We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“has microwave and dining tools in room”
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Victoria
Ranked #44 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Davis, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“has microwave and dining tools in room”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

pros: free wifi free breakfast. free parking. microwave and dining tools in room. 5 min drive to downtown.
cons: small room, old and uncomfy bed.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lililne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J B, Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Super 8 Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    81
    117
    63
    58
See reviews for
118
103
25
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Campbell River
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2011

This was a really good Super 8.
Hugh at check in was very pleasant and helpful. Our room was very nice, clean and spacious. Jackie at check out was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was more than expected. The location was great for getting around Victoria. Overall a very good place to stay. I will go back. Thank you Hugh and Jackie.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barb99835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J B, Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Super 8 Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manukau, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

I chose Super8 because it was the cheapest place I could find near the downtown area.
I also has FREE breakfast, which is cereal, toast and bakery items. Also your juice, and hot drinks.
There is a heap of parking, which is shared with the pub and bottleshop all part of the same building.
I thought the outside looked really good, and the lobby looked nice too. The room I stayed in was a small room with a TV. It did look dated, but not dirty. The bathroom had all we needed.
If you're on a budget, you really can't beat this place. It's also across the road from ABC Country restaurant and a block or two from Dennys, so you can get a cheap dinner too.
It's also walking distance from Sharkys bar, and the Pallmall shopping centre. Bus stop right outside, and maybe a 5 - 10 minute ride into the downtown.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CookieM0nster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J B, Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
We appreciate your review and for staying with us at the Super 8 Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Rupert, BC
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2010

We needed a place for 4 nights over Christmas in Victoria. The Super 8 turned out to be a very good deal for us. On check-in the receptionist noticed we had a lot of luggage so she upgraded our room to a suite at no cost. The hallways and room were recently renovated. We received free breakfast, free WiFi, free local phone calls and free parking. There is a restaurant in the hotel, and although it closes at 3:00 pm there is an ABC Restaurant across the street and Golden Arches. There is a liquor store in back of the building. The room was clean and comfortable, and there was coin laundry available in the hotel. What more could one ask for $252 for 4 nights, including tax.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J B, Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
thank you for your review and for staying with us at the Super 8 Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

My husband and I were traveling to beautiful Victoria for the first time. We opted for a more moderate priced hotel since we would be spending all day out sight seeing and not in the room. This hotel is a couple of miles away from downtown Victoria, a pretty easy drive. The hotel itself is not attractive from the outside. In fact it's right next to some kind of industrial plant. Immediately walking in it felt old and dirty. Dark walls, dark carpet. This woman who checked us in was very nice and helpful with directions and recommendations for restaurants etc. Our room was on the third floor so we had to take what I named later the "elevator of death!" It was small, there was just my husband and me and two small suitcases and we barely fit. It squeaked and bumped the whole three floors and did a drop when the doors finally opened. The room was actually not bad, it had a small kitchenette with a sink, microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker. There was a queen size bed that was comfortable enough. The bathroom was fine although if you wanted to use the sink you had to shut the door since it opened right into it. My biggest surprise and complaint came that evening when we were getting ready for bed. Our room being on the third floor we had a view of a the tops of buildings and offices in a seedy looking industrial area. The view to our left was other rooms in the hotel. I reached out and grabbed the curtains to close them to change for bed and they did not move. I thought maybe they were caught or broke, no they were unable to close because they were only a yard wide. They were strictly for looks! There was no way to block out they guests from the other rooms looking in or to block out the sun coming up in the morning.....are you kidding me?? I have never seen that in a hotel. I figured there was no reason to complain , what were they gonna do, make new curtains and hang them for us? After touring downtown Victoria we decided if we ever make a trip back there again we will stay at one of the hotels on the harbor. Much nicer and a much better view.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Patty567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J B, Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Victoria hotels

YYZ
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Halfway between airport and harbour, the location worked for us. We got a great nightly rate and the room was sufficient for the price. Free continental breakfast and lots of free parking. No frills, not luxurious, needs updating - but for the price it's fine.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighStandardsYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J B, Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
Thank you for your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

My husband & I stay here frequently (twice a year for the past several years) because it is close to the seniors' retirement residence where his mother lives. There are several hotels and motels in the area but we see no reason to seek other accommodation. The rooms here are clean, comfortable and well-lit. The rates, especially in the winter, are very good. The complimentary continental breakfast is perfectly adequate - juices, coffee/tea, fresh fruits, cereals, toast, and a nice assortment of baked items. On our most recent visit, we had problems with the toilet and reported it in the morning. By the time we returned from our days' activities, it had been fixed.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sicamous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J B, Manager at Hotel Victoria, responded to this review, 22 May 2015
Thank you for staying with us at the Super 8 Victoria. We appreciate your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Burnside
Arbutus Inn
Arbutus Inn
#36 of 49 in Victoria
219 reviews
Burnside
Sandman Hotel Victoria
Sandman Hotel Victoria
#41 of 49 in Victoria
179 reviews
Burnside
Howard Johnson Hotel Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capital City Center Hotel
#29 of 49 in Victoria
241 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites
#39 of 49 in Victoria
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Property: Hotel Victoria
Address: 2915 Douglas St | 2 Blocks East Of Hillside On Douglas, Victoria, British Columbia V8T 4M8, Canada (Formerly Super 8 Victoria BC)
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 49 Hotels in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Victoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Victoria Hotel Victoria
Super Eight Victoria
Victoria Super 8
Victoria Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing