We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd give them 6 stars if I could. Great company.”

Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.31*
and up
Victoria Whale and Wildlife Cruise
More Info
US$92.67*
and up
Victoria Sunset Whale-Watching Cruise
More Info
US$237.82*
and up
Victoria Wine and Whales Combo Tour
Ranked #1 of 109 Tours in Victoria
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We are Wild 4 Whales! Eagle Wing Tours is Victoria, BC's 1st multiple award winning whale watching tour company. Guaranteed Whales & guaranteed adventure with the most thrilling, environmentally responsible, sustainable, professional, comfortable, and safe marine adventure tour company on Vancouver Island. Don't take our word for it: we have been rated as the #1 whale watching tour company in Victoria on Trip Advisor since 2007. As passionate stewards of a world renowned marine environment, we are motivated to provide our guests with more than just "a look at the whales". Eagle Wing Tours was Canada's first 100% carbon neutral whale watching tour company and the only one to support 1% For the Planet. You will be treated to attentive service by dedicated professionals who have spent their lives learning the intricacies of the local ecosystem. This locally owned and family operated marine adventure eco-tourism company offers the only sustainable, premium experience for travellers demanding more. We realize that most of our guests have traveled great distances at high cost to experience what we have the privilege of doing daily. We respect, and ultimately are grateful for this, and so with every departure we go above and beyond - maximizing guest satisfaction, overall comfort, and delivering the "WOW" factor!- at the center of the world's highest concentration of Killer whales (orca, or Blackfish) and other whale (cetacean) species in the Salish Sea, such as Humpback whales, Gray whales, and Minke whales. Our mission to you, our customer! Eagle Wing's mission is to work with purpose and passion on behalf of all wildlife in the Salish Sea, encouraging our guests to become more involved in the education and conservation of a sustainable, healthy, and more balanced marine eco-system... Inspiring the conservation of our marine environment, with a thrill! PASSION - EXPLORE - INSPIRE
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“I'd give them 6 stars if I could. Great company.”
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Booked the 4 hour tour on their large catamaran. Great ship with lots of room and good viewing angles.

The crew, Jeff, Sydney, and Dale were amazing. Lots of knowledge, fun, and just as excited to see whales as the rest of us. You can tell the love the whales and their jobs.

We got very lucky and had a perfectly sunny and flat day on the water. We saw 2 pods of Transient Orcas; both of which hunted and killed a seal right in front of the boat (unreal to witness). We then cruised on and saw a Bald Eagle and Humpback Whales. Pretty amazing to see all of that in just 4 hours.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend Eagle Wing to anyone.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, 24 May 2016
Good evening Nick K,
It sounds like you got the complete West Coast package! I'm so glad you enjoyed your trip on 4 Ever Wild, though with those kinds of sightings, you would be hard pressed not to! You had a fabulous crew - between the three of them they could probably tell you stories to keep you occupied for hours! Thanks for your kind words about our great team. We appreciate you choosing Eagle Wing Tours, and look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Vancouver Island!
All the best,
Mika Ogilvie
Social Sustainability Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,642
    113
    21
    19
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great! Well worth the money and time”
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Fantastic experience and great company. We came in on a cruise ship and wanted to do something exciting on our own in Victoria. Decided on whale watching, since, being from Denver, we don't get to see whales! (FYI, this is completely walkable from the cruise port, about a 10-minute walk.) Found Eagle Wing through TripAdvisor and the stellar reviews are absolutely correct. I had some questions prior to our trip and so emailed the company. They got back to me in less than 24 hours with very thorough answers. Upon arriving, the employees were very friendly. Crew on the boat were great -- friendly, knowledgeable. You can tell they LOVE what they do. Sailed with them on May 17 (just the beginning of whale season) and saw tons of sea lions, seals, and TWO whales. "Big Momma" and her baby. Even got to see the two of them flick their tails above the surface at the same time. Just amazing! We were on the 4-hour tour, which ended up lasting about 4 1/2 hours. Don't hesitate booking them. They're worth it.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Malena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, 24 May 2016
Good afternoon Malena J,
I'm so glad you decided to head back out on the water after getting off your cruise ship. It sounds like it was well worth it! We feel so blessed to see Big Momma year after year and you are lucky to have seen her new (6th!) calf. Thanks for the complements about staff and crew, and for noticing how much they love their jobs. We feel so privileged to be able to share this amazing area and its abundant wildlife with like-minded visitors and locals! We appreciate you choosing Eagle Wing Tours, and for sharing your experience with us! We hope to see you again the next time you make Victoria your port of call!
All the best,
Mika Ogilvie
Social Sustainability Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City Center, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Top Quality Whale Watching!”
Reviewed 19 May 2016

We were very fortunate, on our day out we saw a lot of whales. Loved the commentary, I learned so much about the whales and how intelligent they are. I am going to read up about them as I found the information fascinating. Our guides were knowledgeable and added humour and fun to the trip as well.

We were advised to take Gravol before going out and we did that as a precaution and I would advise doing that....water was rough at first.

It took 90 minutes to go way out to find the whales, so you might take something to read or take a game on your tablet.

It would have been nice to maybe have a booklet with some interesting facts to review before reaching the destination sight. A bit more commentary would be good too, I was near two of the guides and some of the facts about the whales were very interesting, but, I am not sure everyone could hear.

All in all, a great experience......so glad we did it!

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, 24 May 2016
Dear Steve B,
I'm very glad to hear you had a great experience with us! One of the amazing things about whale-watching around the Salish Sea is that you never know what you're going to get! Sometimes the whales are far away and we take full advantage of our somewhat flexible timing to extend the trips, sometimes they're right outside the harbour (and on occasion, in it!). Some days are calm as glass, others give you a good taste of "West Coast weather". Things can change pretty quickly out there! It sounds like you had a great adventure. Thanks for the good suggestions, we have passed them on to our crew. I hope we'll see you again the next time you're in Victoria!
All the best,
Mika Ogilvie
Social Sustainability Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Top Notch!! ”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

All encounters with staff were excellent, from the booking emails to the pier staff, and of course the Captain and First Mate. Very knowledgeable and great to talk to.

We were shown the map of the area, and where the recent sightings were and where we plan to go.

We visited some small islands to see walrus and seals which was very cool, lots of time for pictures. We then went directly to see a Humpback where another operator advised of the sighting. We had lots of time for pictures.

The information about all the wildlife was excellent. The sea was very rough with probably 10' swells and very difficult to spot whales so it was great that all operators work together to communicate the sightings.

The boat was large enough to handle the rough seas. Other operators with Zodiac boats did not go out that afternoon due to the rough seas, so if you do not have the time to go another day I would suggest booking with this company.

Note: they provide lots of gear to wear, not necessarily to keep you warm, but to keep you DRY....so make sure you wear it.

Overall, simply awesome experience and don't hesitate to book.

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Ontime2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, 20 May 2016
Good afternoon Ontime2K,
What a great description of a fun experience! Sounds like you were treated to some real "west coast weather". I'm guessing you visited Race Rocks Ecological Reserve (big black and white striped lighthouse?). It's a lovely place to stop and view the wildlife, from plenty of seabirds to elephant and harbour seals, as well as California and Steller sea lions. We've also been seeing a sea otter there pretty consistently! And the humpback whale sightings have been early and plenty this year, which is exciting!
Very happy you took advantage of our extra gear to stay warm and dry. Thanks for the awesome review - we look forward to seeing you again soon!
All the best,
Mika Ogilvie
Social Sustainability Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, wow”
Reviewed 18 May 2016

I asked my hotel to book me a whale watching tour as I am only in town for 2 days visiting from the UK and they booked me with Eagle Wing (on 18th May 2016) and I am so glad they did, what an amazing & professional outfit. We were out for over 4 hours and found & followed approximately 8 Orca whales which were amazing to see. All the staff were extremely knowledgeable and very friendly. I would highly recommend this. Thank you

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this review, 20 May 2016
Dear Peter H,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm glad you had such a great trip, and that you took the time to head out on the water and see the amazing bounty that nature has to offer! A trip to Victoria would not be complete without the whales. We appreciate your recommendation, and hope to see you again the next time you visit!
All the best,
Mika Ogilvie
Social Sustainability Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours also viewed

Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
Victoria, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing