We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, comfortable hotel”
Review of The Oswego Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oswego Hotel
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great, comfortable hotel”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The rates were very reasonable compared to a number of other hotels, and the bonus of having a full equipped kitchen made the trip even easier. We opted for the 2 bedroom suite, which had a good layout and felt more like a condo than hotel room.

Pros:
Good rates, close to parliament buildings/museum/downtown, room was fresh and clean, friendly staff

Cons:
Need much better sound insulation between the hallway and the rooms. When there were people talking out in the hallway, I could clearly hear everything. Wasn't an issue while in the bedrooms, but very distracting when in the living room/kitchen area.

I found the beds to be small -- a king bed would have been a better fit in this suite.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 457khz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,646 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    385
    88
    37
    21
See reviews for
384
804
80
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The staff are exceptional. The location is ideal. The price was quite a value. Basically, I am completely happy with my stay. If I have one complaint, its that housekeeping is not daily if you are staying long term. Not a big deal, I know how to run the dishwasher... however, other places in the same price range usually have daily housekeeping service. Overall I am very happy and will not hesitate to return. I do think the hotel is about due for a bed replacement, but the beds are not uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Splurge the extra couple bucks for the upper floors (premium suites), the views, from all sides, are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pandrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to complete a positive review about your Oswego experience. I will definately pass onto the team.

We are glad that you chose Oswego for your longterm stay. We do offer significant reduced rates for longstay guests based on the size of the suite. To keep our rates competitive with other hotels in Victoria we include bi-weekly housekeeping service, newspaper, free wifi, use of the gym and parking. All of our nightly stays receive housekeeping service daily. All of our guests receive 20% off in the bistro also.

Please let us know next time you will be visiting us and if it is for a weekly stay or longer and we will ensure that your suite is serviced daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

I spent one night at the Oswego Hotel in a studio suite and was impressed with all aspects of this property. Located in a quiet residential neighborhood with excellent proximity to downtown Victoria, allowing walkability for business and leisure travelers alike. Very friendly and helpful front desk staff, exceptionally clean room with unexpected room amenities.

I was surprised at the compact, yet full kitchen, which was equipped with a microwave, cooktop, compact fridge and dishwasher as well as all necessary kitchen wares and small appliances. The French press and complimentary fair trade organic coffee were a nice luxury touch!

The bathroom was spa like and spacious and I appreciated the inclusion of two bathrobes, a container of cotton swabs, cotton balls and decent quality toiletries. The water pressure in the shower was fabulous and this is one of my "great hotel" must-haves.

I was a little apprehensive about the Murphy bed, fearing the mattress would be uncomfortable and thin. It was a bit firm for my liking, but my fear of feeling springs poke through was un-founded.

Finally, the linens and towels were crisp, clean and new.

My only criticism would be that noise from the hallway tends to travel into the room. I don't see this as a deal breaker though as there were only 9 rooms on the the ninth floor (were I stayed) and all I heard was one couple talking and laughing as they made their way to their room from the elevator. It didn't strike me as the type of hotel that would attract a "rowdy" clientele.

I will most definitely stay at this property when I return to Victoria - no point in looking elsewhere! Hoping next time that I will have an opportunity to try the bistro on the ground floor which looked lovely, and as others have mentioned, had phenomenally good prices.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiredofcold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for such a positive review of your stay with us recently - we are thrilled you had a wonderful time.

The Oswego Hotel prides itself on 'our Guest Experience' and our associates and team overall want to provide the best that they can for our guests.

We are glad that you enjoyed one of our studio suites. Please let me know when you are returning as we would love for you to experience a One Bedroom suite which is more spacious and a queen size bed as opposed to a Murphy bed.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at the amazing Oswego Hotel from Dec. 13, 2011 to Jan. 12, 2012.
It has a wonderful ambience. Every suite has a full kitchen. It is a very modern, new hotel.
The service is outstanding. This is what a truly great hotel should be like. The staff are what makes the stay so enjoyable.
Cailin, Jessie, Chad, Amanda, & Joy are just a few of the staff that we got to know. But everyone we had contact with, were superb, so helpful and friendly.
We return for one month again next year for the Holiday Season for the third year.
We have stayed in hotels all over the world. This is the best service.
The Chernenkoffs (Saskatoon)

Room Tip: The one and two bedroom suites are like a condo that you could live indefinitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dr and Mrs Chernenkoff,

We are thrilled to have recently welcomed you back again over the Christmas period.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of the hotel and the staff. The team work hard to provde a wonderful guest experience and I am glad that once again the service and hotel exceeded your expectations. I will be sure to pass on your positive comments to the team - it means alot to them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to the Oswego and 'your home away from home' for your regular visit to us again this year. In the meantime we hope 2012 is a wonderful year for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We stayed at the Oswego Hotel for 3 nights April 18-21, 2011. We absolutely loved our stay. The most important thing was the cleanliness of the rooms. The rooms are also incredibly spacious, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Thank you so much for making us feel at home! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendyhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for your lovely review about your stay with us last year.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oswego in 2012 so that we can continue to deliver the wonderful service and standards you have been accustomed to with us.

Come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is such a gorgeous and modern place to stay and not too far from the main water front areas (10 minute walk). We loved the quiet neighborhood. The restaurant was also amazingly affordable and not your usually over priced breakfasts. We stayed in a 2 bed suite, the rooms, kitchen and bathrooms were all really good sized.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHCMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for you positive review about your recent stay with us at the Oswego.

We are an all suite hotel and many of our guests find our suites very spacious and comfortable. A Two Bedroom has 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, living room, full kitchen and balcony.

We are located in James Bay a block from the inner harbour and even though close to everything we have the quietness of a residential area that our guests enjoy.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We reserved at the Oswego for New Years Eve and just hoped for the best, based on reviews, etc. and we were not disappointed. The one room suite was beautifully appointed (e.g., granite counter tops, full size stainless appliances, nice wine glasses, 2 kinds of coffee makers, CD player, comfy bed, bathrobes, plus a view of the lights of the Parliament buildings from the deck) - everything we needed!. This hotel is small but in a good location and walkable to the harbour and downtown area (2 blocks) as well to the beach front (6 blocks). The staff were all very friendly and professional and we had dinner in the O Bistro. It was lovely and reasonably priced. We will be back!

Room Tip: pick a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OswegoHotelGManager, General Manager at The Oswego Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you for your online review and we are thrilled that you had a wonderful stay with us.

We hope that you come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Victoria hotels
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Hotel Rialto
#5 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,972 reviews
Victoria Regent Hotel
#4 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oswego Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oswego Hotel

Property: The Oswego Hotel
Address: Hotel 500 Oswego St, Victoria, British Columbia V8V 5C1, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Victoria
#4 Luxury Hotel in Victoria
#8 Romantic Hotel in Victoria
#10 Family Hotel in Victoria
#11 Business Hotel in Victoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oswego Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oswego Hotel experience is unique to Victoria, British Columbia. We are a sophisticated, urban, boutique hotel steps away from the Inner Harbour and downtown. This is a chic destination for the discerning and adventurous traveler. Whether romance, business travel or a much-needed getaway brings you to Victoria, the Oswego's combination of modern design, incredible service and the luxury amenities makes it the perfect place to get a taste of the city's natural surroundings and urban vibe. Whether you make it a base for business meetings or for taking advantage of the city's many cultural, shopping or outdoor adventure options, the Oswego offers a boutique-hotel experience in a prime setting. Enjoy all the action vibrant Victoria has to offer from a downtown destination that's like no other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Oswego Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oswego Hotel Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing