We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Book In Advance
Tours from Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours
from US$115.15
More Info
from US$99.15
More Info
from US$107.15
More Info
Reviews (2,375)
Filter reviews
2,210 results
Traveller rating
2,014
137
29
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,014
137
29
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews humpback whales whale watching tour killer whales captain chris semi covered open boat other companies these guys transient orcas speed boat sunset cruise an amazing experience covered boat race rocks j pod great trip four hours
Filter
Updating list...
936 - 941 of 2,210 reviews
Reviewed October 19, 2015 via mobile

Best day ever out on '4 ever wild' the most comfortable and speedy trip to see seals, sea otter, orcas and humpbacks. Great staff, very knowledgable. The joy of seeing orcas for the first time took my breathe away. These guys know their stuff and go far and beyond to give their customers what they paid for. I think we were out for about 4 hours. Not sure what other companies charge but it really doesn't matter, once in a lifetime trip/opportunity ......take it. YOLO

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank DianeKTorquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2015

Experiencing orcas in the wild is truly a life changing experience for a lot of people and we thank you for your observations and positive comments about our boat and exceptional employees. We are privileged to live and work in the region where orcas are found in the highest concentration and we take great pride in being the best and ensuring that expectations are meet and usually exceeded. Yes sometimes we do not find whales and that is rare - your day was truly magical. Thanks for booking with us, we know you had a choice and hope you will return to Victoria again one day and let us take out again on the Salish Sea to visit our friends.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2015

The boat was amazing and the staff were first-class in every aspect. Took us straight out to a couple of orca brothers and on the way home we stopped for a visit with a humpback.

Simply the best - amazing stuff.

Date of experience: October 2015
Thank MB4495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2015

Loved the brief but to the point very positive review. Thanks for acknowledging our captain and crew along with our amazing new catamaran and please let others know that if you want to see orcas in the wild, where they belong, Victoria is the best. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2015

High Hopes. Followed 2 orcas for quite awhile after a brisk boat ride. Did not see them breach. Saw 2 humpback whales too and several seals and sea lions. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. Hope to see more orcas when we cruise to Alaska. Maybe San Juan Islands tours would have more sightings. Nice boat with inside seating available, as well as coats, etc Take your own coffee I guess when the weather is cold.

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank Beth2854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2015

Loved the review and just an FYI, all whale watching boats including those from Washington State are in communication as to where whales have been sighted so while you did not see a lot of orcas, you did see both orcas and humpbacks which is a good day at this time of the year. Hope the rest of your cruise is enjoyable and look forward to having you back visiting Victoria again one day soon. We are looking at adding a hot beverage service to this boat for next season and thanks again for booking with us and taking time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2015

I went to Victoria for my big 60th birthday. After reading reviews and loving Trip Advisor, we went with Eagle Wing. I convinced my sister and her husband to go as well. We saw NO whales. We did hear them, but I feel the captain gave up way too soon. We were out less than 4 hrs. We heard them, but unfortunately it was foggy. We all thought the captain was making another attempt since we heard it and he knew the area, but he was heading back in. We did see some seals and dolphins, but so disappointed no whales. The crew was nice, but I guess I should have known there was a possibility of no whales. They were good and gave us a voucher for another trip but we were leaving the next day.

Date of experience: October 2015
3  Thank kenpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Owner at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2015

Dear "Kenpearl",

Thank you for booking with us and writing your review. We appreciate all reviews and while you were disappointed in not seeing whales, so were we. We pride ourselves on finding whales and especially on someone's big birthday. I really hope you are able to come back to beautiful Victoria and use your lifetime whale guarantee certificate :) If not please let us know.

The captain was working in tandem with other boats in the area...the humpback whales were being heard and by the time we were able to reposition the boat and make our way to where the animal had surfaced (breathed) it had gone on another deep dive (sometimes lasting 6-12 minutes). Often times the whales do not surface in the same area again which was the case on this trip, and the fog made it even more difficult. All the other boats in the area were also experiencing our frustrations.

Thank you for your comments regarding the boat and while the captain did not succeed in showing you the whales (he did find them) you were able to experience other marine wildlife.

You could not use your guaranteed whale certificate because of your departure the next day but maybe just maybe you will still have fond memories of your time in Victoria and come back again. That certificate is good for life so please consider a return visit at some point. Thanks again and many happy journeys

Warmest regards and happy belated birthday :)

Brett Soberg
co-owner/operator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 13, 2015

The absolute best spur of the moment tour ever!

Eagle Wing personnel were great; with a passion and attitude never before seen and this was a special day with the discovery of a new calf.

The tour exits Victoria Harbor and I'd have been happy with the boat trip alone given the changing day and the scenery!

However it became event more special as we discovered six hump back whales and then 93 Orcas; which is almost all those in and around this area - plus the new calf!

Thoroughly recommend this company and their ethics. To be able to get so close without once endangering or getting TOO close was wonderful and the passion and knowledge of the crew made it all even more special.

An amazing body of water and inhabitants too! I actually hope to get back someday, with a very good camera!

Date of experience: September 2015
Thank nrmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, General Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2015

And what a whale of a review - Thank you. Yes we pride ourselves in exceeding expectations and going above and beyond to ensure customer satisfaction. Our boats as you found out are the best, captains and crew the best and our customers are also the best. Your photos were great but that is great advice. Do not expect your iPhone photos to give you what you really want bring a good camera. Thanks again and hope you can visit Canada again one day again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews