We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, charming, welcoming B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Victoria
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 92 Victoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2017

The first thing we noticed upon arrival were the beautiful flowers and lovely landscaping. We were greeted warmly by Fernando, who gave us recommendations on restaurants and places to go. The living room was a great gathering place. Fernando's artwork graced the rooms. We stayed in the Queen's Terrace room, which had an Elizabethan theme with a lovely outdoor terrace. Breakfast was like visiting an art museum. Each dish was a work of art and really delicious. The conversations around the breakfast table were a highlight of the stay. We met people from Wales, Paris, Idaho, Toronto, Chicago, and California. The location of the B&B was ideal. It was an easy walk to the inner harbor and many restaurants and attractions.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are good. Some larger than others. Ours was fine for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

The house is beautifully decorated, some of the art is Fernando's own creation. The flowers in the gardens are exquisite. Each room is uniquely decorated for the artist or author for which it is named. The general decor is both classical and whimsical. Breakfast was delicious and the presentation was extraordinary. The location is convenient to all important attractions. Fernando and Don are exceptionally warm and accommodating and have an endearing sense of humor.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BridgetOzzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

This is a bed and breakfast that invites you to linger. When we checked in, our host Fernando, told us to visit the gardens. What the other host, Don has done with a small piece of land is to create an oasis. You will want to leave to walk through Victoria, but you will also linger. Fernando contributes a range of art work, mostly clay sculptures that will surprise you in different locations, including some nice surprises in the garden. This is a large house, and they have two sittings for breakfast. The nice part is that you will likely meet some interesting people. The breakfast setting was the most formal that we encountered during our visit. The breakfast was almost exactly the same as our breakfast at The Beacon Inn in Sidney - a blueberry puff - and about the same size. It was sufficient, but will not carry you through lunch. Nor is this is not a breakfast for lingering. It was the only time we were asked to leave the table. However, we could take our coffee to another room. Add the gardens, the art and the large room, and this is a very pleased place for a night.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank COBWEBAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2017

We stayed for 4 nights in the Michelangelo Room. Don and Fernando were attentive and helpful and we had a really good time in Victoria. The house is a testament to their love of Victoriana. The gardens are packed full of beautiful flowers and shrubs and quiet seating areas. The breakfast experience is unique with 2 sittings at 8am and 9am precisely. It is a gourmet presentation with food that many may find quite rich for their first meal of the day. All in all a unique experience.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckdenbursar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2017

Canada enjoys a long weekend on the occasion of Victoria Day (last Monday before May 25), observed in the honour of Queen Victoria’s birthday. And our daughter meticulously planned a trip to Victoria, the capital of beautiful British Columbia during that long weekend.

Leaving home a little after 6.00 AM and on availing a combination of transits by bus-metro-bus, we were in time to board the vessel, operated by BC Ferry, departing at 8.00 AM from Tsawwassen jetty in mainland Canada for Swartz Bay in Vancouver Island. We boarded a double-decker bus from Swartz Bay and Vancouver Island delighted us with its bountiful nature of pristine lakes, lush green forests & meadows, seashores and gorgeous range of Olympus Mountains just across the sea. Our bus meandered through small towns with beautiful neighbourhoods and finally brought us to downtown Victoria next to majestic edifice of the legislative assembly of British Columbia.

After a short walk of about 10 minutes, we arrived at Albion Manor, located on Superior Street, a peaceful residential neighbourhood. The B&B facility, built in 1892 AD has been certified as a heritage property by the City Government and it was adorned with many accolades from the travel advisory agencies like Trip Advisor. Albion has limited accommodation and all its rooms are named as Oscar Wilde, Seville, Renoir, Henry VIII, Michelangelo, Shakespeare, Queen’s Terrace, Rubens and Gargoyle Cottage. We were allotted Oscar Wilde, which had a large king sized bed with fine quality linens, mattress and pillows. The room with hardwood flooring had all the furniture with an air of antiquity about them. Many paintings were hung on the walls using the picture rail. The toilet was well appointed too with elegant sanitary ware and plumbing.

Next day we had a filling breakfast with orange juice, blueberry pancake, fruits, sausages and coffee at the Victorian dining hall with a large table, which could seat 12 people. We met the other guests visiting Victoria from Australia, Salt Lake City of US and Vancouver. The sitting room and dining hall of Albion Manor had many antique memorabilia, paintings, statuettes and the works.

The property had a well-manicured garden around with a small fountain of guzzling waters and guests could relax sitting amidst nature.

Albion Manor was truly an experience to be savoured, its elegance to be imbibed at a slow pace to appreciate the finesse of life!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Travel-travail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

We first went on our honeymoon, and went back a couple of years later with our toddler. Still such a beautiful, delicious, awesome B&B. Highlight of our vacation. We stayed in the separate suite/ house since we weren't sure if our baby would be fussy and loud. She was fine, but we didn't want to bother anyone. Also she got to use Fernando's own childhood high chair at breakfast -- so cute.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank SaltLakeBrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

If you're the sort of person who loves white minimalist Scandi style, and tends to be grumpy at breakfast time, do not stay here. On the other hand, if you like the unusual, historic and interesting, Albion Manor has to be THE place to stay in Victoria. As everyone else has said, Don and Fernando are wonderful, funny hosts. It's great chatting to other guests over (the very filling) breakfast - even if they did want to talk to us about Brexit. And the garden is a peaceful place to relax between exploring the sights. Beautiful iris and clematis, with hummingbirds as well. Would return tomorrow if we could.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahnfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,080 reviews
Hotel Grand Pacific
#13 of 49 in Victoria
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villa Marco Polo Inn
#2 of 92 in Victoria
290 reviews
Rockland
Fairholme Manor
Fairholme Manor
#5 of 92 in Victoria
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 224 Superior St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 1T3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria > James Bay
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Victoria
Price Range: $109 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion Manor is Victoria’s Victorian Jewel. We want your stay at Albion to be the crowning touch to your visit to Victoria. Ideally located 5 minutes walk from the Seattle and Port Angeles Ferries, the ocean, downtown and major attractions, Albion manor is situated in a beautiful, private garden, featuring spectacular architectural details. Enjoy the comforts of jacuzzis, private entrances, balconies and patios all in a superb heritage building eclectically decorated with art and antiques. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing