We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further, Eagle Wings is the one for great fun and whale watching!”

Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$106.66*
and up
Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise
More Info
US$93.86*
and up
Victoria Sunset Whale-Watching Cruise
More Info
US$240.87*
and up
Victoria Wine and Whales Combo Tour
Ranked #1 of 109 Tours in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are Wild 4 Whales! Eagle Wing Tours is Victoria, BC's 1st multiple award winning whale watching tour company. Guaranteed Whales & guaranteed adventure with the most thrilling, environmentally responsible, sustainable, professional, comfortable, and safe marine adventure tour company on Vancouver Island. Don't take our word for it: we have been rated as the #1 whale watching tour company in Victoria on Trip Advisor since 2007. As passionate stewards of a world renowned marine environment, we are motivated to provide our guests with more than just "a look at the whales". Eagle Wing Tours was Canada's first 100% carbon neutral whale watching tour company and the only one to support 1% For the Planet. You will be treated to attentive service by dedicated professionals who have spent their lives learning the intricacies of the local ecosystem. This locally owned and family operated marine adventure eco-tourism company offers the only sustainable, premium experience for travellers demanding more. We realize that most of our guests have traveled great distances at high cost to experience what we have the privilege of doing daily. We respect, and ultimately are grateful for this, and so with every departure we go above and beyond - maximizing guest satisfaction, overall comfort, and delivering the "WOW" factor!- at the center of the world's highest concentration of Killer whales (orca, or Blackfish) and other whale (cetacean) species in the Salish Sea, such as Humpback whales, Gray whales, and Minke whales. Our mission to you, our customer! Eagle Wing's mission is to work with purpose and passion on behalf of all wildlife in the Salish Sea, encouraging our guests to become more involved in the education and conservation of a sustainable, healthy, and more balanced marine eco-system... Inspiring the conservation of our marine environment, with a thrill! PASSION - EXPLORE - INSPIRE
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Look no further, Eagle Wings is the one for great fun and whale watching!”
Reviewed 30 September 2015

This is a must if you are in Victoria, BC. Our cruise was 3 hrs, 45 minutes long and we did see 3 different species of whales, Minkes, Orchas & a Humpback. The boat is fast and comfortable and rides the ocean with very little rocking. There are plenty of places to sit or stand and the open deck design allows everyone to have a good view spot topside with places to stand along the side, the bow or the stern and a few spots on the bridge with the captain. The staff is very passionate about their job and can identify the whales by pod and name. Eagle Wing staff are very into the conservation of their local whales.
Our cruise was on Sunday Sept 27th and the air temp was 58 - 61 F and the sun was shining. Even under these great weather conditions it does get very cold on deck when the boat is underway, so bring a jacket and gloves and something to cover your ears if you plan on being outside while underway.
Our cruise started out spotting Minke Whales about 15-20 minutes into the ride out to San Juan Islands. Once we reached the San Juan Islands we hooked up with the K pod of Orcas and spent probably an hour with them. On the way back to Victoria harbor near Discovery Island we ran into a humpback whale and we hung around for another 30 - 40 minutes.

AWESOME Morning!

Other +'s for using Eagle Wings, they are located at the Fisherman's Wharf which has 4 or 5 places to get something to eat after the cruise pl,us there are some Harbor Seals that hang around and people feed them so you can get some pretty closeup shots of harbor seals.
Enjoy your day whale watching.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank Davis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Front Office Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, 1 October 2015
Dear Davis S,
Thank you for the detailed review of your trip! I'm glad you enjoyed 4 Ever Wild - it is a great platform for not only enjoying the ride but also seeing the whales and other wildlife! I trust you were able to visit the captain and enjoy the view from his "office". Three different species of whales - it sounds like an amazing trip! Thank you for sharing your photos with us. You got some great shots of the wildlife! I hope you'll join us again the next time you're on the island.
All the best,
Mika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,814 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,650
    116
    21
    19
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boonah, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Day ”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 via mobile

We chose the 10am tour in the enclosed catamaran. There were about 25 people on board so plenty of room to move around.
We headed straight to where orcas had been sighted and were able to see a pod of about 5 whales. Awesome!
From there we went to a tiny island with a lighthouse where harbour seals and sea lions were lazing about making an awful racket.
The Captain had a report of humpbacks at another location so that's where we went. Two enormous humpback whales were peacefully swimming along, gracefully diving ti display their tail fluke.
The weather was sunny although we needed jackets when the boat was moving as the wind was icy cold.
A magnificent adventure!

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank KCV60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Front Office Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, 1 October 2015
Good morning Kaye V,
4 Ever Wild, our new luxury catamaran, is a great option this time of year. As you mention, it can get a wee bit chilly (especially when the captain picks up speed and the air conditioning comes on!), so it's nice to have the option to sit in the heated cabin if you choose. We do provide windbreakers, hats and gloves, but we recommend dressing in layers and bringing your own outer gear as well for extra comfort. Of course, a little cold doesn't stop us from heading out to see the whales, and it sounds like it paid off for you - Race Rocks Ecological Reserve (with its picturesque lighthouse), killer whales and humpback whales - who could ask for more?
Thank you for taking the time to review your trip. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
All the best,
Mika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“An unexpected surprise!”
Reviewed 29 September 2015

Had the most amazing time. We went out in a beautiful, sheltered catamaran. It looked like an enormous yacht that had been converted-absolutely beautiful.

Eagle Wing tours worked diligently to make our experience the best they could offer. At the time of our tour the pods were a ways off, and they gave us the option to stay close and see some humpback whales or travel to see the orca, even thought the tour would go longer than planned. They said other tours companies weren't giving their group that option.

Wonderful experience we saw Orca, a grey whale, and some really fast whales, (who's name i can't remember, jumping in and out of the water. We also got to see a rare sea otter. I've seen many river otters, but sea otters are a bit of a rarity in the Southern Vancouver Island region.

Tour guides were extremely informative and entertaining and answered any questions we had, they also put a microphone in the water and broadcast the whales communication over the speakers.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank Brett J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Front Office Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, 1 October 2015
Dear Brett J,
I remember this day - you had a great group of fellow passengers who were all enthusiastic and up for an adventure even if the tour ran a little longer than usual. When the killer whales decide to head out West, we like to be able to follow them! It sounds like you still had time to see lots of wildlife. Grey whales are often seen feeding close to shore out west, so that's a nice bonus! And of course, Race Rocks Ecological Reserve is always a great place to stop for a visit.
I'm glad you had such a great trip. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I hope you will join us again the next time you are in Victoria.
All the best,
Mika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I can't imagine a better whale watching experience!”
Reviewed 28 September 2015

My husband and I went whale watching for the first time in Victoria with Eagle Wing Tours and we were blown away. We did the 10 am tour which was on a covered boat. Since the weather was windy with a chill, it was nice to have the option to go inside but still be able to stand outside on the deck and see the whales so clearly. The best part of the tour was the incredible wildlife that we were able to see, including a big pod of orcas, 2 humpback whales and a whole lot of sea lions and seals. I can't even begin to describe the humbling experience of being out in the open ocean and having orcas come up close to your boat to "play" and say hi. I was so moved.

But beyond that, I totally respect and admire how much Eagle Wing does to support the marine life that their business revolves around. They really know their stuff... you can tell how much these people truly love where they live and have a respect for the natural wildlife around them. You will leave this tour feeling not only lucky to have had this experience, but educated and passionate about the future of these amazing creatures.

I just want to say thank you to Eagle Wing and the great crew, particularly Derek. You are all incredibly knowledgeable and made the tour much more memorable because of it.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
Thank elleypell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Front Office Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, 30 September 2015
Dear elleypell,
Thank you for your kind words about Derek! He is an amazing person and such a wealth of information about the whales. He will be pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your trip!
At Eagle Wing Tours, conservation is so important, and education is a big part of this. Even off the water, however, we try to "walk the walk" and ensure that our business is as green as possible. We reduce our impact as much as we can, and we support the whales through various organizations such as the Pacific Salmon Foundation and the Center for Whale Research, as well as doing local things like organizing beach cleanups. Thank you for recognizing our passion and our efforts, and for taking the time to review your tour with us. I hope you will join us again the next time you visit Victoria!
All the best,
Mika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Post Falls, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A WHALE OF A LOT BETTER!!!”
Reviewed 28 September 2015

There are many choices for whale watching from Victoria, Sydney, and the San Juans but Eagle Wing Really went all out for us. We went further than other boats and it paid off!! Out a bit, the capt. shut down engines and we waited. A MOMMA AND HER 8 DAY OLD CALF SWAM UP TO OUR BOAT!! This just doesn't happen! I have been on lots of whale watching cruises and REALLY, PEOPLE, THIS ONE WAS THE ALL AROUND BEST! We saw over 12 individual Orcas up close, two calves and then to top it all off we saw a hump back. The naturalists on board were not just knowledgeable but knew each individual Orca and really enjoyed telling us whale tales. I give this company both thumbs up with a huge DO THIS recommendation.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank IDWiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Front Office Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, 30 September 2015
Good morning IDWiner,
Thank you for such a glowing recommendation! It sounds like you really got lucky seeing such a small calf out there - we can't take all the credit for that! What an amazing experience.
With faster boats and longer tours, as well as flexible tour times, we are able to really make sure that we have the opportunity to show you absolutely everything in the area. It's always a great day when we can show you more than one species of whale!
Thank you for taking the time to review your tour. We hope to see you again soon!
All the best,
Mika
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing