We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Whistler Sightseeing Tour: Discover all of Whistler Year-Round!
290

Book in advance
from
C$104.90
per adult
Check availabilityView full product details
  
Ways to Experience Squamish Lil'wat Cultural Centre
from C$104.90
More Info
from C$699.00
More Info
from C$221.72
More Info
from C$443.45
More Info
Reviews (1,059)
Filter reviews
1,059 results
Traveller rating
709
286
47
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
709
286
47
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews first nations gift shop guided tour bannock short film welcome song totem poles salmon chowder great insight whistler village artifacts culture museum cedar tribe heritage native
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
825 - 830 of 1,059 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2014

Spent an afternoon touring the centre. Had a guided tour, the history of the Squamish and Lil'wat people and how they have survived and lived together was very interesting.

Date of experience: February 2014
1  Thank Mariecantwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Lovely building with members of the two local tribes as staff. The guided tour is excellent value and making bracelets at the end in a long hall was really fun. All of the group on our tour enjoyed this. The design of the centre is great and it is accessible for disabled. The gift shop was varied and the cafe great with lovely food and friendly staff. Staff sang with drums had workshops at extra,cost on offer and were genuinely enthusiastic. Lovely could of hours and good value. The short film presentation is very good,and best seen after a guided tour as they will identify canoes etc which appear in the film. Shame you cannot just pop back to the gift shop with a ticket.

Date of experience: March 2014
1  Thank cmht8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

A great way to spend the afternoon and learn more about the First Nations. They have a really nice tour and the short movie is a must-see.You can even make your own rope out of cedar and a have a delicious lunch in their café. I recommend the venison chilli and the salmon chowder.

Date of experience: March 2014
1  Thank SolunaCancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is my first trip to Whistler. I am a winter person, so I live for snow. This is a great place for that.

I went to the Cultural Centre to learn more about the First Nations and their way of life. This is a stunning building and when you first enter the building, you are greeted by very friendly hosts. Immediately you felt like you have been welcomed into their home. The great hall housed many stunningly beautiful totems, a couple of very old totems and many that looked newer and modern. Regardless of their age, these are beautiful creations. There is an interactive section at the end of the hall where children (even adults) can play with drums, try on traditional clothing and draw.

It is great to join in the tour as the guides are First Nation Indians. Their welcome song is a delight as their voices so uplifting. You get an overview of the artifacts and the First Nation way of life. Much better than just reading the exhibits. This is a great supplement. Of course, the amount of information provided by the guides is very dependent on the types of questions that the tour group asks. The short movie is an absolute must to watch. The views of Pemberton and Whistler.... out of this world. Although, it can distract you from really listening to the narration when your breath is taken away by the vistas. I watched it twice because I missed so much of the narrative the first time as I was so absorbed by the views. When I watched the film the second time, the views still take my breath away, but I can concentrate more on the narrative.
At the end of the tour, we get to make a cord from cedar bark strips and that was a great experience and souvenir.

After the tour, you can take your time to peruse around the exhibits. You would have developed a great appreciation after the tour.

Date of experience: March 2014
Thank YupNup
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Get to know more about the origins of the of the first nation here in well laid out detail. Very interesting and informative with the exhibition items and explanations. You can have a guided
tour or a very good wander as we did both. The first nation had a great heritage and this is shown clearly on the 2 floors and out side with the items made, art and maps. Some can be purchased in the gift shop. It is easy to get to by the no5 free shuttle bus and back to the town centre.

Date of experience: January 2014
1  Thank Worldtraveller36
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews