We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jon F

Good overall place to stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Apr 28, 2024
Bit of a mixed bag but value more than makes up for it. Wonderful room with lots of space and a kitchen. Great mattress, lovely patio. Quiet, close to Vernon but not right in town which we saw as a big perk (it is not on the water either though). You can drive in by a side road and avoid the highway and get right to a terrific high-end grocery store. Small hot tub but clean area and no issues there. Pool wasn’t open yet.

No gym though, which is very odd for a place like this that seems built for longer term stays (and some websites say it does have one). Kitchen and bathroom amenities were sparse - towels, toilet paper, dishwasher pods, plates. Kitchen has minimal amount of things ie no real prep knife. Movies were pay per view only and you can’t stream, also annoying since we were there for a week.

So very good. Could be great! We could have paid less for a suite in Vernon though although it wouldn’t have been as quiet and nice. So … not sure what we would do next time!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$149
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$149
5.9 km from The Castle at Swan Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$240
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$240
6.6 km from The Castle at Swan Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
CS
C$170
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$170
6.3 km from The Castle at Swan Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby Lounge
C$199
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$199
5.7 km from The Castle at Swan Lake
Free parking
Pool
Exterior
C$174
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
7.1 km from The Castle at Swan Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$204
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Tripadvisor
    C$204
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
6.3 km from The Castle at Swan Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$254
Join Wyndham Rewards Free
  • Tripadvisor
    C$254
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
5.7 km from The Castle at Swan Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$189
  • Expedia.com
    C$197
6.9 km from The Castle at Swan Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$229
  • Booking.com
7.3 km from The Castle at Swan Lake
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Vernon
Reviews (510)
Filter reviews
510 results
Traveller rating
351
116
27
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
351
116
27
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen hot tub the penthouse coffee table busy highway silver star units condo kitchenette okanagan couch robes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 510 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2024 via mobile

We love staying here. We stayed in one of the loft rooms with the kids, the rooms have an equipped kitchen, the rooms were clean and the beds are comfortable. Years ago they used to have a breakfast included, but this is no longer available. They have a hot tub open during the "cold season." The rooms are quiet, we don't hear the neighbors, occasionally will hear kids exiting their own room outside. Great stay with accommodating staff, I recommend this place to everyone looking to stay in the area!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank J1921HHerikar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 28, 2023

We were attending a wedding at The Old Willow Farm Wedding Venue and needed a place to stay for three nights. We wanted to stay in Armstrong, where most of the wedding party lived, but were not confident that the stays there would meet our needs. Vernon had some good options, but if we could find something closer to Armstrong, that would suit us better.

We discovered the Castle at Swan Lake, a 12-minute drive to Armstrong, a 10-minute drive to Vernon, and a 21-minute drive to the wedding venue. The first thing we noticed when entering our suite was the laminate flooring, not carpets! Excellent! Have you ever walked on a hotel carpet with white socks? Please don't do it! You'll discover the filthiest socks ever. I always take slippers when travelling and staying in hotels.

Another thing that amazed us was the size of the King Suite Deluxe room. It is a room for two people, but the living area was generous with two couches and a chair. It felt like "home" and not a hotel. If you want to do meals, there is a full kitchen, including a dishwasher and microwave. My wife and I enjoyed the Keurig coffees that could quickly be replenished at the front desk. I recommend buying a container of cream to put in the fridge if you do not like fake creamers. No grocery stores or coffee shops are nearby, and it is an easy way to start the day if you are a coffee drinker. You must travel to Vernon for coffee, groceries, or a restaurant meal. Two places we enjoyed in Vernon were the White Spot and the restaurant in the Vernon Lodge Hotel. Don Cherry's restaurant was also good for a pub meal and a beer. Their burgers are delicious.

We planned to stay an extra day after the wedding and asked Trudi at the front desk about areas we could explore. She was incredibly friendly and helpful in introducing us to the Okanagan Rail Trail along the beautiful, clear, turquoise waters of Kalamalka Lake. She mentioned if you join the path in Vernon, you can rent bikes or e-bikes. However, this area can be pretty busy on weekends, so she suggested going to Kekuli Bay, which is only 20 minutes along Highway 97 and less busy. However, you would not be able to rent bikes, which was okay since we wanted to walk. The trail runs 50km to Kelowna, with some sections not developed yet, which was fine for us as we only walked 8km of it.

Trudi also told us about the Gray Canal Trail system. The Gray Canal Trail system has seven different trail sections. We walked the East Vernon section, which gave us great views of Vernon, the valley, and the mountains on the other side. The Gray Canal Trail and the Okanagan Rail Trail are very easy walks.

The night before we left for home, we decided to try the INTERMEZZO CASTLE BISTRO at the Castle at Swan Lake. The dining room was quiet and intimate, with pricing similar to a Cactus Club or Brown's Social House. I had Chicken Involtini, and my wife had Saffron Risotto with Scallops and Prawns. These dishes were excellent and delicious. We finished our meal with coffee, Mango Cheesecake, and Chocolate Decadence Cake. If you are in the area, give this restaurant a try. You won't be disappointed.

There were some comments in reviews about highway noise. It was slightly noticeable at first but soon became background noise for us and was not a problem while sleeping at night. The beds are very comfortable, and the quilt felt like a weighted blanket, making everything cozy.

A few more things to mention are they have a pleasant reading room with a small library of novels. There are two computers available to check emails etc. There is a laundry room as well.

When booking, give them a call .vs using the website as you could get a 20% discount (ask!). They also offer discounts for seniors and BCAA members.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ba6x
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 9, 2023

We have always been treated like gold here! We’ve been coming since our first dating anniversary and just spent our first wedding anniversary here. Love everything about it! This year was we have a puppy to bring and they’re very pet friendly, too!

Room tip: Staff is amazing!
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Culture55686033535
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 13, 2023

We stayed here because we wanted a room with a view. The room was nice and spacious, and the bed was very comfortable, but there was constant road noise from the highway and the view was obstructed by heavy electrical wires outside the front of the building. If you have any sort of mobility issue, be aware that the rooms are built into a hill and most are not accessible by an elevator. Although there are ramps, they are steep and can be difficult to push luggage up to the car park. The furnishings are nice, but there are also odd things, like the plates being in a cupboard above the fridge, that create inconveniences or problems. We stayed in a room that had two bathrooms, but only one had a hair drier. The food at the restaurant was fantastic, as was the service, but some of silverware was dirty and my husband's water was full of pollen. The attentive waitress immediately corrected both problems when we pointed these things out.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HannesBach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 8, 2023 via mobile

We had an amazing stay at the Castle. All of the staff were so polite and friendly, and even offered our friend the Penthouse for his birthday! The room was massive (two beds, two bathrooms, full kitchen), and all of the amenities were top notch! The room was clean and comfortable, with massive amounts of space for the two of us. We stayed two nights and enjoyed the pool and hot tub for as long as we could. This is an excellent property and next time we’re in the area, we will be staying here again!

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank montitanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews