We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent trip.”

Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are Wild 4 Whales! Eagle Wing Tours is Victoria, BC's 1st multiple award winning whale watching tour company. Guaranteed Whales & guaranteed adventure with the most thrilling, environmentally responsible, sustainable, professional, comfortable, and safe marine adventure tour company on Vancouver Island. Don't take our word for it: we have been rated as the #1 whale watching tour company in Victoria on Trip Advisor since 2007. As passionate stewards of a world renowned marine environment, we are motivated to provide our guests with more than just "a look at the whales". Eagle Wing Tours was Canada's first 100% carbon neutral whale watching tour company and the only one to support 1% For the Planet. You will be treated to attentive service by dedicated professionals who have spent their lives learning the intricacies of the local ecosystem. This locally owned and family operated marine adventure eco-tourism company offers the only sustainable, premium experience for travellers demanding more. We realize that most of our guests have traveled great distances at high cost to experience what we have the privilege of doing daily. We respect, and ultimately are grateful for this, and so with every departure we go above and beyond - maximizing guest satisfaction, overall comfort, and delivering the "WOW" factor!- at the center of the world's highest concentration of Killer whales (orca, or Blackfish) and other whale (cetacean) species in the Salish Sea, such as Humpback whales, Gray whales, and Minke whales. Our mission to you, our customer! Eagle Wing's mission is to work with purpose and passion on behalf of all wildlife in the Salish Sea, encouraging our guests to become more involved in the education and conservation of a sustainable, healthy, and more balanced marine eco-system... Inspiring the conservation of our marine environment, with a thrill! PASSION - EXPLORE - INSPIRE
Reviewed October 20, 2015

I was on a cruise with my wife and we booked this trip separately from the cruise line. There were about 40 people on the boat which seemed a lot. However you could stand at the front, down the sides, at the back or up on top to get a view. The crew on the boat were very knowledgeable and friendly. We travelled a little way out to where the Orcas were. I am not joking in saying over the next two hours we saw about 50 different Orcas. They were all over the place swimming under the boat surfacing near by etc, it was brilliant. I understand they have a resident population of Orcas there so all being well should see them. We were very fortunate that day to see so many. The crew on the boat know many of the Orcas by their markings and dorsal fin, which just adds to the experience. We also saw one Humpback which was busily feeding and then went over to a particular group of islands and saw (and heard from a distance), Elephant seals, Stellar Sealions and a sea otter floating on its back on the surface with with its feet in the air, it was great. The trip lasted about 4 hours and was some of the best holiday money ever spent. I cannot recommend this experience enough. Obviously we were lucky with our weather with visibility being excellent.

1  Thank Alexander B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Front Office Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2015

Good morning Alexander B,
I'm glad to hear you had such a fabulous trip! It sounds like you got very lucky with a good portion of the Southern Resident Killer Whale population in the area, not to mention the humpback whale and other wildlife! Our catamaran 4 Ever Wild is a great option at this time of year, with both outdoor viewing and an indoor heated cabin to warm up if needed. We always cap the number of people on board to ensure that everyone has plenty of space to move around wherever they want to be.
One of the things I enjoy the most about whale-watching in this area is the stories about the individual whales that we see on a regular basis, so I'm very glad to hear you enjoyed this as well! I hope you will join us again the next time you visit Vancouver Island.
All the best,
Mika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"humpback whales"
in 192 reviews
"whale watching tour"
in 178 reviews
"killer whales"
in 162 reviews
"captain chris"
in 40 reviews
"open boat"
in 52 reviews
"other companies"
in 58 reviews
"transient orcas"
in 65 reviews
"these guys"
in 67 reviews
"speed boat"
in 32 reviews
"sunset cruise"
in 23 reviews
"covered boat"
in 51 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 69 reviews
"race rocks"
in 51 reviews
"great trip"
in 73 reviews
"j pod"
in 44 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 25 reviews
"four hours"
in 32 reviews
Filter

1,075 - 1,079 of 2,359 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

Best day ever out on '4 ever wild' the most comfortable and speedy trip to see seals, sea otter, orcas and humpbacks. Great staff, very knowledgable. The joy of seeing orcas for the first time took my breathe away. These guys know their stuff and go far and beyond to give their customers what they paid for. I think we were out for about 4 hours. Not sure what other companies charge but it really doesn't matter, once in a lifetime trip/opportunity ......take it. YOLO

Thank DianeKTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2015

Experiencing orcas in the wild is truly a life changing experience for a lot of people and we thank you for your observations and positive comments about our boat and exceptional employees. We are privileged to live and work in the region where orcas are found in the highest concentration and we take great pride in being the best and ensuring that expectations are meet and usually exceeded. Yes sometimes we do not find whales and that is rare - your day was truly magical. Thanks for booking with us, we know you had a choice and hope you will return to Victoria again one day and let us take out again on the Salish Sea to visit our friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2015

The boat was amazing and the staff were first-class in every aspect. Took us straight out to a couple of orca brothers and on the way home we stopped for a visit with a humpback.

Simply the best - amazing stuff.

Thank MB4495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2015

Loved the brief but to the point very positive review. Thanks for acknowledging our captain and crew along with our amazing new catamaran and please let others know that if you want to see orcas in the wild, where they belong, Victoria is the best. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2015

High Hopes. Followed 2 orcas for quite awhile after a brisk boat ride. Did not see them breach. Saw 2 humpback whales too and several seals and sea lions. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. Hope to see more orcas when we cruise to Alaska. Maybe San Juan Islands tours would have more sightings. Nice boat with inside seating available, as well as coats, etc Take your own coffee I guess when the weather is cold.

Thank Beth2854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2015

Loved the review and just an FYI, all whale watching boats including those from Washington State are in communication as to where whales have been sighted so while you did not see a lot of orcas, you did see both orcas and humpbacks which is a good day at this time of the year. Hope the rest of your cruise is enjoyable and look forward to having you back visiting Victoria again one day soon. We are looking at adding a hot beverage service to this boat for next season and thanks again for booking with us and taking time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2015

I went to Victoria for my big 60th birthday. After reading reviews and loving Trip Advisor, we went with Eagle Wing. I convinced my sister and her husband to go as well. We saw NO whales. We did hear them, but I feel the captain gave up way too soon. We were out less than 4 hrs. We heard them, but unfortunately it was foggy. We all thought the captain was making another attempt since we heard it and he knew the area, but he was heading back in. We did see some seals and dolphins, but so disappointed no whales. The crew was nice, but I guess I should have known there was a possibility of no whales. They were good and gave us a voucher for another trip but we were leaving the next day.

3  Thank Carlen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Owner at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2015

Dear "Kenpearl",

Thank you for booking with us and writing your review. We appreciate all reviews and while you were disappointed in not seeing whales, so were we. We pride ourselves on finding whales and especially on someone's big birthday. I really hope you are able to come back to beautiful Victoria and use your lifetime whale guarantee certificate :) If not please let us know.

The captain was working in tandem with other boats in the area...the humpback whales were being heard and by the time we were able to reposition the boat and make our way to where the animal had surfaced (breathed) it had gone on another deep dive (sometimes lasting 6-12 minutes). Often times the whales do not surface in the same area again which was the case on this trip, and the fog made it even more difficult. All the other boats in the area were also experiencing our frustrations.

Thank you for your comments regarding the boat and while the captain did not succeed in showing you the whales (he did find them) you were able to experience other marine wildlife.

You could not use your guaranteed whale certificate because of your departure the next day but maybe just maybe you will still have fond memories of your time in Victoria and come back again. That certificate is good for life so please consider a return visit at some point. Thanks again and many happy journeys

Warmest regards and happy belated birthday :)

Brett Soberg
co-owner/operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing