We started with some delicious cocktails from a menu that was actually entertaining to read! We each had different ones to start ranging from the exotic "Wakanda Forever" to the "Share Pojnt Break" (with the latter being the favourite and a few more being ordered). Dinner was fantastic - starting off with oysters on the half shell as well as the truffle fries - YUM! We all had different main courses - duck was a treat as were the risotto and the flatiron steak and frites. Luckily we did leave room for dessert and left full and satisfied!

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mchmackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018

Obviously caters to the late night crowd. Only SEVEN Main dishes on menu and of course they were out of what we wanted to order. Duck was overdone, really for $35. Waitress did not ask how the steak was to be cooked. Two thin, charred pieces of baguette served with the clams.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Beentheredonethatbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Intrepid2010, Owner at Little Jumbo Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

We encourage prospective guests to view our seasonal menu on-line.as the selection is broad and generally gets rave reviews.. Thank you for your feedback, we will make sure there is a check-in on steak in the future, generally we default to med-rare if guests do not
make a request as this optimizes taste and tenderness.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Jumbo Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Little Jumbo Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing