We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
  
Ways to Experience Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours
from US$115.96
More Info
from US$99.86
More Info
from US$107.91
More Info
from US$86.17
More Info
Reviews (2,374)
Filter reviews
2,209 results
Traveller rating
2,013
137
29
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,013
137
29
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews humpback whales whale watching tour killer whales captain chris semi covered open boat other companies these guys transient orcas speed boat sunset cruise an amazing experience covered boat race rocks j pod great trip four hours
Filter
Updating list...
955 - 960 of 2,209 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2015 via mobile

We chose the 10am tour in the enclosed catamaran. There were about 25 people on board so plenty of room to move around.
We headed straight to where orcas had been sighted and were able to see a pod of about 5 whales. Awesome!
From there we went to a tiny island with a lighthouse where harbour seals and sea lions were lazing about making an awful racket.
The Captain had a report of humpbacks at another location so that's where we went. Two enormous humpback whales were peacefully swimming along, gracefully diving ti display their tail fluke.
The weather was sunny although we needed jackets when the boat was moving as the wind was icy cold.
A magnificent adventure!

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank KCV60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Front Office Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2015

Good morning Kaye V,
4 Ever Wild, our new luxury catamaran, is a great option this time of year. As you mention, it can get a wee bit chilly (especially when the captain picks up speed and the air conditioning comes on!), so it's nice to have the option to sit in the heated cabin if you choose. We do provide windbreakers, hats and gloves, but we recommend dressing in layers and bringing your own outer gear as well for extra comfort. Of course, a little cold doesn't stop us from heading out to see the whales, and it sounds like it paid off for you - Race Rocks Ecological Reserve (with its picturesque lighthouse), killer whales and humpback whales - who could ask for more?
Thank you for taking the time to review your trip. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
All the best,
Mika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2015

Had the most amazing time. We went out in a beautiful, sheltered catamaran. It looked like an enormous yacht that had been converted-absolutely beautiful.

Eagle Wing tours worked diligently to make our experience the best they could offer. At the time of our tour the pods were a ways off, and they gave us the option to stay close and see some humpback whales or travel to see the orca, even thought the tour would go longer than planned. They said other tours companies weren't giving their group that option.

Wonderful experience we saw Orca, a grey whale, and some really fast whales, (who's name i can't remember, jumping in and out of the water. We also got to see a rare sea otter. I've seen many river otters, but sea otters are a bit of a rarity in the Southern Vancouver Island region.

Tour guides were extremely informative and entertaining and answered any questions we had, they also put a microphone in the water and broadcast the whales communication over the speakers.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Brett J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Front Office Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2015

Dear Brett J,
I remember this day - you had a great group of fellow passengers who were all enthusiastic and up for an adventure even if the tour ran a little longer than usual. When the killer whales decide to head out West, we like to be able to follow them! It sounds like you still had time to see lots of wildlife. Grey whales are often seen feeding close to shore out west, so that's a nice bonus! And of course, Race Rocks Ecological Reserve is always a great place to stop for a visit.
I'm glad you had such a great trip. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I hope you will join us again the next time you are in Victoria.
All the best,
Mika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2015

My husband and I went whale watching for the first time in Victoria with Eagle Wing Tours and we were blown away. We did the 10 am tour which was on a covered boat. Since the weather was windy with a chill, it was nice to have the option to go inside but still be able to stand outside on the deck and see the whales so clearly. The best part of the tour was the incredible wildlife that we were able to see, including a big pod of orcas, 2 humpback whales and a whole lot of sea lions and seals. I can't even begin to describe the humbling experience of being out in the open ocean and having orcas come up close to your boat to "play" and say hi. I was so moved.

But beyond that, I totally respect and admire how much Eagle Wing does to support the marine life that their business revolves around. They really know their stuff... you can tell how much these people truly love where they live and have a respect for the natural wildlife around them. You will leave this tour feeling not only lucky to have had this experience, but educated and passionate about the future of these amazing creatures.

I just want to say thank you to Eagle Wing and the great crew, particularly Derek. You are all incredibly knowledgeable and made the tour much more memorable because of it.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank elleypell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Front Office Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2015

Dear elleypell,
Thank you for your kind words about Derek! He is an amazing person and such a wealth of information about the whales. He will be pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your trip!
At Eagle Wing Tours, conservation is so important, and education is a big part of this. Even off the water, however, we try to "walk the walk" and ensure that our business is as green as possible. We reduce our impact as much as we can, and we support the whales through various organizations such as the Pacific Salmon Foundation and the Center for Whale Research, as well as doing local things like organizing beach cleanups. Thank you for recognizing our passion and our efforts, and for taking the time to review your tour with us. I hope you will join us again the next time you visit Victoria!
All the best,
Mika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2015

There are many choices for whale watching from Victoria, Sydney, and the San Juans but Eagle Wing Really went all out for us. We went further than other boats and it paid off!! Out a bit, the capt. shut down engines and we waited. A MOMMA AND HER 8 DAY OLD CALF SWAM UP TO OUR BOAT!! This just doesn't happen! I have been on lots of whale watching cruises and REALLY, PEOPLE, THIS ONE WAS THE ALL AROUND BEST! We saw over 12 individual Orcas up close, two calves and then to top it all off we saw a hump back. The naturalists on board were not just knowledgeable but knew each individual Orca and really enjoyed telling us whale tales. I give this company both thumbs up with a huge DO THIS recommendation.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank IDWiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Front Office Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2015

Good morning IDWiner,
Thank you for such a glowing recommendation! It sounds like you really got lucky seeing such a small calf out there - we can't take all the credit for that! What an amazing experience.
With faster boats and longer tours, as well as flexible tour times, we are able to really make sure that we have the opportunity to show you absolutely everything in the area. It's always a great day when we can show you more than one species of whale!
Thank you for taking the time to review your tour. We hope to see you again soon!
All the best,
Mika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2015 via mobile

We had the very great pleasure of doing a whale watching trip with Eagle wing. They were incredibly safety conscious and provided so much information before, and on our trip. Everything was available from hats, gloves and jackets to a small commission on board selling snacks and water (proceeds to Whale research). Our captain made the ride extremely smooth and knew the best spots to take us and our guides had so much knowledge about Whales generally and each individual one of the resident Orcas we saw. We saw Minke, humpback and Orca whales and we couldn't have asked for a better day out - the three hour tour was almost four hours as we stayed longer out with the Orcas. Couldn't recommend this tour more highly.

Date of experience: September 2015
1  Thank 747stephaniew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Front Office Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2015

Dear Stephanie W,
It is always a pleasure to have interested passengers on board our vessels. We love sharing our knowledge about the animals and the environment, and introducing people to our "extended family" - the whales that we see every day! I'm glad to hear you had the chance to see so many different species on your trip! We have the longest tours in the harbour but we often extend them a little as well - we like to have a little flexibility so we can customize each tour according to what is happening out on the water.
Thank you for taking the time to review your tour! I hope you will join us again in the future.
All the best,
Mika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews