We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Passionatehawker
Melbourne, Australia

Lovely bed and breakfast in Victoria.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 17, 2019via mobile
Firstly let me say Lynda was a wonderful host - also a terrific cook and artist. We had the down stairs suite which was spacious and all possible needs were met. Bathroom was good with plenty of hot water, nice towels, toiletries etc. The sitting room and kitchenette were really comfortable and well equipped and the bedroom was quiet and dark which promoted great sleep. Breakfast was very nice in Lynda’s lovely dining room and every morning there was fresh fruit and baking. Why not 5 stars? One thing to be aware of is the Gaslight Inn is approximately 1.5 km from DownTown- perfectly walkable but there is a very sizeable homeless population in Victoria and unfortunately Pandora Street after Cook Street going downtown is not the nicest to walk down. We took Lynda’s advice, after the first time, and walked down Pandora to Cook St and then Yale all the way into Downtown - no issue at all. You can also get the bus if you would prefer.
Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$439
C$415
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
    C$439
  • Hotels.com
    C$415
  • Expedia.com
    C$416
1.4 km from Gaslight-Inn-Victoria
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$549
  • Hotels.com
    C$649
  • Agoda.com
    C$503
  • Priceline
    C$649
1.7 km from Gaslight-Inn-Victoria
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$295
  • Priceline
    C$276
  • Vio.com
    C$276
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$277
1.3 km from Gaslight-Inn-Victoria
Free Wifi
Pool
C$479
Fully refundable
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$479
  • StayForLong
  • Algotels
1.9 km from Gaslight-Inn-Victoria
Free Wifi
Pool
C$427
  • Hotels.com
    C$427
  • Agoda.com
    C$344
  • Expedia.com
    C$428
1.2 km from Gaslight-Inn-Victoria
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$421
C$313
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$369
  • Expedia.com
    C$370
  • Vio.com
    C$343
1.9 km from Gaslight-Inn-Victoria
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$557
  • Hotels.com
    C$584
  • Expedia.com
    C$527
  • Vio.com
    C$563
3.7 km from Gaslight-Inn-Victoria
Free Wifi
Pool
C$350
  • Hotels.com
    C$399
  • Agoda.com
    C$323
  • Expedia.com
    C$400
2.0 km from Gaslight-Inn-Victoria
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$388
C$360
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    C$388
2.2 km from Gaslight-Inn-Victoria
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$449
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$404
  • Expedia.com
    C$391
  • Priceline
    C$449
2.1 km from Gaslight-Inn-Victoria
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Victoria
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
26
10
0
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
26
10
0
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 37 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2017 via mobile

We stayed for one night in this beautiful house. We loved the history of the place and the proprietors are wonderful people. It is close to the Royal Jubilee hospital which is why we originally chose it. When we have to stay in Vic again we will always book our stay here. The light breakfast was a real treat too. If you like old remodeled houses that are clean and full of artwork this is the place for you. Only downfall is the bathrooms are not in the room, which didnt bother us a bit. Love this place and love the owners.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kalyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 16, 2017 via mobile

Superb 4 night stay at the Gaslight Inn. My hosts, Linda and Jeff went out of their way to make us welcome. The Inn is a gorgeous Arts and Crafts house, decorated with original art and blown glassware created by Linda.
The bedrooms and bathrooms are spotless and comfortable.
Breakfast was an amazing and varied spread, including Linda's freshly handmade muffins, cinnamon pastries or cheese scones. Coffee or a range of teas, fresh fruit juice, yoghurt, meat, cheese, bread, crispbreads, fruit... you have a great choice every day.
We were even rescued when we were spotted walking the wrong way back to the Inn one day! Thank you!
The whole stay was an absolute pleasure.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 693brendaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 23, 2016

Old furnished, bad smelling room with an dirty carpet and an uncomfortable small bed. The window doesn´t close, so it was really freezing during the night even in September. Old Bathroom across the corridor. No advices at all. It seems to be just a try to make fast money.
There are much better B&B´s around.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 19, 2016

We spent 3 nights at the Gaslight Inn. Linda and Geoff made us very welcome and were very happy to ferry us into town each day.
We quoted the Gaslight to the BC whale watching excursion and were given a discount on the trip.

Room tip: Non of the rooms are en suite but there are private bathrooms allocated to some rooms
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldPaulG
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

My Holiday really started after arriving at the Gaslight Inn. The most comfortable bed and bedroom I have ever slept in meant my Jetlag was pretty much mitigated after 2 nights sleeping there.

Linda's breakfasts were also such a delicious, various and nutritional joy to be present for. Also very social too while dining with other guests.

This should be people's first choice of Guest House while in Victoria in my opinion.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank T105VYpeterg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews