We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 a.m. - 11:00 p.m.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours
from US$115.90
More Info
from US$86.10
More Info
from US$107.80
More Info
from US$99.80
More Info
Reviews (2,364)
Filter reviews
2,204 results
Traveller rating
2,009
136
29
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,009
136
29
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews humpback whales whale watching tour killer whales captain chris semi covered open boat other companies transient orcas these guys speed boat sunset cruise an amazing experience covered boat race rocks j pod great trip smaller boat
Filter
Updating list...
877 - 882 of 2,204 reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2016

Fantastic experience and great company. We came in on a cruise ship and wanted to do something exciting on our own in Victoria. Decided on whale watching, since, being from Denver, we don't get to see whales! (FYI, this is completely walkable from the cruise port, about a 10-minute walk.) Found Eagle Wing through TripAdvisor and the stellar reviews are absolutely correct. I had some questions prior to our trip and so emailed the company. They got back to me in less than 24 hours with very thorough answers. Upon arriving, the employees were very friendly. Crew on the boat were great -- friendly, knowledgeable. You can tell they LOVE what they do. Sailed with them on May 17 (just the beginning of whale season) and saw tons of sea lions, seals, and TWO whales. "Big Momma" and her baby. Even got to see the two of them flick their tails above the surface at the same time. Just amazing! We were on the 4-hour tour, which ended up lasting about 4 1/2 hours. Don't hesitate booking them. They're worth it.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Malena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

Good afternoon Malena J,
I'm so glad you decided to head back out on the water after getting off your cruise ship. It sounds like it was well worth it! We feel so blessed to see Big Momma year after year and you are lucky to have seen her new (6th!) calf. Thanks for the complements about staff and crew, and for noticing how much they love their jobs. We feel so privileged to be able to share this amazing area and its abundant wildlife with like-minded visitors and locals! We appreciate you choosing Eagle Wing Tours, and for sharing your experience with us! We hope to see you again the next time you make Victoria your port of call!
All the best,
Mika Ogilvie
Social Sustainability Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 19, 2016

We were very fortunate, on our day out we saw a lot of whales. Loved the commentary, I learned so much about the whales and how intelligent they are. I am going to read up about them as I found the information fascinating. Our guides were knowledgeable and added humour and fun to the trip as well.

We were advised to take Gravol before going out and we did that as a precaution and I would advise doing that....water was rough at first.

It took 90 minutes to go way out to find the whales, so you might take something to read or take a game on your tablet.

It would have been nice to maybe have a booklet with some interesting facts to review before reaching the destination sight. A bit more commentary would be good too, I was near two of the guides and some of the facts about the whales were very interesting, but, I am not sure everyone could hear.

All in all, a great experience......so glad we did it!

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2016

Dear Steve B,
I'm very glad to hear you had a great experience with us! One of the amazing things about whale-watching around the Salish Sea is that you never know what you're going to get! Sometimes the whales are far away and we take full advantage of our somewhat flexible timing to extend the trips, sometimes they're right outside the harbour (and on occasion, in it!). Some days are calm as glass, others give you a good taste of "West Coast weather". Things can change pretty quickly out there! It sounds like you had a great adventure. Thanks for the good suggestions, we have passed them on to our crew. I hope we'll see you again the next time you're in Victoria!
All the best,
Mika Ogilvie
Social Sustainability Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

All encounters with staff were excellent, from the booking emails to the pier staff, and of course the Captain and First Mate. Very knowledgeable and great to talk to.

We were shown the map of the area, and where the recent sightings were and where we plan to go.

We visited some small islands to see walrus and seals which was very cool, lots of time for pictures. We then went directly to see a Humpback where another operator advised of the sighting. We had lots of time for pictures.

The information about all the wildlife was excellent. The sea was very rough with probably 10' swells and very difficult to spot whales so it was great that all operators work together to communicate the sightings.

The boat was large enough to handle the rough seas. Other operators with Zodiac boats did not go out that afternoon due to the rough seas, so if you do not have the time to go another day I would suggest booking with this company.

Note: they provide lots of gear to wear, not necessarily to keep you warm, but to keep you DRY....so make sure you wear it.

Overall, simply awesome experience and don't hesitate to book.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Ontime2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Good afternoon Ontime2K,
What a great description of a fun experience! Sounds like you were treated to some real "west coast weather". I'm guessing you visited Race Rocks Ecological Reserve (big black and white striped lighthouse?). It's a lovely place to stop and view the wildlife, from plenty of seabirds to elephant and harbour seals, as well as California and Steller sea lions. We've also been seeing a sea otter there pretty consistently! And the humpback whale sightings have been early and plenty this year, which is exciting!
Very happy you took advantage of our extra gear to stay warm and dry. Thanks for the awesome review - we look forward to seeing you again soon!
All the best,
Mika Ogilvie
Social Sustainability Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2016

I asked my hotel to book me a whale watching tour as I am only in town for 2 days visiting from the UK and they booked me with Eagle Wing (on 18th May 2016) and I am so glad they did, what an amazing & professional outfit. We were out for over 4 hours and found & followed approximately 8 Orca whales which were amazing to see. All the staff were extremely knowledgeable and very friendly. I would highly recommend this. Thank you

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank PeterH96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Dear Peter H,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! I'm glad you had such a great trip, and that you took the time to head out on the water and see the amazing bounty that nature has to offer! A trip to Victoria would not be complete without the whales. We appreciate your recommendation, and hope to see you again the next time you visit!
All the best,
Mika Ogilvie
Social Sustainability Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

Yes, dress warmly! No matter the month, it's cold and windy on the water. A thermos of coffee and/or hot chocolate is an excellent idea. Kids young and old absolutely loved this trip, even if it did take some time to spot a whale! Fresh air, beautiful views, an enormously well informed and helpful crew and some amazing wildlife made this an adventure worthy of the time spent. (4 hours). We were lucky enough to spot a pod of transient Orca whales - 5 in the pod with a baby - and were able to stay with them for a good hour and enjoy their antics. The children loved it, and enjoyed learning about these amazing creatures and how to help protect them. Well worth the time and expense.

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eaglewingtours, Manager at Eagle Wing Whale Watching Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2016

Good morning Cat S,
Thank you for choosing Eagle Wing Tours for your whale-watching adventure! Very good advice about dressing warmly - we cannot stress enough that even in the middle of summer it is significantly cooler out on the water, so layers are ideal! Of course we do provide jackets, hats, gloves and blankets for those who need them.
I'm glad you had such a great trip, and that your children learned about what they can do to help protect the whales! Education and conservation is so important to us so we're always pleased to hear this sort of feedback. I hope we'll have the pleasure of seeing you and your family again in the future.
All the best,
Mika Ogilvie
Social Sustainability Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews