We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Zodiac Whale Watching Adventure from Victoria
370

Book in advance
from
US$116.68
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Prince of Whales - Whale Watching Adventures
from US$116.68
More Info
from US$120.65
More Info
from US$952.51
More Info
from US$131.76
More Info
Reviews (3,597)
Filter reviews
3,597 results
Traveller rating
3,076
319
78
63
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,076
319
78
63
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching great trip saw orcas transient orcas recommend this trip race rocks marine life three hours once in a lifetime highly recommend this company jen zodiac crew pod wilma boat naturalist
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,121 - 1,126 of 3,597 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2019 via mobile

Had a great day with my wife and son, saw Orcas and Humpbacks and was in total awe of them....staff great and great boat would defo do again and recommend

Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Bryttni_POW, Marketing at Prince of Whales - Whale Watching Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2019

Hello bingo152,

Thank you for your review! We are glad that the whole family enjoyed the trip, and that you got to see orcas and humpbacks!! We would love to have you back for another trip :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2019

The tour and all the staff involved from taking our booking to the tour itself were professional. The “Nature/Biology” tour guides that ensured our safety and comfort on the catamaran were also very knowledgeable about all sea creatures. It was fascinating to hear about whales in general, but also to learn about the habits of the whales that frequent the area in which the tour takes place. The catamaran itself was custom built with passenger comfort and viewing being paramount. Blankets, hats and mitts were also available for use if needed. While we came upon only 1 lone male, what was more disappointing was that we always stayed 250 - 300 metres away, which meant all the photos I took with my cell phone only show a black dot or black triangle. Many passengers had professional looking cameras with special zoom lenses. I’m sure their photos turned out much better. We will definitely book another tour the next time we go to Victoria, but not sure if we will go on the catamaran (think luxury), or the Zodiac which gets much closer to the whales, but has you strapped into your seat for the whole tour.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Bryttni_POW, Marketing at Prince of Whales - Whale Watching Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2019

Hello Penny W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review! We are glad that you enjoyed our custom designed catamaran and got to see an orca!! Sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the distance, but we adhere to very strict laws when it comes to approaching whales. The 200 meter rule is for the whales safety and well-being, and our goal is to observe the animals without interfering with their behaviour. Although you stay seated throughout a zodiac tour, there are no seat belts as that would be more hazardous in an emergency situation. Rather, there are bars to hold onto in bumpy conditions. :)
We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2019

Everything was easly - from booking to disembarking. Large fast stable boat got us to where the whales are quickly. Saw a family group of 4 transient orca - 2 male and 2 female, and 3 humpbacks - 2 of them together; literally tons of Steller's and Californian sea lions, several common seals and a couple of harbout pospoises. Very knowledgable on board naturalist guides

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Bryttni_POW, Marketing at Prince of Whales - Whale Watching Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2019

Hello Vikinghat,

Thank you for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your tour and got to see orcas, humpbacks, sea lions, seals and porpoise. How exciting!! We hope that you enjoyed your time in Victoria, please come out with us again the next time you are in the area :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2019 via mobile

We were both greatly disappointed in this excursion. We have done whale watching in Alaska and this was not even close. We saw about three whales at a great distance away. You would need binoculars to see anything. This was really a glorified speed boat ride at an elevated cost. I do not recommend if you are wanting to see whales that are really visible.

Date of experience: October 2019
2  Thank jenniferwX4607RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Bryttni_POW, Marketing at Prince of Whales - Whale Watching Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2019

Hello jenniferwX4607RT,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are sorry that there were only a few whales in the area on the day of your tour, but we have no control over the location or behaviour of the wildlife, the only thing we can seek to control is our passengers expectations. We operate under strict laws and can only approach the whales to a set distance, this is for their safety and well-being. I apologize that you thought there would be more whales at a shorter distance, but given that every tour is different, we make no promises on the species or number of whales that will be present. Our only guarantee is that we will show you a whale, which we did. Wildlife is the luck of the draw!

However, to avoid disappointment in the future, we will take every possible step to inform our passengers that they are going on an adventure, and taking a risk, because that is the nature of wildlife! This isn't captivity, and that's part of the excitement, because we never know what we're going to see, and the animals get to behave however they want! And we wouldn't change that for the world.

We do hope that the next time you are in Victoria you will give it another chance as every tour is different, and you never know what you will see next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2019

We had an extraordinary outing with Prince of Whales, saw 9 orcas feeding, a humpback willing to surface several times for us, several groups of harbour porpoises, and sea lions galore at Whale Rocks! All of this with sunshine and a wonderfully educational commentary from naturalist Lili. Her enthusiasm and passion were contagious and made the trip!

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank GDWParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Bryttni_POW, Marketing at Prince of Whales - Whale Watching Adventures, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2019

Hello GDWParis,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us! We are happy to hear that you got to encounter orcas, humpbacks, harbour porpoise, and sea lions!! We appreciate your kind words about Lili, she is very passionate and we are lucky to have her as part of the team!
Please join us again the next time you are in the Victoria area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews